Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 18:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
PSip - Puppy SIP
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 16 [236 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
WB7ODYFred


Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Location: Oregon & Washington

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2009, 20:03    Post subject: Edit PSIP configuration file /root/.psip/pjsua.cfg file
Subject description: Setting up PSIP to make Viop SIP calls to regular PSTN lines.
 


    # from file /root/.psip/pjsua.cfg
    #
    # All lines preceded with a "--" below is a valid config file command
    #
    # Logging options:
    #
    --log-file /tmp/psip/app-log
    #
    #
    # Network settings:
    #
    --local-port 5060
    # I think ice is important for maintaining routing information for those with dynamic internet ip addresses
    # ice seems to cause problems for may people
    # --use-ice
    #I think this might only work if you have a gizmo account
    # --stun-srv=stun01.sipphone.com
    #
    #
    # Media settings:
    #
    # using default --clock-rate 12000
    --quality 6
    # using default --ec-tail 200
    # using default --ilbc-mode 20
    --rtp-port 4000
    #
    # Some people have experienced problems with the speex codec
    # Uncomment the next three lines to fix
    # --dis-codec=speex/32000
    # --dis-codec=speex/16000
    # --dis-codec=speex/8000
    # --add-codec pcmu
    #
    # User agent:
    #
    # --max-calls 4
    --max-calls 2
    #
    #
    # Buddies: You need to establish an account with a sip provider before you can use this
    # --add-buddy=sip:yourname@proxy01.sipphone.com
    # --add-buddy=sip:yourname@realsip.com
    #
    # Account 0:
    # --id sip:yourname@proxy01.sipphone.com
    # --registrar=sip:proxy01.sipphone.com
    # --realm *
    # --username=yourname
    # --password=password
    # --reg-timeout=55
    #
    # Account 0:
    --id sip:fredfinster@sip7.vitelity.net
    --registrar=sip:sip7.vitelity.net
    --realm *
    --username=fredfinster
    --password=xxxxxx # get the password from your SIP line provider
    --reg-timeout=55
    #
    # Account 1: The "--next-account" line is required for each additional account
    # some where in the front or tail of the file you can hand edit add a buddy. or use PSIP button 'add buddy'
    --add-buddy sip:86@sip7.vitelity.net
    --add-buddy sip:13604031234@sip7.vitelity.net
    --add-buddy sip:15038511234@sip7.vitelity.net
    --add-buddy sip:15035917890@sip7.vitelity.net
    --add-buddy sip:15416725555@sip7.vitelity.net
    --add-buddy sip:fredfinster@sip7.vitelity.net
    --add-buddy sip:19712390140@sip7.vitelity.net

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2nd look about you can start the PSIP application from the command line in an open RSVT terminal. start ---> Utiltity ----> RXVT terminal

pwd /root
cd /usr/local/psip
pwd /usr/local/psip
ls -l pjs*
# execute the PSIP command manual to see what errors show up.

Code:

./pjsua_custom_03-0.9.0 

or

# /usr/local/psip/pjsua_custom_03-0.9.0 --config-file /root/.psip/pjsua.cfg
 15:22:43.887 os_core_unix.c pjlib 0.9.0-release for POSIX initialized
 15:22:43.887 sip_endpoint.c Creating endpoint instance...
 15:22:43.888          pjlib select() I/O Queue created (0xb7b6b098)
 15:22:43.888 sip_endpoint.c Module "mod-msg-print" registered
 15:22:43.888 sip_transport. Transport manager created.
 15:22:43.914    pjsua_app.c Too many arguments specified in cmd line/config file
#
#  Note, can not have more than 20 (twenty) --add-buddy lines in the pjsua.cfg file.
#


Hope this helps Kpfusr.

Testing from the command line, will help to see the hidden error messages
that get lost behind the GUI interface.

