Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 17:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
vuppy - puppy with SUN vBOX included
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Ron

Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 184
Location: Around Seattle

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2008, 00:11    Post_subject:  

I really would like to try Vuppy out. I have a few questions about it:

1. I am running Puppy 4 now on live CD only. Since I have a pup_save file already, what does Vuppy do with that? Does it try to use it? I would like to try Vuppy separately from my current Puppy, but on the same computer, so what would I need to do?

2. Does this package include SDL and QT?

3. Does it need to use Xorg? I thought I read somewhere that it does. My system is on Xvesa now because of driver problems.

Thanks,
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dWLkR


Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 05:15    Post_subject:  

hi puppyluvr!

sorry m8 - i am currently totally busy - so i am ashamed to tell you - that i did not have any time left testing your great work! next week i will have time for this! so don't be angry ^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cretsiah

Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 07:47    Post_subject:  

Ron wrote:
I really would like to try Vuppy out. I have a few questions about it:

1. I am running Puppy 4 now on live CD only. Since I have a pup_save file already, what does Vuppy do with that? Does it try to use it? I would like to try Vuppy separately from my current Puppy, but on the same computer, so what would I need to do?

2. Does this package include SDL and QT?

3. Does it need to use Xorg? I thought I read somewhere that it does. My system is on Xvesa now because of driver problems.

Thanks,
Ron


answers :

1. Yes it will / or can use that pup_save file ....so if you dont want it to then i suggest moving it or renaming it so it wont get picked up on the boot /search sequence....

2. Yes it includes both SDL 1.2.9 and QT 3.3.8 which will benefit other pet down loads if you dont have these already...

3. From my understanding of XVESA it is a lesser version of XORG but still uses a form of the Xwindows system.....You will be able to use vuppy in either mode Xorg or Xvesa ....your only draw backs will be a) the amount of ram you have, b) the speed of your processor and c) hardrive space....

If you look up blogs by me (cretsiah) on the puppy's wikki (or puppy's community site) you will see a helpfile that may help you determine if it will meet your needs if you are trying to run windows on it...

Hopefully this is some help to you Ron....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
l1zart

Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 07 Nov 2008, 06:58    Post_subject:  Same idea
Sub_title: I'm working on a project to build the same you are building :)
 

Hello guys,

I need EXACTLY the same. I need a universal version of xp. Im working at a big college in the netherlands. we want all the systems to run the same configuration and when somebody mess up a system it doesn't matter Smile more flexibel systems and less things to fix. but there is one difference. we want an image on the harddrive, an untouched version. when the system boots it makes a copy from this image and run the copy. when it shutsdown, it deletes the temporary image. this because there are many tricks to get unauthorised software or data on a computer. this way, when the system reboots, the data will be gone Smile
all we have to watch is the users folders on the network Smile

our team/I want to cooperate in your project. can do some research and fix some problems. the boss is paying anyway Wink

thanx a lot for all the research and information. its a big help.

Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3227
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 04:06    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello Jonathan,
After no reply from dWLkR since late Aug. I had kinda shelved this one Very Happy ...
So I D/L`d the ISO I had made then and checked it out again...Needs work... Cool
The concept is functional, the GUI needs work. Laughing

I will play around with it relative to your needs, and some new ideas, and get back..
With a few tweaks, this "Puppy as a faux Windoze server" could really be useful..
This concept gives incredible power and ease over Windoze, with minimum effort..
( For instance, you can install software to the VDI once, then copy it to the various machines)
Some things:
Removing the VBox GUI. so 1024x768 (ect) is all in the screen...
Guest Additions...When you create your "Master" VDI you may want to have Guest Additions for Windows installed, but only if you want local, ( ie. HDD outside the VDI) storage access,(Probably not), Network works fine in VBox thru Puppy, as does sound.. And no matter which Puppy box you "move" your "one" VDI to, Windoze sees the same "hardware"..I use a USB drive to transfer/run them..Windoze,...on a stick...I use a full featured Puppy, rather than an "invisible" one..My Puppy, and a custom XP install on a 4gb stick.... On almost any machine. (Ram permitting)
( As for that troublesome EULA, I own my disk, and installed it to a "machine", albeit a virtual one... )
As for a clean sweep every time, easy enough, but troublesome and unnecessary.
Troublesome because some user settings are convenient (ie passwords and bookmarks) and would require a configured VDI for every user. Part of the power of this is you are one "copy/replace" command away from a fresh, (uninfected ect..) Doze.
Unnecessary because you can limit their Doze HDD size to exactly what they need / you want and no more....Also one copy to a USB and you can examine "their" Doze at your leisure on any machine, If they know that you can insert a USB stick, and have whatever they have done instantly, that alone will prohibit "errant" software installation.
Im sure this will serve your purpose well, and will be easy to do yourselves..
Pick a Puppy that will work on all your hardware....
Install VBox.on it.. Create a symlink to /root /Startup for VBox.
Create your OS VDI.. (Copy it to a USB stick)
Remaster your new Puppy including VBox and any stuff you need to make it work on every machine, to a CD.(Or the aforementioned USB stick, if your hardware will all boot from USB, (not likely on older hardware))
Install your Puppy to every machine and configure Network/Audio/ect...
Transfer the VDI from the USB stick to each machine, where your pupsave is, and load it in VBox.
Comment out the Taskbar / Menus in jwmrc/jwmrctray..Add the line "rox -p=" to xinitrc to kill Rox at boot. (Or write a script to make the changes by replacing them with new ones.)
Quote:
The post by "mikeb" seems to have solved the startup/shutdown issue, Ill be checking that out.. Very Happy as it looks like a better answer than this..

