Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 08:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
4.1 Alpha 7
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 05:43    Post subject:  4.1 Alpha 7
Subject description: Reports, tests, bugs
 

Can be downloaded at
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/test/puppy-4.1alpha7/

Notes from Barry's blog:
The 2.6.25.16 kernel is configured as what I will call a "compromise kernel". What I am particularly interested in, is those people who tested the "normal" and "conservative" kernels in alpha6 and experienced that their computer only booted or shutdown with the conservative kernel -- how will you fare with this compromise kernel? I would prefer to release 4.1 with just the one kernel (plus some SCSI kernels for those who need to boot from a SCSI drive), but if it turns out that we do have to offer the conservative kernel as well, then so be it.


You can post : Reports, tests, bugs here .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 535

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 08:43    Post subject: Best of both worlds  

Just wondering if there are any reason you could not have the latest kernel but set to boot with these problem options off so they all can at least boot. Then when it gets installed to HDD have a GUI to set what advanced options you want to boot with? Perhaps also for CD boot you can have two boot options there?
Cheers
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 10:29    Post subject:  

The first time I booted the mouse and keyboard locked up
then tried booting with 'puppy nosmp pfix=ram'
and got an error during boot up
Code:
BUG: recent printk recursions


then tried a third straight boot and got the enclosed image . . .


Crying or Very sad

OK about to try on another machine . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 10:29    Post subject:  

I am still confused about the kernel approach.
There was talk about the kernel supporting dual (more?) processors.
Are one of these doing this now?
Was the 406 already supporting it?
Is there a boot option to be used to activate the smp support?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eprv

Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 10:52    Post subject: puppy 407
Subject description: test
 

very nice, most things are just working

pmount still not working for me (Epia-V booted with USB stick),
thought it is related to my xfs partition so tried again after modprobe xfs and even after mounting it manually.
here is the output:

# pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 246: 6912 Terminated yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Puppy Drive Mounter

Please wait, probing hardware..."
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 251: 7347 Aborted /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount --file=/tmp/pmountdlg.txt_${MYPID} --center >/tmp/pmountdlg_${MYPID} 2>/tmp/pmounterr
# modprobe xfs
# pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 246: 7915 Terminated yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Puppy Drive Mounter

Please wait, probing hardware..."
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 251: 8309 Aborted /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount --file=/tmp/pmountdlg.txt_${MYPID} --center >/tmp/pmountdlg_${MYPID} 2>/tmp/pmounterr
# mkdir /mnt/sda1
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
# pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 246: 9572 Terminated yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Puppy Drive Mounter

Please wait, probing hardware..."
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 251: 10021 Aborted /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount --file=/tmp/pmountdlg.txt_${MYPID} --center >/tmp/pmountdlg_${MYPID} 2>/tmp/pmounterr
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 198
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 11:02    Post subject:  

Tested 4.1A7 on both my tower and laptop. The base system and internet worked, including chat.

gzine still has a problem of freezing up every so often. I am sure this is a gzine problem, not a Puppy problem. It happens most of the time when you are listening to music and change the visiualazations. Some time you can restart, some times you have to reboot.

Tried the PETget. Doenloaded FireFox okay. Tried mpalyer, 4.x version twice. Both times it said it was missing libavformat.so.51 and did not know where to get it. puppylinus.ca has several libavformat, but none show the .51.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5780
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 11:07    Post subject:  

Scanner works Very Happy , but NOT from menu. /root/.jwmrc points to xsaneshell which does not exist.

xsane menuitem is moved from graphics to multimedia Confused

.... else.... just GREAT!!!!!


Well Embarassed Pbackup doesn't install properly Embarassed

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 12:43    Post subject:  

Tried on Fujitsu Lifebook laptop - worked OK apart from connecting with pcmcia wi-fi card.- It was recognized OK as before.
Wifi connection software seems simpler to use . . .

Will try on another machine Smile
http://tmxxine.com/wik/wikka.php?wakka=PuppyDingo41

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dogone


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 202
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 13:14    Post subject: Alpha 7 observations
Subject description: multiple issues
 

My general first impression of alpha 7 is guarded.

- Wired network IP and Gateway addresses intermittently lost following reboot.

- Cranky volume control tray applet following ALSA wizard run until reboot. Thereafter, applet is slow to load. "x" mute indication and "Volume 0" displayed despite actual setting being non-zero. Open slider, click bar and "x" is cleared and all then works. Reboot and problems recur.

- SCSI scanner detected but not usable (see below). sane-find-scanner indicates scanner at dev nodes not available at Xsane device selection dialog (which is too long for display height and appears truncated).

- Rebooting (versus power-off) from 407 to 406 (w/separate pup_saves) may be causing minor video problems (Geforce 7300) . Not yet confirmed.