I did not setup a proxy or use STUN. I can dial out to regular telephones and when I have PSIP up and running people can call me, because I have a $35 account setup
with Vitelity, a SIP to PSTN provider.
http://www.vitelity.net


Give my SIP address a try for testing your SIP phone Kfpusr.
the telephone number will have to be something like sip:16785551212@xxx,sipphone.com Or whatever your SIP provider gives you.
Using the upper left hand call button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kpfuser

Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Mt Pelion, Greece

PostPosted: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:49    Post subject:  

WB7ODYFred,

Thank you very much indeed for your reply! Please correct me if I am wrong, but I do not recall seeing the sort of info you posted in any PSIP or similar manual. Does this mean that the info is self-evident to the majority of newbies that try making calls using PSIP or that the manuals etc. leave a bit to be desired?

Anyway, before implementing your configuration, I would like to clarify something first. It follows from your info (as well as from other posts) that PSIP will probably behave better for a static ip address. But what kind of static ip address does this imply, a static ip address given to you by your ISP or an internal static ip address one can assign to his/her pc behind a router via the Puppy network setup wizard? If the former is the case, then I will have to live with the limitations of a dynamic ip address. If, however, the latter applies, it would be a simple matter to assign a static ip address to my computer each time I boot up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zozu

Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 08:20    Post subject:  

I am new to Puppy, but I am getting amazed. I tried to configure PSIP 0.12 in lupu525 but I cannot get it work. I have a SIP account with a SIP provider, called jumblo. This is their SIP settings
http://www.jumblo.com/en/sipp.html
If I click to Configure/Edit Account to enter the detail for my SIP account, it does not work and I tried all combinations.r
The numpad stays greyed out and I cannot enter any number to call.
What do I do wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 08:44    Post subject:  

zozu wrote:
I am new to Puppy, but I am getting amazed. I tried to configure PSIP 0.12 in lupu525 but I cannot get it work. I have a SIP account with a SIP provider, called jumblo. This is their SIP settings
http://www.jumblo.com/en/sipp.html
If I click to Configure/Edit Account to enter the detail for my SIP account, it does not work and I tried all combinations.r
The numpad stays greyed out and I cannot enter any number to call.
What do I do wrong?


Try this:
--id sip:username@sip.jumblo.com
--registrar sip:sip.jumblo.com
--realm *
--username username
--password password
--reg-timeout 55

What is your sip address? (zozu@sip.jumblo.com)

Add me to your buddy list at smokey01@realsip.com

If you see me online, give me a call to test.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zozu

Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 10:50    Post subject:  

Try this:
--id sip:username@sip.jumblo.com
--registrar sip:sip.jumblo.com
--realm *
--username username
--password password
--reg-timeout 55

What is your sip address? (zozu@sip.jumblo.com)

Add me to your buddy list at smokey01@realsip.com

If you see me online, give me a call to test.[/quote]

I tried but still the same. I added you to my buddy list, tried to call you and it said. 'Call has been disconnected. Temporarily unavailable.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 17:12    Post subject:  

zozu wrote:
Try this:
--id sip:username@sip.jumblo.com
--registrar sip:sip.jumblo.com
--realm *
--username username
--password password
--reg-timeout 55

What is your sip address? (zozu@sip.jumblo.com)

Add me to your buddy list at smokey01@realsip.com

If you see me online, give me a call to test.

I tried but still the same. I added you to my buddy list, tried to call you and it said. 'Call has been disconnected. Temporarily unavailable.'


it said Call has been disconnected. Temporarily unavailable. That's because I had gone offline. I need to be logged into my sip server for you to see me.

The good thing about psip is you don't have to be logged into a server to use it. For example: if you have Psip running and I know your IP address I could add it as a buddy and call you direct.

The buddy address entry would be something like sip:192.168.0.6

This is really good if you have a static IP address, not dynamic as it continually changes each time you log on.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11066
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 23:35    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
...The good thing about psip is you don't have to be logged into a server to use it. For example: if you have Psip running and I know your IP address I could add it as a buddy and call you direct.

The buddy address entry would be something like sip:192.168.0.6

This is really good if you have a static IP address, not dynamic as it continually changes each time you log on.

