Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 20:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.4.6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 81 of 125 [1866 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, ..., 123, 124, 125 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 03:33    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
I spotted an odd space before the square bracket in
the Bookmark window.



_________________________________________
Fixed
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 03:36    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
In some puppies the two help buttons looks odd.
In other puppies they are suitable.
Perhaps if you named them Help 1 and Help 2
and had pop-ups to explain the function.



___________________________________________
What do you mean about 'odd'? Remember that these buttons are only there until the rc-file is overwritten. That is most likely during first run.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 19:04    Post subject:  

By odd I mean that they stand out or are 'conspicuous'

But it depends on the theme, for example in the default
Lucid Puppy theme they stand out whereas in the 23 oz theme
they fit in.

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 19:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
Can you (or anyone) give a description of the
most common setups of bitrate/samplerate/channels.
I am not really into this


The most popular

It starts with 44100 then it goes down by halves and ends with 8000 hz

44100
22050
11025
8000

Check to see how Audacity lists it in their preferences.



__________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 841
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jun 2012, 20:10    Post subject: Can pmusic's storage be moved to /mnt/home  

Hi zigbert,

First let me congratulate you on the outstanding work you've done in pmusic. Although I customarily work without background distractions, I've been working on putting together a puplet for someone who's a music fan, and especially enjoys radio. So I've been exploring the various applications which run under Puppy and am very impressed by how versatile and complete pmusic is.

In order to setup receiving music from streaming sources pmusic, like other music manager's I've examined, downloads one or more indexes. These can use up a considerable amount of a Frugal Install's SaveFile. Additionally, I frequently have more than one Puppy installation, so when possible, I move cache, settings and anything else I can think of to /mnt/home and create symlinks to the various Puppies. So I was wondering into what folder(s) the indexes used by pmusic will be found, and if it was possible to move them to /mnt/home?

Thanks in advance,

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 13:42    Post subject: Re: Can pmusic's storage be moved to /mnt/home  

mikeslr wrote:
...So I was wondering into what folder(s) the indexes used by pmusic will be found, and if it was possible to move them to /mnt/home?

All Pmusic indexes are found in /root/.pmusic/
You can of course link to /mnt/home, but at next index-update, the new files will be located to /root/.pmusic.
Another solution would be to change the variable $WORKDIR (line 21 in /usr/local/pmusic/pmusic). If this works as expected we could easily (I think) add this option to the configuration-file.


Thank you for your liking
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 13:47    Post subject:  

don570
Your request about samplerate presets are added to the wish-list


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jun 2012, 17:38    Post subject: Re: Can pmusic's storage be moved to /mnt/home  

zigbert wrote:
Another solution would be to change the variable $WORKDIR (line 21 in /usr/local/pmusic/pmusic).
Forget this - it won't work.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 841
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2012, 10:08    Post subject: Re: Can pmusic's storage be moved to /mnt/home  

zigbert,

Thanks for the info, and for testing the alternative.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 939
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2012, 13:29    Post subject:  

Hello zigbert,

Sorry if these questions have been asked before, but is there a reason why Pmusic does not have a "Stop" button?

If I play a radio stream I can click "Pause" and the playback of the audio does pause, but I can see that the data is still streaming (lights flashing).

Also, is it OK to install the latest version straight over the top of the recent versions in Lupu Plus, Slacko 533 and Racy 53 ?

Thanks.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jun 2012, 16:04    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Sorry if these questions have been asked before
Please, never feel sorry for asking a question !!!

OscarTalks wrote:
is there a reason why Pmusic does not have a "Stop" button? If I play a radio stream I can click "Pause" and the playback of the audio does pause, but I can see that the data is still streaming (lights flashing).
If I make the downloading stop while pause, is there else some reason for having a Stop-button?

OscarTalks wrote:
Also, is it OK to install the latest version straight over the top of the recent versions in Lupu Plus, Slacko 533 and Racy 53 ?
Yes
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 939
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jun 2012, 18:21    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
If I make the downloading stop while pause, is there else some reason for having a Stop-button?


I think Pause and Stop are 2 different functions.

With streams it is useful to be able to pause and then when you click Play again it resumes from the point where you paused so you don't lose any of the programme. I think it did do this but I will test some more. Not sure if it will work like this if you pause for a long time, but maybe the downloading needs to continue while you are paused.

If I click Stop I really want the player to disconnect from the stream server and if I click Play again obviously it will connect again and start playing from the point at which the new connection is made.

When playing files I would also expect Pause to hold the place and resume from there but Stop would just stop and wait for me to start playing the next file or start the same one but from the beginning.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2012, 07:08    Post subject:  

It has been a while since the stop-button left the Pmusic gui. I saw this first in Spotify and felt that it was a good solution. I am glad everytime I can simplify a gui.... I can't see that a stop-button would add any new functions to Pmusic. You can stop playing by the pause/play button, and you can start from the beginning of a track by clicking on it. It would be good if more users had an opinion on this....


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2012, 10:10    Post subject:  

Regarding the Stop-button it could be an alternative to offer 'Stop' from the Track-menu combined with hot-keys.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5815
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 06:56    Post subject:  

Version 2.6.3
See main post

Changelog
- Add 'Stop' to Track-menu. (thanks to OscarTalks)
- NLS: Added: $LOC_STOP
- Bugfix: Bad syntax when bookmark a track with timestamp. (thanks to don570)
- Bugfix: Some terminal output.
- Bugfix: Trackinfo: Alternative metainfo: Doubleclick in <tree> widget to activate new tags.
- Bugfix: Imroved pinstall.sh. (thanks to 01micko)

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 81 of 125 [1866 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, ..., 123, 124, 125 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1033s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0235s) ][ GZIP on ]