Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 14:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Hibernation/Standby on the eeepc
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 05:44    Post subject:  Hibernation/Standby on the eeepc  

Hi folks, has anyone worked out how to hibernate using puppy on the eeepc? With the native Xandros, you can close the lid and it will go into standby mode (hibernation is more accurate i suppose). Display goes blank, goes into powersave mode, looks like it'
s turned off. You open the lid, and press power botton, and screen comes up where it leaves off.

Now using TigerPup 1.6 (puppy 3.01), I can't hibernate or put this into standby mode. I like closing the lid and having only the display blank out, but want to hotkey a command to put it into hibernation. Any ideas on this?
~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2008, 04:42    Post subject: Bump. Anyone?  

Bump. Anyone? Hibernation on puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 09:16    Post subject:  

maybe this will have something
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37359
can anything be copied from xandros?

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jan 2009, 18:39    Post subject:  

Yeah, I saw that article before. Unfortunately it seems based on kde... which means we'll have a hard time implementing it in Puppy. Perhaps is someone was willing to pull apart the kde utility to see what made it tick we could get there... beyond me at the moment. There must be an easier way...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 14:22    Post subject:  

Pretty old but 2cents are to grep -i in the /etc/modules/DOTconfig* kernel configuration file for hibernate and suspend if enabled :
Code:
grep -HiE 'HIBER|SUSPEND' /etc/modules/DOTconfig*

/etc/modules/DOTconfig-K2.6.30.5-01SEPT09-TICKLESS-SMP:
CONFIG_ARCH_HIBERNATION_POSSIBLE=y
CONFIG_ARCH_SUSPEND_POSSIBLE=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
# CONFIG_HIBERNATION is not set
# CONFIG_APM_IGNORE_USER_SUSPEND is not set
# CONFIG_USB_SUSPEND is not set

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 884
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 15:32    Post subject:  

hey dinky

in jemimah's puppeee1.0 all functions work correctly

you could have a look at that maybe?

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4506
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 20:18    Post subject: Is Hibernation available on Slacko56  

Hibernation in Slacko5601
Code:
# grep -HiE "HIBER|SUSPEND" /etc/modules/DOTconfig*
/etc/modules/DOTconfig
-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_ARCH_HIBERNATION_POSSIBLE=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_ARCH_SUSPEND_POSSIBLE=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_OLD_SIGSUSPEND3=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_HIBERNATE_CALLBACKS=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:CONFIG_HIBERNATION=y
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.10.5-040813:# CONFIG_APM_IGNORE_USER_SUSPEND is not set
It appears that this EeePC has the feature necessary for Hibernation.

Is there a PET or enclosed utility which adds the Hibernation ability for Slacko56s to Hibernate?

This EeePC does what is expected when cover closes and reopens; namely it SLEEPS and AWAKENS. Hibernation would allow reduced battery drain and also will restart/reboot to last state of use.

Thanks in advance for any help.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 21:31    Post subject:  

Was it
Code:
echo disk >/sys/power/state

or
Code:
acpitool -S

Question
Don't know which swap partition it would use, probably the one with priority -1 in cat /proc/swaps

REMEMBER : Needs special menu.lst entry
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdaX ro resume=/dev/sdaY

for full installs
with the resume=/device/swappartition
Don't know if that works frugal .

And /etc/acpi would likely need a special script with GUI to select to RAM or DISK .

jemimah ha a nice /etc/acpi collection . Luckily I still have a saluky somewhere .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0662s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]