- Help -> Release Notes = "File not found".

I recall being very impressed with the way 406 first came up. I am not so impressed with 407's initial performance. The SCSI detection problem resolved, I would choose 406 over 407 for my quite recent hardware.
sane-find-scanner.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.66 KB
 Viewed   1522 Time(s)

sane-find-scanner.jpg

xsane-available-devices.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.19 KB
 Viewed   1305 Time(s)

xsane-available-devices.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 737
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 14:21    Post subject:
Subject description: Good News
 

I was able to connect to my WPA2 (broadcast SSID) wireless network without a hitch using the network connection wizard (connect desktop icon). I only had to scan for the network, select the one found, press the WPA2 button and enter the pass phase. It worked without a hick up. Getting the wpa_supplicant status using wpa_cli showed everything completed and the correct information for the network. I booted from the CDROM to see if Puppy 4 alpha 7 would boot. No problems at this time.

Thank you l!!!

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 14:40    Post subject:  

Same audio problems as alpha6. Tried running a .wmv using gxine that I started from the command line this time; when I opened the file it ran the video with no audio. The rxvt window showed this:
[wmv3 @ 0x943b800]Extra data: 8 bits left, value: 0

The open file dialog window in gxine still opens partially offscreen (too far to the left).

I tried to burn the alpha7 iso using pburn (I was in alpha6 at the time) and pburn complained the CD was unwritable. Tried again using burniso2cd and it went through the motions but quit too quickly and the iso did not compare. I booted windows, used burncdcc and it worked perfectly first time. This is embarassing; how long has Puppy had a CD burner application? Rolling Eyes

I have found that my alpha6 problem with pfind was a combination of operator error and an unfortunate feature in pfind. The probablility of running into this is low. It's being discussed in the pfind thread.

My other alpha6 problem about seeing the browser "back" button erratically exercised had to do (I think) with the scroll bars I just discovered were in my touchpad. Haven't used touchpads much since my computer was an old thinkpad. I have no way to disable the scrollbars in either the BIOS or Puppy, although I can in Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flapdoodle

Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 14:53    Post subject:  

I had the same problem PaulBX1 had, but using Puppy 4.1 alpha 5. Had to use Windows and Burncdcc.

Alpha 7 CD gave an error something like "can not sync" and then kernel panic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5780
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 14:53    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
I tried to burn the alpha7 iso using pburn


Will you please post the output of 'wodim dev=/dev/cdrom -toc' if CD, and 'dvd+rw-mediainfo /dev/cdrom' if DVD. /dev/cdrom is of course your burner. Please use a similar disc as gave message 'disc not writable'. Is this a RW disc or?? Please post Pburn stuff in the Pburn topic. I'm not monitoring this forum completely.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pigshed

Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 198
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 15:11    Post subject:  

Oh lordy - I'm glad I'm not Barry - it must be hell working out what's right and what's not ..

OK - from me .. Having suffered from Alpha power issues - this one shuts down fine, re-boots and the fan control is working correctly.

Hot pup still sticks icons on top of each other if you mount two at the same time - I know I've said this before and it may sound stupid, but it works fine in Dingo (using that as a general reference point) and a fix maybe in the works and just not have been incorporated yet.

How's the tooth ?

Network wise, it connects great - and the huge improvement for me is that so far after several re-boots - it's re-connecting 100% .

On the downside ... scrolling in Seamonkey has turned wormstyle again - and general screen refresh seems like it's re-drawing the whole screen from scratch constantly. Move up the menu - flash flash flicker flicker - same in apps. Close a full window - it's like watching time lapse of a clouds moving away as the icons re-appear.

I think they've been my main consistent feedback points. Hope this helps.

I've still not worked out why some versions have smooth screen update and some have jerky - the next time it's raining I should investigate.

Cheers, Adam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2008, 15:31    Post subject:  

Sigmund, I posted in the pburn thread.

I have noticed folks recommending b43 or b43legacy drivers for broadcomm devices that do not work. However I have not found b43legacy. My device is not recognized by the boot process at all, although it is a bcm4311, according to Windows. I tried the b43 and bcm43xx drivers in the network wizard but they did not work. Maybe Puppy should include b43legacy as well so I can try that?

I then rebooted with a Belkin usb wireless adapter plugged in. The boot process did load the zd1211rw driver (I think it's a 1211b, IIRC) but I could not connect with that. However for some reason my old thinkpad with netgear pcmcia card does not work here either, even though it works for other APs, so maybe the problem is the AP here - I will investigate. So far the only way I've connected to the internet is ethernet.

Last edited by PaulBx1 on Wed 27 Aug 2008, 15:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0952s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]