When you reboot the machine only VBox is accessible, and start boots Doze.
I know, seems like a lot, but its really fast and easy, well, except the initial Doze install.
But you only have to do it once. Transferring a VDI is much faster..LOL..
If you want a basic example, D/L the "Undercoverpup.iso" from the Buddapup link below and check it out...It boots to Icewm and Jwm is "invisible" so you set it up and reboot it to jwm...then save...Its really rough, but will give you an idea...

....Jay.....

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jul 2009, 03:36    Post_subject: still there  

Vuppy is still there at 2shared.com.

This is an interesting project for running legacy systems, like DOS or Windows NT.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8704

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jul 2009, 07:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
This is an interesting project for running legacy systems, like DOS or Windows NT.


well one approched that was interesting was a kiosk mode...booting straight into vbox/qemu so to the user it seemed like a standard windows setup all the way to shutdown

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
josephdowdy

Joined: 28 Jan 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan 2010, 14:46    Post_subject:  Vuppy?
Sub_title: Link is dead...Is Vuppy alive?
 

Is there an ISO of the current version of Puppy with Virtual Box already installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
moB

Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Location: Coastal

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 14:40    Post_subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:
Very Happy Hello
So basically what you want is the user can only access XP. So, booting into a CLI Puppy, with a script to start VBox would be easy enough, but a script to pre-select and boot a specific virtual machine would ( I think) have to be a change in VBox itself, unless it has a setup for autoloading a specific machine. or if there is a way to do it with a script in Puppy.

In order to execute something Before X starts, we`d have to edit xinit.rc....


While we`re at it, how about a script in Puppy to backup the VBox VDI of XP and update it on shutdown, maybe keeping a log of changes.

Backup with a record in case of any problems.
[/quote]

Everything you ask can be done from script. Use VboxManage. (CLI controls replace the GUI so the VBox can run "headless"). See chapter 8 in the VBox manual... yes, its down to that old "google is your f* friend, RTFM" thing Wink

If you don't have VBox to look up the help it is also here:

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/Usermanual.html

Essentially, the GUI is an extra, it lies in a subdirectory. One can make one's own, or use script for automation. Cheers!

"some ships sail from their ports and are ever afterwards missing" H. Melville
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
moB

Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Location: Coastal

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 14:41    Post_subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:
Very Happy Hello
So basically what you want is the user can only access XP. So, booting into a CLI Puppy, with a script to start VBox would be easy enough, but a script to pre-select and boot a specific virtual machine would ( I think) have to be a change in VBox itself, unless it has a setup for autoloading a specific machine. or if there is a way to do it with a script in Puppy.

In order to execute something Before X starts, we`d have to edit xinit.rc....


While we`re at it, how about a script in Puppy to backup the VBox VDI of XP and update it on shutdown, maybe keeping a log of changes.

Backup with a record in case of any problems.
[/quote]

Everything you ask can be done from script. Use VboxManage. (CLI controls replace the GUI so the VBox can run "headless"). See chapter 8 in the VBox manual... yes, its down to that old "google is your f* friend, RTFM" thing Wink

If you don't have VBox to look up the help it is also here:

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/Usermanual.html

Essentially, the GUI is an extra, it lies in a subdirectory. One can make one's own, or use script for automation. Cheers!

"some ships sail from their ports and are ever afterwards missing" H. Melville
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dWLkR


Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 18:03    Post_subject:  

moB wrote:
Everything you ask can be done from script. Use VboxManage. (CLI controls replace the GUI so the VBox can run "headless"). See chapter 8 in the VBox manual... yes, its down to that old "google is your f* friend, RTFM" thing Wink

If you don't have VBox to look up the help it is also here:

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/Usermanual.html

Essentially, the GUI is an extra, it lies in a subdirectory. One can make one's own, or use script for automation. Cheers!

"some ships sail from their ports and are ever afterwards missing" H. Melville

choose your destiny:
[ ] i did not read the topic, i just wanted to post sth. cool...
[ ] btw. what does the button "edit" mean anyways?!
[ ] someone already worked with the "quote"-function in forums?
[ ] i have never written a script by myself
[ ] watcha gonna do, when the hulkamanics and dWLkR run wild on you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1016s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]