I've wanted to try that, emailing my DHCP-assigned IP address to my brother after I've booted my computer for the day.

It is my understanding that a "client" program running in Puppy, such as Psip, won't accept a connection it didn't initiate. If I understand correctly, that's what makes it necessary to log into the intermediate server. Will Psip, running in my computer, somehow get around that if I try to make a direct connection with my brother? Do we have to attempt to connect with each other at pretty much the exact same time (so that each one thinks it initiated the connection?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2011, 23:43    Post subject:  

Flash, it suppose to be able to do it. I've been thinking about making a very simple P2P version but I am having a similar problem.

Here is the manual http://www.pjsip.org/pjsua.htm

In particular here http://www.pjsip.org/pjsua.htm#basic

I can make it work within my own network eg: 192.168.0.3 etc but how to make it work on the internet is the issue.

I know what my dynamic IP address is but how do I make it translate to my internal network address? This is the problem I'm having.

I guess NAT should be able to sort it but I'm not sure how to define it in the config file.

Maybe we can work together to sort it out.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 02:06    Post subject:  

This is kinda an old thread, is psip still being maintained?
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 04:38    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
This is kinda an old thread, is psip still being maintained?


It hasn't been for some time but I am considering doing some work on it.

I would like to get it working as a proper peer 2 peer VOIP application without using a sip server. The engine, pjsua, says it can be done as described in the docs in my last post.

I might even rework the GUI but I might need some help.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11066
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 10:53    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
...I can make it work within my own network eg: 192.168.0.3 etc but how to make it work on the internet is the issue.

I know what my dynamic IP address is but how do I make it translate to my internal network address? This is the problem I'm having.

I guess NAT should be able to sort it but I'm not sure how to define it in the config file...

All I can contribute are some general thoughts based on my understanding of how the internet transmission protocol works. Laughing
When you enter an IP address in a browser window and click "go", an IP packet is sent from your computer through your router to the server at the internet address you entered. Your router has to somehow keep track of where that packet originated in your network so it can forward the reply back to the originating program (the browser.) Ports come into it somewhere, but I think at the very end, after your computer has received the packet from the router. The same general description must apply for VOIP applications such as Psip.

I think VOIP uses a different protocol from TCP, called UDP. UDP is the same protocol used for streaming internet video. UDP is used because it does not require the destination to acknowledge receipt of each packet, saving time and wear and tear on the network. Smile Some packets might never make it, but for many applications such as VOIP, that's okay; you just hear a bit of noise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 08:16    Post subject:  

Smokey

Try dynamicDNS - it allows a fixed IP Address of your dynamically assigned one

http://www.dyndns.com/services/dns/dyndns/

I found PSIP to be unreliable, from memory, I only ever made brief connections to Eric, HairyWill and Lobster, I think

I now use skype, but it uses huge resources for what it gets used for.... Sad

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 17:23    Post subject:  

Aitch I've just heard from Benny, the author, who has given me a couple of avenues to explore.

I'm surprised that Psip was unreliable for you as Will and myself spent many hours communicating with it while we were in development.

Anyway I will also investigate your suggestion.

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 08:44    Post subject:  

Aitch maybe you should try a free sip account from https://www.ekiga.net/

Your account in Psip would look something like:

--id sip:Aitch@ekiga.net
--registrar sip:ekiga.net
--realm *
--username Aitch
--password xxxxxx
--reg-timeout 55

Let me know a suitable time and we could test.

I'm GMT +9.5 hours.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tide

Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 09:49    Post subject:  

Could some kind soul please please tell me how to configure PSIP?
I signed up with sipgate.co.uk but after trying for hours, google, forumsearch etc. just can't get it to work!

Sipgate tells me that:

Code:

SIP-ID:                   134xxxx
SIP password:    9xxxx
Status:                    offline
Nickname:  No name was set    Edit

Registry:    sipgate.co.uk (Port: 5060)
Proxy:    sipgate.co.uk (Port: 5060)
NTP:    ntp.sipgate.net

SIP password:    9xxxx


Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 16 [236 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1123s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]