Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 10:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Running Puppy on Acer Aspire One
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jul 2008, 21:50    Post subject:  Running Puppy on Acer Aspire One
Subject description: How to make Puppy run in Acer Aspire One
 

I just bought an Acer Aspire One netbook ($379 Cdn in Toronto). I wanted to start a new topic on how to make Puppy work in Acer Aspire One.

I was able to boot Puppy 3.01 with acpi=off, but I am not getting the full 1024x600 screen resolution. Wireless, sound and Webcam are not working. I have not tried Puppy 4.00 yet.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by timothyli on Mon 21 Jul 2008, 13:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 01:04    Post subject: Re: Running Puppy on Acer Aspire One
Subject description: How to make Puppy run in Acer Aspire One
 

You should have mentioned that the Aspire One is one of the new generation of ultra-compact notebooks, similar to the Asus Eee.
Yes, Puppy is ideal for these devices ... but the hardware is very new, and we need your help. Please run these two commands, and paste the results here.
Code:
lspci

Code:
lspci -n

To copy text from the terminal, highlight it by left-click dragging, then open a blank document in Geany, and click the left and right mouse buttons simultaneously. Then you can copy/paste this text to the forum.

Regarding the sound, we need to see the results of this command -
Code:
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep Codec


timothyli wrote:
I am not getting the full 1024x600 screen resolution.

The fix is likely to be the same as with the Eee -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=162281#162281

Generally, though, I have a suspicion that the Aspire One will have modern chipsets which require the latest kernel modules, so success is most likely to be achieved with the upcoming Puppy 4.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2008, 03:13    Post subject:  

timothyli
Linux is free software contributed by volunteers. We cannot assign the task of investigating the Aspire One to a department or a paid employee!
If you seriously want to have Puppy support your hardware, it behoves you to contribute a small amount of effort yourself, in the manner explained above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2008, 18:50    Post subject:  

Sorry for delay in responding, I have been busy trying to install xp-pro on the One. It works but SSD is super slow.

Anyways, here they are...

# lspci
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:27ac (rev 03)
00:02.0 Class 0300: 8086:27ae (rev 03)
00:02.1 Class 0380: 8086:27a6 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Class 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 02)
00:1c.0 Class 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 Class 0604: 8086:27d2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 Class 0604: 8086:27d4 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 Class 0604: 8086:27d6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 02)
00:1d.3 Class 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 02)
00:1d.7 Class 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 02)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:2448 (rev e2)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:27b9 (rev 02)
00:1f.2 Class 0101: 8086:27c4 (rev 02)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 02)
01:00.0 Class 0880: 197b:2382
01:00.2 Class 0805: 197b:2381
01:00.3 Class 0880: 197b:2383
01:00.4 Class 0880: 197b:2384
02:00.0 Class ffff: 10ec:8136 (rev ff)
03:00.0 Class 0200: 168c:001c (rev 01)
04:00.0 Class 0880: 197b:2382
04:00.2 Class 0805: 197b:2381
04:00.3 Class 0880: 197b:2383
04:00.4 Class 0880: 197b:2384

# lspci -n
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:27ac (rev 03)
00:02.0 Class 0300: 8086:27ae (rev 03)
00:02.1 Class 0380: 8086:27a6 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Class 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 02)
00:1c.0 Class 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 Class 0604: 8086:27d2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 Class 0604: 8086:27d4 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 Class 0604: 8086:27d6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 02)
00:1d.3 Class 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 02)
00:1d.7 Class 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 02)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:2448 (rev e2)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:27b9 (rev 02)
00:1f.2 Class 0101: 8086:27c4 (rev 02)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 02)
01:00.0 Class 0880: 197b:2382
01:00.2 Class 0805: 197b:2381
01:00.3 Class 0880: 197b:2383
01:00.4 Class 0880: 197b:2384
02:00.0 Class ffff: 10ec:8136 (rev ff)
03:00.0 Class 0200: 168c:001c (rev 01)
04:00.0 Class 0880: 197b:2382
04:00.2 Class 0805: 197b:2381
04:00.3 Class 0880: 197b:2383
04:00.4 Class 0880: 197b:2384

# cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep Codec
Codec: Realtek ALC268

This is what else I have found:
- When I boot with Pupeee (with acpi=off), Wireless is recognized. I guessed it must have the same wireless chipset as Eeepc (I also have a Eeepc by the way)
- pupeee (or puppy) won't boot at all if the acpi=off parameter is not used during boot ,
- When booting Puppy 4, xorg freezes, I have to use xvesa, pupeee is fine with xorg
- When boot with Puppy or Pupeee, the speaker symbol shows up on tray, but no sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2008, 20:16    Post subject:  

I got sound working now after some googling on alc268

Just add this line to /etc/modprobe.conf and reboot.

options snd-hda-intel model=acer

I tried to get 1024x600 workingas well, but 915resolution complained:

"Intel chipset detected.

However, 915resolution was unable to determine the chipset type.

Chipset ID 27ac8086.

Please report to stomljen@yahoo.com"

How to you stop ddcprobe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2008, 21:21    Post subject:  

After some more googling, I've got 1024x600 working as well on the Aspire One.

I downloaded 915resolution source code (from ubuntu), and added these lines to the 915resolution.c file:

case 0x27ac8086:
type = CT_945GM;
break;

then compile (you will need devx_301.sfs loaded)

#make

It will create the 915resolution binary.

Rename the original 915resolution binary in /usr/sbin as 915resolution.old, and copy the new one in.

