Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Jul 2017, 10:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 5.4.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 148 of 150 [2244 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 146, 147, 148, 149, 150 Next
Author Message
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 661
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2016, 11:19    Post subject: Re: pMusic 5.2.4
Subject description: wrti does not play
 

zigbert (in part) wrote:
Grab music from, or just listen to thousands of radio-stations

When I try to play WQXR or WRTI, I see "connecting .."
But it doesn't play.
WFMT, as I recall, does play.

I've reinstalled repeatedly.
And done the Radio Stations complete build.

EDIT
OK, I got WQXR to play, and a few others.

Searched online for WRTI streaming, and found
http://38.100.101.74/WRTI CLASSICAL.mp3


Thank you,
Sheldon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2016, 03:28    Post subject:  

There are plans to improve the radio module. Atm, the radio db supports only one url pr radio channel. Since many url's in the db is dead, it would be great to allow multiple addresses to each channel, and automatically scan the next address if the given one is dead. The pMusic radio db is built from the info at radiosure.com, and it includes limitless numbers of url's. So, the challenge is not to find the url's, but to define a clever way to include this into pMusic.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 661
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2016, 09:15    Post subject: radio database  

zigbert wrote:
There are plans to improve the radio module. Atm, the radio db supports only one url pr radio channel. Since many url's in the db is dead, it would be great to allow multiple addresses to each channel, and automatically scan the next address if the given one is dead. The pMusic radio db is built from the info at radiosure.com, and it includes limitless numbers of url's. So, the challenge is not to find the url's, but to define a clever way to include this into pMusic.

Thank for your reply, Sigmund.

I see that there's nothing I can do here to fix the database.

I added WRTI to favorites, and can choose radio stations from there.

Thanks again,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Slim Slacko 6, LuPu Super 2, Tahr
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Intel D865GBF: Tiny Windows 7, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
live

Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Tue 01 Nov 2016, 07:25    Post subject:  

Thanks for pMusic 5.2.4

Regarding podcast

Feature requests:
On the left pane it would be nice to select which column one wants to display (I'm not interest by default to view path, format, kps, etc.)

Bug
Under TahrPup64
If I add podcast channel http://radiofrance-podcast.net/podcast09/rss_10351.xml

I browse it and select for instance "Anne Pingeot, la discrète révélée (5/5) : Mort et poésie"
pMusic plays sizzled/crackled unhearable sound, while direct play is perfect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2016, 17:18    Post subject:  

live wrote:
Feature requests:
On the left pane it would be nice to select which column one wants to display (I'm not interest by default to view path, format, kps, etc.)
To be considered.
live wrote:
Bug
Under TahrPup64
If I add podcast channel http://radiofrance-podcast.net/podcast09/rss_10351.xml

I browse it and select for instance "Anne Pingeot, la discrète révélée (5/5) : Mort et poésie"
pMusic plays sizzled/crackled unhearable sound, while direct play is perfect.
I will check this out
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2016, 04:58    Post subject:  

live wrote:
Bug
Under TahrPup64
If I add podcast channel http://radiofrance-podcast.net/podcast09/rss_10351.xml

I browse it and select for instance "Anne Pingeot, la discrète révélée (5/5) : Mort et poésie"
pMusic plays sizzled/crackled unhearable sound, while direct play is perfect.
I am not able to reproduce this. I get a nice audio quality in 128kb/sec. Do you get something else?
Screenshot(5).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.71 KB
 Viewed   364 Time(s)

Screenshot(5).jpg


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2016, 11:42    Post subject:  

Have done a test to compare the resource hunger of different players.
See this blogpost

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4613
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2016, 15:05    Post subject:  

Hi Zigbert I just had a look at your comparison and on the basis of your comments i gave Audacious a try (using some pets from an old Pizzasgood thread) on my Slacko derivative.

Interesting player but I saw an unusual pattern of cpu usage within htop. The attached pic shows three instances of Audacious which I cannot explain as only one gui was running. The total is up over 20% cpu usage which is quite different to your figures. Could your comparison figures have included only the cpu percentage of a single Audacious instance and are there always multiple processes running or is it likely I did something wrong?
cheers!

EDIT : I have also added a screenshot of pMusic playing my Music directory for comparison (older version of pMusic that I really like). Nice big fat gui but still lightweight on cpu.
audaciousx3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   63.96 KB
 Viewed   310 Time(s)

audaciousx3.jpg

pMusic_x3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   114.25 KB
 Viewed   304 Time(s)

pMusic_x3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2016, 03:57    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Could your comparison figures have included only the cpu percentage of a single Audacious instance and are there always multiple processes running or is it likely I did something wrong?
I use the cpu-average bar to measure, so I think my test shows the correct value. I see you are using the winamp-clone gui that might gives another result. The version I tested ran the gtk-gui by default, so I tested that one.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2016, 04:34    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
I have also added a screenshot of pMusic playing my Music directory for comparison (older version of pMusic that I really like). Nice big fat gui but still lightweight on cpu.
If using an older version than 5.0.0, it will use slightly more cpu-usage than the most recent versions of pMusic.
http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/pmusicHistory#hn_Resource-hunger

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4613
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2016, 13:04    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
I see you are using the winamp-clone gui that might gives another result. The version I tested ran the gtk-gui by default, so I tested that one.
Oh, ok, thanks - I actually thought my gui was the basic gtk one. Didn't realise it was the winamp one. I will go looking for a different version.
cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 27 Nov 2016, 14:33    Post subject:  

Version 5.2.5
See http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/pmusicInstall

Changelog - 5.2.5
- Bugfix: Delete multiple files
- Bugfix: Search jamendo gives msg about missing index
- Bugfix: Right-click menu sourcelist: (Re)set source in pmu
- Bugfix: Expand several pmu's in sourcelist gives the same id-nr.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2016, 13:41    Post subject:  

Version 5.3.0 - development release
See http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/pmusicInstall

  • Tabbed playqueues
  • New export window
  • visualization
Screenshot(6).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.88 KB
 Viewed   189 Time(s)

Screenshot(6).jpg

Screenshot(7).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.17 KB
 Viewed   186 Time(s)

Screenshot(7).jpg


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2016, 15:23    Post subject:  

Testing pmusic 5.2.5

I like the fact that it's a tiny frontend for ffmpeg.

It's really fast compared to old versions, which were too heavy on cpu...

I think that searching for music files on first run should be optional, not all people have a permanent install. It's just a suggestion.

Good job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6437
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 05 Dec 2016, 11:42    Post subject:  

jlst
Thanks for testing!

There are for sure pros and cons when it comes to scanning at first run. I have tried to make it as discreet as possible. pMusic is built around the DB, so a scan is required to take advantage of the features in pMusic. But, of course not required to play audio - which is the main target.

One solution could be to offer a simple frontend without scanning. Focusing on a basic audioplayer without too many options and features. The downside would be the slow file-search.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 148 of 150 [2244 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 146, 147, 148, 149, 150 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1388s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0588s) ][ GZIP on ]