Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 10:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
hd install: 1.0.4 works, 1.0.5 no x (solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
mclien

Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2005, 11:55    Post subject:  hd install: 1.0.4 works, 1.0.5 no x (solved)  

I'm still trying to get puppy on the Thinkpad A30 with 10.4 and 1.0.5

both works fine as live CD, after hd install only 1.0.4 works and 1.0.5 prompts an error:
edit: compleet error message:
"Sorry, cannot start X. File /usr/X11R6/bin/X missing.
If X is supposed to be installed, probably Puppy is unable to mount usr_cram.fs to /usr"
during the installskript I get an error while grub is installed:
" tmp/boot/boot/grub/menue.lst is missing.
Nevertheless its reported to be a successful install.

Did a new try with a cd-r instead of an cd-rw. Same result.

Every time I prepared the the disk bofore with fdisk and mkfs.exts / mkswap. (hda1: 5GB ext2 / hda2: 1gb swap / hda3 24GB data)

Last edited by mclien on Sun 23 Oct 2005, 12:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2005, 19:22    Post subject:  

There's a bug with 1.0.5... now I'm forgetting the details.

Anyway, if you boot the live-cd, then mount the hard drive partition that you
installed to, then look and see if it has a directory /usr.
If not, get Rox to show hidden files, then see if there is a /.usr_cram directory.
...if so, rename /.usr_cram to /usr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mclien

Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sun 23 Oct 2005, 12:23    Post subject:  

nearly Wink
the hd has a /usr, which is a link to /.usr_cram, which not exists on the hd.
So (if hd is mounted under /mnt/data) just do:

cp -R /.usr_cram /mnt/data (or copy/past in rox, whatever you like more).
After this everything works fine.

Thanks for the hint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 23 Oct 2005, 20:20    Post subject:  

This will definitely be fixed for 1.0.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Red
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 12:19    Post subject: Sorry cannot find X - no hard drive  

Hi, I'm getting this error now with 1.05, but the problem is that I have no hard disk on the laptop I'm using. Is there any simple - ie. newbie - way round this to get it working or do I have to revert back to 1.0.0?
Back to top
mclien

Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2005, 18:05    Post subject:  

this is surely a problem with the pupXXX file, which is generated at the first run. I'm not sure how to get this working, but to figure out if thats the problem do this:
find and delete the pup001 file on the hd of the notebook and then boot it with puppy. Make sure to boot it with option 3 and DON'T give it any hd parition to write the pup001 file (just hit enter when asked for a partition) and see if this works.

update to the hd install problem:
Just noticed that pupget won't be able to write binary anywhere, so you have to do some more after copy the .usr_cram to the hd:
delete the link usr (which pionts to /.usr_cram) and then rename /.usr_cram to /usr. After that you get correct pupget installs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
not-logged-in-BarryK
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 03:46    Post subject:  

mclien,
Thinking back, I think that I already did put a fix for that problem of
/usr being a link to /.usr_cram in the install-to-h.d. script in 1.0.5.
So, I'm puzzled why you are getting the problem.

Look at /usr/sbin/install-hd2 and see if there is code in there that is supposed
to fix the problem. There will be lines with ".usr_cramfs" in them, and a
test to see if /usr is a link (using the "readlink" program).
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0541s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]