Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 13:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.3.8
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 122 [1820 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Author Message
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 08:57    Post subject:  

Thanks, but I started over. I'll have to think twice before I try to update Seamonkey to the latest version,, because it breaks Gxine, (I mean version 1.1.10)


ttuuxxx wrote:
Have you tried to reinstall the original seamonkey overtop ?
http://www.puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/pet_packages-4/seamonkey-1.1.8-no_mailnews.pet

ttuuxxx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 09:53    Post subject:  

I just tried the new Pmusic 0.1.2-TR

It did play the songs, and I was able to make a playlist. However, after making the playlist (it took a long time and lots of CPU and memory) it would play, but none of the buttons or options worked. I tried to save the playlist, but it did not. (It did not even work on reboot)

So I looked into where Pmusic was installed, found the playlist there, copied it, and opened the playlist in Gxine. Gxine works, but thanks to Pmusic for creating my playlist for me. I had 3000+ songs, and they were in a lot of different folders and would have taken me forever to add them all manually.

But, at least I got my playlist. (I'll try any more update to Pmusic, but I'm backing up my playlist)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 10:06    Post subject:  

markofkane

If you made a playlist with 3000 songs, gtkdialog would be like a slow snail. Everytime you push a button that require an update of the playlist, gtkdialog will keep on "forever". (and maybe freeze). I never thought of this kind of use of Pmusic. If Gxine works for you, that absolutely great, but it would be nice to hear if Pmusic works after disable the playlist in the preferences dialog.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 10:14    Post subject:  

I opened it, and it won't even let me clear the playlist. I suppose I could delete it in the pmusic folder.

(That's what I wanted all along, was a program that imported all songs like Windows Media Player or Winamp does)

Edit, I got it to clear, and it plays one song just fine!! Very Happy

I got it to play 2 songs. What's the limit?

Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 00:28    Post subject:  

Tested on 3.01 full HD install with a thousand extra libs.

Runs well but high cpu usage +/- 8% just idle
.
Plays streaming files.
plays long files fine. 1 hour tested.

When Loading playlists from other programs, (.pls) which have 2 extra lines
one called playlist
one called Number of entries = (n)
any song selected and pressing play causes a loop.
pressing stop several time quickly stops the loop but no play.

imported m3u playlists seem to work fine Smile

Seems to have a problem with the directory listings. When the playlist is in the same directory with no path it works.

Several crashes on stop, (Gui only)

Progress indicator hangs and jumps on some mp3s
Skip forward causes ffmpeg to max the processor.
also several clicks occasionally starts a second playback at another spot.

Suggestions:
Drag and drop to playlist.
Color themes other than red.
Drag to position in file.

Looks very promising from a XMMS fan.
The main reason I have been using XMMS was for it's minimal cpu usage and it's fast indexing.

I hope this is helpful.
~Pep

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 03:03    Post subject:  

peppyy
Thanks for great feedback

1. pls files are not tested Embarassed
2. If m3u with directories fails for you, please test more and report back. It works for me.
3. Your notes on progress bar and cpu-usage are mentioned in the main post.
4. drag'n drop and a slider is something we both wish, but gtkdialog is limited. To change the red, just use other *.png in /usr/local/pmusic.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 09:26    Post subject:  

peppyy
I'm looking right now at the pls-support. I thought that gxine used pls, but that format looked as something else. My playlist file looks like this:

Code:
<ASX VERSION="3.0">
  <SETTINGS REPEAT="false" RANDOM="false"/>
  <ENTRY>
    <TITLE default="y">TNT - Nothern lights</TITLE>
    <REF HREF="file:///root/TNT%20-%20Nothern%20lights.mp3"/>
  </ENTRY>
  <ENTRY>
    <TITLE default="y">Whitesnake - Here I go again</TITLE>
    <REF HREF="file:///root/Whitesnake%20-%20Here%20I%20go%20again.mp3"/>
  </ENTRY>
</ASX>


Googling the pls format gave me this syntax:

