Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 17:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo 4.1 Beta retro (2.6.21.7 kernel)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2008, 19:09    Post subject:  Dingo 4.1 Beta retro (2.6.21.7 kernel)
Subject description: reports, bugs, feedback
 

download 'retro'
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/test/puppy-4.1retro-beta/

This has the 2.6.21.7 kernel, and is conservatively configured for maximum compatibility on old hardware.
The devx_407.sfs will work, just rename it to devx_408.sfs.

Barrys blog for details
http://www.puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00362

4.1
http://tmxxine.com/wik/wikka.php?wakka=PuppyDingo41

click on the info icon for release details

add software
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=229732#229732

initial impressions
We should add to announcements as this feels ready for more widespread usage
Download was slow - so faster hosts welcome
No problems with usage, great help / info
Pmount seems improved and the backup feature seems good
(don't remember that before)
I still feel the guy on the bike is better to differentiate from Dingo4
I like the image and others too are impressed - an icy landscape is as memorable and individual and bland as 'MS Iceberg edition'

It is great to see how many have worked on this version
and how polished it feels.

The last alpha I managed to use for a couple of days before switching back to 4.00

4.1 I could live with Smile
What are your impressions?
Does it work OK on the Eeepc?
How is Hiawatha working?
Does it feel faster?
Any hardware not working, now working? Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Thu 11 Sep 2008, 02:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2008, 22:22    Post subject:  

Is 4.1 called Dingo? I thought that was 4.0 only.

I tried booting with it, and going into the network wizard. For some reason it thought my Ricoh card reader was eth0. Needless to say, my network connectivity is poor through this card. I can post an image if anyone is interested.

OK here it is:


Pardon the large image size. I have tried to resize it several different times, and failed. Normally this is something I'm capable of, but I give up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 01:36    Post subject:  

The bootmanager does not show sfs in my home directory or some way to add them - all it shows is seen in the enclosed image)

I am booting from CD/DVD
- so something to do with the directory linking?
sfs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.21 KB
 Viewed   1733 Time(s)

sfs.jpg


_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 02:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Pardon the large image size

That's the prime function of moderators to help out, Paul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 02:51    Post subject:  

Lobster,
how on earth did you get that!? Where does your /mnt/home point to?

# readlink /mnt/home

If you have sfs file there, then that is weird. That BootManager code has been unchanged for quite some time, and I thought it is working well.

Maybe you have something at /mnt/home that has upset the BootManager. Can you run 'ls':

# cd /mnt/home
# ls

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 03:13    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Lobster,
how on earth did you get that!? Where does your /mnt/home point to?


Embarassed
I must not link to other dimensions . . .
Hope someone else can verify . . .

Pristine boot

eh nothing for that . . .
Code:
# # readlink /mnt/home


mnt/home directory listing . . .
Code:

# ls
1MB_usb         firefox-3.b.5-flash-java_301.sfs  pup_408.sfs
4mb_stick       freebasic                         pup_save.2fs
a1              god                               pup_save-41beta.2fs
a2              iso                               pup_save-rr.2fs
a3              K-Office_400.sfs                  relax
a4              lassie                            save files
backup          liam_pdf                          sfs
bookmarks       lib                               sheega.txt
bookmarks.html  lit2                              SunRise_tmxxine
buddha          LIT_Old_installer                 temp
Chinese         lob2ne2.jpg                       untitled.nce
clipart         lost+found                        wikBack
counter         pets                              wine_bottle_assortment
d               pritlog                           zdrv_400.sfs
devx_400.sfs    pup_400.sfs
dingo4_back     pup_406.sfs


I am using a new sfs save file
pup_save-41beta.2fs

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 03:17    Post subject:  

this kernel reverts to the "hda" nomenclature rather than "sda" ?

paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 06:44    Post subject:  

My HD is designated 'hda1'
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 06:45    Post subject:  

Try this link for the beta..it should be quite fast.

http://puppylinux.igsobe.com/puppylinux/puppyfiles/test/puppy-4.1retro-beta

Best,
Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eprv

Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 07:21    Post subject: test  

Works very well for me
Pmount works great
trash working
only spell check in abiword did not work, tried the suggestions in the abiword forum without success

great puppy, if the new kernel will do the same it is fantastic.

Regarding the sfs I had this problem in 4.00, just rename them to _408.sfs they will be recognized then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 07:34    Post subject: zd12211RW USB Network
Subject description: Module Loaded, not recognized by Network wizard
 

Embarassed
Network wizard not showing USB network... module zd1211rw is loaded.. unloading and reload did not solve problem. Previous, 4.1's have had problems with finding live network nodes, but the wizard did show interface.

I ran on two machines, directly from the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 09:06    Post subject:
Subject description: EEE 900 Feedback
 

A couple of notes about 4.1 Beta and EEE 900:

1) fresh install won't pick up the 900's wireless (even though the ath_pci module pre-loads), but when I used a puppy_save made from Alpha 5 and Tempestuous' wifi pet for the 900, wifi works in Beta

2) This is interesting b/c the pet did not work in Alpha 6

3) Tempestuous' acpi pet for 900 fn keys doesn't work for any key in Beta

4) Is it my general optimism, or does Beta boot even faster than Alpha?

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogone


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 202
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 10:16    Post subject: IP and Gateway addresses lost during reboot
Subject description: 408R
 

4.1 beta retro shares alpha 7's failure to retain my wired *static* IP and gateway addresses across reboot or power cycle. Alpha 6 did not have this problem.

408R is the fastest Puppy ever on this hardware.
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  Puppy 408 retro on hardware used since 400
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  4.12 KB 
Downloaded  216 Time(s) 

Last edited by dogone on Thu 11 Sep 2008, 16:35; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NoNameAmI


Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 10:53    Post subject:  

I was able to try the Beta1 last night a little before bed.. will test it further today or tomorrow.

I did find one issue that to me is big...

When connecting to irc.starchat.net from ayttm on the beta1, no users show in the user pane in channel despite being there. I had to install Pidgin from the Petget installer in order to use Starchat. This could be a bug in Ayttm but not sure. I would think if Pidgin can work right with that server that it has to be something with Ayttm.

On a side note, I do like the speed and responsiveness of Ayttm.

_________________
Pup2p - Puppy Linux aimed for use with the anonymous network I2P.
Released! http://www.puppylinux.org/downloads/puplets/pup2p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dogone


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 202
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 11:34    Post subject: Xsane image scanner menu enrty does not work  

As with alpha7, the Xsane image scanner menu item "does not work". No orange scanner dialog. Nothing.

sane-find-scanner detects my scanner and running xsane from the terminal works. The scanner functions perfectly assuming the correct device number (01) is selected. Again, no change from alpha7.

Note also in the attached hardware report that the scanner is listed many, many times.
hardinfo_report_scsi.html.gz
Description  Puppy 408R platform with Microtek E6 scanner attached.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report_scsi.html.gz 
Filesize  4.28 KB 
Downloaded  217 Time(s) 

Last edited by dogone on Thu 11 Sep 2008, 13:18; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0929s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]