Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.4.1
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 110 of 123 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, ..., 121, 122, 123 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 03:07    Post_subject:  

don570
I have made a small update to give statusbar enough height. I have not tested it in Raring, so if you want to verify:
remove height-request="16" in line 43 in /usr/local/pmusic/gui_misc. Then build a fresh gui-code by 'Quit and save geometry' from the File menu.


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 725

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 05:21    Post_subject:  

I wonder if you smart developers ( I mean this with the utmost respect) can somehow adapt some of the old Winamp DSP-Plugins to work with Pmusic in the linux environment? The Enhancer 0.17 plugin is fantastic and free to download and use. I use this with XMPlay running in Wine. This thing is so good one does not need any other equalizers , boosters or sound enhancers. Is this possible? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 16:02    Post_subject:  

A recent version of Audacious which I am using has
sound enhancement built-in settings.

So there is no need to run wine to just play your music.

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 725

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 22:48    Post_subject:  

don570 wrote:
A recent version of Audacious which I am using has
sound enhancement built-in settings.

So there is no need to run wine to just play your music.

___________________________________________



I have tested many attempts at sound enhancements before but none comes ever close to the Enhancer 0.17 as mentioned. In fact, it's about the only reason (apart from using a good text to speech program also) that I use wine. Well worth it, it's that good. Do yourself a favour and try XMPlay with the enhancer installed (both can be downloaded from the XMPlay site). Try it on a windows machine or with wine. Nothing else comes close.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 02 May 2013, 13:03    Post_subject:  

The pmusic has an equalizer that worked well on my machine.

XMPLAY looks good!! and it's small in size. If I get around to
setting up a Windows machine I'll use it.

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 02 May 2013, 13:09    Post_subject:  

To Zigbert ..
Your suggestion fixed the problem in Raring distro!!
Also changing to height-request="20" fixed it as well.
The exact same result.

In addition I looked at the code in the gui_misc script and noticed a possible
spelling error...




_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 12:55    Post_subject:  

doon570 wrote:
In addition I looked at the code in the gui_misc script and noticed a possible
spelling error...
Yes it is a spelling error, but it actually works anyway Very Happy


Thank you for mention
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2013, 13:28    Post_subject:  

I was looking at the recent features added to audacious player

Quote:

A new command-line option (--quit-after-play) makes the player exit automatically when finished playing (#230).
A global hotkey can be configured to enable/disable the “stop after current song” option (#232).


_____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2013, 14:05    Post_subject:  

don570 wrote:
I was looking at the recent features added to audacious player

Quote:

A new command-line option (--quit-after-play) makes the player exit automatically when finished playing (#230).
A global hotkey can be configured to enable/disable the “stop after current song” option (#232).


_____________________________________
Already in pMusic.
see playmode button next to the skip/forward button in the main gui. (below the playlist).

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 876
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 19:19    Post_subject:  

Just booted Slacko 5.5 pfix=ram and installed Pmusic 3.3.0
Zigbert's Hoovers music is not playing and other jamendo music plays for a few seconds then stops. Some radio station streams seem OK as usual though.

I was just experimenting with Lucid, trying to compile ffmpeg 0.11.3 and thought it wasn't working but now I wonder if it is a problem with Pmusic since it is the same in Slacko. Maybe my ffmpeg is OK after all.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 416
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 11:17    Post_subject: An ffmpeg from OscarTalks  

Thanks a lot to OscarTalks for this ffmpeg.

See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=705116#705116
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 11:36    Post_subject:  

jamendo has switched from http to https which ffmpeg troubles with. I have solved this in pMusic 4, by using wget to download the jamendo-stream - then pipe it to ffmpeg.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 416
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 09:45    Post_subject: icon="/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/apps/pmusic.svg"  

Hi, the icon="/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/apps/pmusic.svg"
is in my ~/.jwmrc (Lucid Puppy 5.28-005)
but no icon appears in front of "Pmusic player/manager/grabber"

when I access pmusic via the menu
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 876
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 11:32    Post_subject:  

Sigmund,
Thanks for the explanation. I know you are working on pMusic 4 now so many thanks for doing that. I do notice though that in Lucid Plus 528-005 (which has ffmpeg 0.8.9) I can install pMusic 3.3.0 (along with the newer gtkdialog) and the jamendo music plays. It seems that the ffmpeg 0.11.x is introducing the problem (any 0.11.x ...not just the one I compiled). Your pMusic has lots of features and I can't test them all but are you certain that it needs >=0.11 ?

Also, when you release pMusic 4 will you please clarify the position (in the first post) about pMusic in Puppies which use libav instead of ffmpeg? Version numbers are not parallel between the two.

Sheldon,
I see what you mean. This is if you switch from Openbox to JWM in Lucid, right? This is because that older JWM does not support .svg as a format for the menu icons I believe.

Probably the best solution is to upgrade JWM and restart X. I tested that and it worked for me. I compile the latest version myself but there is this one here:-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83949

If for some reason you don't want to upgrade JWM then the other way would be to open the .svg icon in mtpaint, scale it down to 48x48 and save it as PNG format. Name it pmusic.png and place it in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps

The menu icon is defined by the file /usr/share/applications/pmusic.desktop so open that and edit the line in that so it reads:-

Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/pmusic.png

Then run "fixmenus" and "jwm -reload"

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 13:20    Post_subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
are you certain that it needs >=0.11 ?

pMusic works with ffmpeg 0.8, but pMusic 3 introduced specific features that requires ffmpeg 0.11. If I recall correct that was (at least) embedding of album-art to the audio-file. Later, I hope to take advantage of new features released in ffmpeg 1.2, but still, ffmpeg 0.8 should do the playing without trouble.
OscarTalks wrote:
will you please clarify the position (in the first post) about pMusic in Puppies which use libav instead of ffmpeg? Version numbers are not parallel between the two.
At the moment, I don't know anything about libav. I develop with ffmpeg, but this might change if the Puppy headmasters settle on libav instead. For me, it's not critical which one of them we use, but it is troublesome to keep the track of both. I maintain too much code in Puppy already, and I try to be strict to avoid a private overload.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 110 of 123 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, ..., 121, 122, 123 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1220s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0392s) ][ GZIP on ]