Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 22:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
How to add PHP to Hiawatha server?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue 18 Aug 2009, 18:06    Post_subject:  

What are the outputs from

Code:
ps aux | grep hiawatha


and

Code:
hiawatha.run

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue 18 Aug 2009, 21:52    Post_subject:  

Thom,

What version of Puppy are you using? I tested this on 4.2.1 and 4.3 Beta and it works well. However I tested this on 4.2 SMP and it did not work. It gives a error "error redirecting stdout".

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Aug 2009, 21:58    Post_subject:  

prit1 wrote:

What version of Puppy are you using? I tested this on 4.2.1 and 4.3 Beta and it works well. However I tested this on 4.2 SMP and it did not work. It gives a error "error redirecting stdout".


I'm using 4.21 retro....let me try to download again....I suspect a problem here....had a similar issue with an iso. I have downloaded it to 3 locations...all the sizes are the same.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 01:58    Post_subject:  

I just finished testing in 4.2retro and 4.21retro and it worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 04:45    Post_subject:  

prit1 wrote:
I just finished testing in 4.2retro and 4.21retro and it worked fine.


Started out with a fresh puppy421retro ... hiawatha or xampp had never been installed. Installed pet file.....when I browsed to localhost, I saw the Hiawatha page....but when I browsed to localhost/index.php I see nothing. Looks like php is not running.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 11:50    Post_subject:  

Thom,

Can you post the output from running /etc/init.d/rc.httpd stop and /etc/init.d/rc.httpd start ?

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 16:52    Post_subject: debugging Hiawatha problem  

A few thoughts:

1. Check that mysql is running - check the processes and see if there is a mysql - or from a command line rxvt try

ps -ef|grep mysql

or type

mysql -uroot -pwoofwoof

this should return the mysql client program for entering sql to administer databases.

I am wondering if the .pet that you installed is in fact the full LAMP one or just the hiawatha - this would explain why you get the static hiawatha test page but not the php one. If you have mysql going then this confirms you have the LAMP .pet

2. We know hiawatha is running because you have output of index.html hiawatha test page. Are the three php daemons running type

#ps -ef|grep php

at the command line - there should be three lines showing php-fcgi processes. I suspect these kids are not running for some reason.
If not....
type:

#/etc/init.d/rc.httpd stop
#/etc/init.d/rc.httpd start

to stop then start hiawatha (and associated php-fcgi daemons)

check to see if php-fcgi is now going

#ps -ef |grep php

look for the three php-fgi processes

still no go?

3. Check the output of attempting to run php-cgi from the command line - type

#php-cgi > /root/outputofphp.txt

Then post the output here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 16:52    Post_subject: debugging Hiawatha problem  

double post whoops!
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 16:52    Post_subject: debugging Hiawatha problem  

three times just to be sure!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 18:58    Post_subject: Re: debugging Hiawatha problem  

growler wrote:
A few thoughts:

1. Check that mysql is running - check the processes and see if there is a mysql - or from a command line rxvt try
ps -ef|grep mysql
or type
mysql -uroot -pwoofwoof

apparently not running
cannot connect to mysql server

[quote="growler"
I am wondering if the .pet that you installed is in fact the full LAMP one or just the hiawatha - this would explain why you get the static hiawatha test page but not the php one. If you have mysql going then this confirms you have the LAMP .pet
[/quote]
Sure do look like I don't have the whole enchilada.
There is no php at all in /usr/local/lib

I tried to find it from some other threads...but all I get is dead links and page not found errors.

If it's available for download, let me know where.

Thanks
Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug 2009, 19:50    Post_subject: Enchiladas  

Is your LAMP_6.16-5.1.35-5.2.9.pet around 11 Meg!

Hiawatha on its own is just 116k so there would be quite a size difference between a hiawatha.pet and the "whole enchilada" - the real meat (do enchiladas contain meat?) is in mysql - PHP would be about a Meg compressed.

You can have a look at the contents of the .pet you are running by making a copy of it and renaming it - taking off the .pet and adding .tar.gz then looking at the archive in archiver. This will tell you if you have mysql files and php in there. If you are not running the above .pet then it is unlikely you'll have the files

/etc/init.d/rc.mysqld
/etc/init.d/rc.httpd

these kids are the ones that start the daemons on boot and are only part of the LAMP .pet above.

Just to confirm the PHP Mysql Hiawatha (LAMP) pet is at:

http://dotpups.de/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/LAMP-6.16-5.1.35-5.2.9.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Aug 2009, 04:25    Post_subject: Re: Enchiladas
Sub_title: The whole may not be the sum of the parts
 

growler wrote:
Is your LAMP_6.16-5.1.35-5.2.9.pet around 11 Meg!

yes.....and I downloaded the one you cited, installed it in a fresh Puppy4.21Retro-bootable USB

growler wrote:

If you are not running the above .pet then it is unlikely you'll have the files

/etc/init.d/rc.mysqld
/etc/init.d/rc.httpd

these kids are the ones that start the daemons on boot and are only part of the LAMP .pet above.


/etc/init.d/rc.mysqld
090820 04:09:04 mysqld_safe Logging to '/usr/local/var/puppypc.err'.
090820 04:09:04 mysqld_safe Starting mysqld daemon with databases from /usr/local/var
090820 04:09:04 mysqld_safe mysqld from pid file /usr/local/var/mysql.pid ended

/etc/init.d/rc.httpd
stopping PHP Fast-CGI daemons
starting PHP Fast-CGI daemons
PHP Fast-CGI exited with code 256
Error binding 0.0.0.0:80

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 20 Aug 2009, 20:53    Post_subject: USB install  

Running out of ideas - I need to try to install on a USB stick and see if I get the same error.

Looks like there may be some permissions issue with USB install for hiawatha - it runs as nobody - there could be permissions issues. I am not too clear on the inner workings of USB installs but I am thinking this is a factor.

Quote:
Cannot bind ... port 80

Is there some restriction on networking with a USB install??
Is there a firewall blocking port 80?

Sorry I can't understand why this doesn't work for you.

Have you tried it on a frugal HD or full HD install? I've only tested it in these environments. I believe that someone else got into trouble trying to remaster with the pet installed - although puppymartin must have figured that out in his webserver pupplet. I am sure it would have been permissions issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 20 Aug 2009, 21:17    Post_subject:  

Uually I've seen the "error binding to port 80" error when an instance of Hiawatha is already running or when some other program is using to serve through port 80.
_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Aug 2009, 21:28    Post_subject: Re: USB install  

growler wrote:

Have you tried it on a frugal HD or full HD install? I've only tested it in these environments. I believe that someone else got into trouble trying to remaster with the pet installed - although puppymartin must have figured that out in his webserver pupplet. I am sure it would have been permissions issues.


I suspect that the combination of programs don't like the USB install. I only do USB installs in order to have everything portable.

Xampp works fine.....Apache, MySQL, PHP and MyPhpAdmin all function.

Thanks for all the efforts.....sorry it doesn;t work for me.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0852s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]