Code:
[playlist]
   File1=C:\My Music\Pink Floyd\1979---The_Wall_CD1\1.In_The_Flesh.mp3
   Title1=Pink Floyd - In The Flesh
   Length1=199
   File2=C:\My Music\Pink Floyd\1979---The_Wall_CD1\10.One_Of_My_Turns.mp3
   Title2=Pink Floyd - One Of My Turns
   Length2=217
   NumberOfEntries=2
   Version=2


Do you know anything about this?
What program do you use to make pls-file?
What playlist format are common? I have only used m3u.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 11:40    Post subject:  

markofkane wrote:
Edit, I got it to clear, and it plays one song just fine!! Very Happy

I got it to play 2 songs. What's the limit?

Thanks!!
How many songs Pmusic handles well in the playlist depends on your machinery. My laptop with 1.7 Ghz cpu works ok with 300 songs in the playlist. I see your point (This is how the latest winamp works, since it doesn't index your music), and I'll put it into the wish-list. The todo-list is for issues I know how to fix, and the wish-list is for those I don't have any solution for right now Embarassed . But since we humans seems to learn all the time, that can change any minute Smile

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 12:29    Post subject:  

Version 1.3
See main post

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 17:58    Post subject:  

cool, thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 20:03    Post subject:  

Very nice, 0.1.3 is working great on my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 20:21    Post subject:  

By the way, I can play flac files using ffmpeg & aplay like this:

ffmpeg -i mule080309d1_01_John_The_Revelator.flac -f au - | aplay

I'm using the standard Puppy 4 ffmpeg. Are you not able to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 01:43    Post subject:  

This is what I got when trying to play a flac. It should be said that I only got ONE album with flac files, so I haven't tested widely. I just accepted that it wouldn't work.

Are there several versions of the flac format?
Do you have any knowledge on this area?
Code:
# ffmpeg -i ./08\ -\ No.\ 30\ in\ E\ major\,\ Op.\ 109\ II.\ Prestissimo.flac -f au - | aplay
FFmpeg version SVN-rUNKNOWN, Copyright (c) 2000-2007 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
  configuration: --prefix=/usr --libdir=/usr/lib --mandir=/usr/man --disable-debug --arch=i386 --enable-libmp3lame --enable-liba52 --enable-libogg --enable-libvorbis --enable-pthreads --enable-small --enable-gpl --enable-shared --enable-pp
  libavutil version: 49.5.0
  libavcodec version: 51.44.0
  libavformat version: 51.14.0
  built on Oct 23 2007 22:05:00, gcc: 4.2.2
./08 - No. 30 in E major, Op. 109 II. Prestissimo.flac: Unknown format
aplay: playback:2018: read error
#

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5216
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 05:26    Post subject:  

zigbert, I did this -
Code:
ffmpeg -i /mnt/sdb1/test.flac -f au - | aplay

and it worked fine ... although there was a 5 second wait before the track started.
I guess that's the cost of using such a large application as ffmpeg.
Using the flac application (in Puppy4.1alpha) works much better -
Code:
flac -d /mnt/sdb1/test.flac -c | aplay

Playback is instant.

Then I tried Pmusic 0.1.3. At first launch it went into some form of loop and I had to restart X.
The second time it launched OK. When I tried to load the same flac file as before, the load dialogue stayed onscreen and no sound. In the terminal I could see various error messages.

Then ffmpeg or aplay were messed up. The same ffmpeg command that I could run earlier no longer worked, giving this error message
Code:
Stream mapping:
  Stream #0.0 -> #0.0
Killed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 08:44    Post subject:  

Code:

flac -d /mnt/sdb1/test.flac -c | aplay


That works for me too. I didn't have any delay on my system with ffmpeg though. I also have some flac files that won't play in audacious so I'm guessing maybe it's what is used to encode them. I'm always able to decode them with flac though so tempestuous' soultion should work in all cases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 122 [1820 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1001s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0190s) ][ GZIP on ]