Reboot and the beautiful 1024x600 pupeee desktop will come up.

I got the idea from here:

http://mmejiav.wordpress.com/

and here:

http://groups.google.com/group/915resolution/browse_thread/thread/80d987af344dcdca


...now the next challenge is the webcam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2008, 21:32    Post subject:  

timothyli wrote:
I got sound working now after some googling on alc268

Just add this line to /etc/modprobe.conf and reboot.

options snd-hda-intel model=acer

I tried to get 1024x600 workingas well, but 915resolution complained:

"Intel chipset detected.

However, 915resolution was unable to determine the chipset type.

Chipset ID 27ac8086.

Please report to stomljen@yahoo.com"

How to you stop ddcprobe?


I found this about that chipset id, I guess it works.

First it was
http://translate.google.com.au/translate?hl=en&sl=es&u=http://mmejiav.wordpress.com/&sa=X&oi=translate&resnum=1&ct=result&prev=/search%3Fq%3DChipset%2BID%2B27ac8086%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG

that led to
http://209.85.171.104/translate_c?hl=en&sl=es&u=http://groups.google.com/group/915resolution/browse_thread/thread/80d987af344dcdca&prev=/search%3Fq%3DChipset%2BID%2B27ac8086%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG&usg=ALkJrhjKdGa4w1BhjCeJzWYgB7fepBbfLQ

ttuuxxx

ps orginal non-english
http://mmejiav.wordpress.com/

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2008, 21:44    Post subject:  

Thanks ttuuxxx

I guess we arrived at the same place Razz

See my previous post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 08:00    Post subject:  

Although sound, wireless and 1024x600 screen are now working, my pupeee does not recognize my SD card. I also tried mut without success..

There are 2 SD card slots in the Aspire One and neither one is being recognized. Help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 08:18    Post subject:  

timothyli wrote:
Although sound, wireless and 1024x600 screen are now working, my pupeee does not recognize my SD card. I also tried mut without success..

There are 2 SD card slots in the Aspire One and neither one is being recognized. Help would be appreciated.


Well both being Canadians and My brother lives in T.O were kind of connected, Ok not even close, I live in Australia now, LOL
Still Canadian/Australian. I say "I am Canaussian" Molson han't Came up with that one yet. Anyways your in good hands tempestuous is person who I would say gets that SD card up and going, Once you get every thing going could you maybe document step by step how you did it and Post on here so others can follow it, Maybe they'll even make a derivative for it, And when that happens look out tons of new stuff for it.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 08:33    Post subject:  

timothyli wrote:
I got sound working now after some googling on alc268
Just add this line to /etc/modprobe.conf and reboot.
options snd-hda-intel model=acer

Yes, you could also determine that from this post -
"ALSA configuration for Intel HD Audio"
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22383

timothyli wrote:
I downloaded 915resolution source code (from ubuntu), and added these lines to the 915resolution.c file:
case 0x27ac8086:
type = CT_945GM;

Yes, it's just a matter of adding the correct PCI ID.
Maybe you should tell the author of 915resolution - stomljen@yahoo.com

timothyli wrote:
I guessed it must have the same wireless chipset as Eeepc

Yes, Atheros AR5007EG, PCI ID 168c:001c

timothyli wrote:
...now the next challenge is the webcam

Your lspci results show no webcam device. I suspect it may be disabled in bios, there was a similar situation with the webcam in the Eee.
If you're lucky, the webcam will be a UVCVIDEO compatible device, and the webcam drivers in Pupeee will work.

10ec:8136 indicates you have a Realtek RTL8101E LAN chipset. Hopefully Puppy's r8169 driver will work for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
timothyli

Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 11:05    Post subject:  

Thanks ttuuxxx.

We'll definitely document everything in one place once everything is working.

I love the idea of having a derivative for Acer Aspire One.

This little PC is going to a big hit, with its low price point (vs. Eeepc and MSI wind) and perfect form factor for mobility.

How does "puppyone" sound to you as a name?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 11:50    Post subject:  

timothyli wrote:
Thanks ttuuxxx.

We'll definitely document everything in one place once everything is working.

I love the idea of having a derivative for Acer Aspire One.

This little PC is going to a big hit, with its low price point (vs. Eeepc and MSI wind) and perfect form factor for mobility.

How does "puppyone" sound to you as a name?


I don't know Puppyone sounds ok but hmmmmm, The puppy name is a bit over used, how about "One-Ace" with a Single red Ace of hearts in the center of the Background.
If your going to start one up, It takes a lot of planning, and learning but its all fun anyways. Frustrating at times.
You probably would need help removing stuff like 100% of Xversa and 95% of Xorg Drivers, because they would be useless, plus sound card drivers, I mean you could really trim away a lot of space with a specific pc OS.
Plus since you know everything you need, basically it could just boot up and be online instantly without any user interaction, Unless people use wireless cards.

Also could you install this http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31460
and see if it runs and detects your monitor, and if so does it change your screen size. The reason why is that it could be hacked for your pc and have a few screen settings, which would be nice not to Exit-X to change. would make it even more inviting for others.
I bet that got your wheels spinning in your head.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 15:20    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
timothyli wrote:
How does "puppyone" sound to you as a name?
The puppy name is a bit over used...
May I suggest "A1-Pup"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
baseline

Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 17:23    Post subject:  

I for one would really like to see this happen. Puppy is the perfect OS for Netbook's.
Best of luck guys.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1074s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]