Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 12:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Canon Multifunction PIXMA MP610 (Solved!)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2008, 02:37    Post subject:  Canon Multifunction PIXMA MP610 (Solved!)
Subject description: I don't know how it solved itself, but it did
 

Edit: Just skip to the last post for the solution

Ok, I just got a Canon Multifunction PIXMA MP610 to replace my other Canon. Canon released the linux drivers for it here. I dutifully unrpmed them in / and they seemed to go to the correct locations. Installed in CUPS without a hitch, but when I tried to test print, it said it was processing then, no jobs, and basically it didn't print. A lot of others have got it going in Linux, so I know it's possible. Any ideas? At this stage, all I'm trying to achieve is printing.

Last edited by battleshooter on Fri 06 Feb 2009, 02:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6688
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2008, 04:38    Post subject:  

Did you download, and install, both the specific MP610 driver and the common files? Is it set as default printer?

Maybe you can try the free version of turboprint and, if it works OK, consider shelling out 30Euros for a license when the 30day free trial expires?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2008, 05:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply Muggins.

Yes I got the MP610 driver and the common file. I'm currently downloading Turboprint. Does the structure of the rpm look alright to you? Also, I tried again this time using Nicolos' pdd files.

http://mp610.blogspot.com/2007/11/new-ppd-files-providing-more-printing.html

I just set the printer on default and tried printing the test page, but unfortunately, it's still no there. What now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2008, 05:52    Post subject:  

It worked Muggins!

Thanks for suggesting Turboprint, but I'm afraid I don't think I'll be able to persuade my parents to foot out 30 Euro when the printer works in Windows. Do you think you could think of any way the printer will work without Turboprint? As a point of interest, I noticed instead printing to cnij_usb:/dev/usb/lp0 like it does in CUPS, it prints to tpu://Canon/MP610_series in TurboPrint. But that's just Turbo's own port isn't it? Thanks for your help Muggins.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6688
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2008, 08:02    Post subject:  

battleshooter,

I just downloaded the .rpm for the canon mp610 and, after I extracted it, everything is in order...with one exception.

The extracted archive is missing the library symlinks, so you would need to manually create these:

Code:

ln -s /usr/lib/libcnbpcmcm327.so.6.61.1 /usr/lib/libcnbpcmcm327.so
ln -s /usr/lib/libcnbpcnclapi327.so.3.3.0 /usr/lib/libcnbpcnclapi327.so
ln -s /usr/lib/libcnbpcnclui327.so.3.3.0 /usr/lib/libcnbpcnclui327.so
ln -s /usr/lib/libcnbpess327.so.3.0.9 /usr/lib/libcnbpess327.so
ln -s /usr/lib/libcnbpo327.so.1.0.3 /usr/lib/libcnbpo327.so
ln -s /usr/lib/libcnbpcnclbjcmd327.so.3.3.0 /usr/lib/libcnbpcnclbjcmd327.so


At least I think that's all that should be required. I haven't looked at the pdf manual for your printer, but you can try running one of the executables that come with the program, like say cifmp610, cngpij cngpijmonmp610, lgmonmp610, or printuimp610, and see whether any errors are generated about missing library files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 15:59    Post subject:  

Sorry for the delay Muggins. I made the links using the code you gave me in a fresh pupsave and then unrpmed and and added the printer to Cups. Then I tried printing the test page but it didn't go. Rebooted. Tried printing test page again, set the printer as default printer, tried printing something other than the test page, but still no go. What shall I try next Muggins? Thanks for your time mate,

Oh, and I tested cifmp610, cngpij cngpijmonmp610, lgmonmp610, or printuimp610 in a terminal but they didn't spit out any errors.

Lgmonmp610 just gave me a blank terminal,

cngpijmonmp610 opened a window called status monitor telling me "Ready",

cifmp610 said
BJLSTART
ControlMode=Common
SetTime=20080930090316
BJLEND

and stopped there (no # though)

cngpij showed this:
cngpij Ver.2.80 Copyright CANON INC. 2002-2007
Usage: cngpij [-P printer name] <file name>

printuimp610 was printer options
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 16:15    Post subject:  

I also tried printing like this in a terminal:

# cngpij MP610 /root/Script.txt

Still nothing though. Just thought to let you know as much as I could.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6688
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 19:51    Post subject:  

From this link here it seems you need to do:

Code:
lpadmin -p MP160 -P /usr/share/cups/model/canonmp160.ppd \
-v cnij_usb:/dev/usb/lp0 -E


Also, in the cups browser, when you select add a printer, is canonmp160.ppd showing as an option?

Quote:

Final notes

You should now [Edited for clarity] be able to access it at http://localhost:631 and add the Canon printer and print a test page. The default usb backend worked fine for me, but you may also wish to try the Canon backend. (The two backends are why the printer will show up twice in the Add Printer page -- each backend is reporting the printer to CUPS.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 23:41    Post subject:  

I got into /usr/sbin and could see lpadmin staring right at me, but when I opened a terminal in the directory it kept telling me "lpadmin: no such file or directory" when I could see it right there. As a point of curiosity, are MP610 and MP160 drivers compatible or something? Anyway I can't see canonmp160.ppd but Canon MP610 Series Ver.2.80 (en) is an option and the one I normally use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6688
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2008, 00:22    Post subject:  

No...this is more likely a sign I'm suffering from AOD...Adult Onset Dyslexia!

As the turboprint driver is working OK, I wonder what happens at the end of the 30 day period?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2008, 00:27    Post subject:  

AOD huh? Very Happy

Oh well Smile

Should I go ahead and try it substituting MP160 for MP610 or leave it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6688
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2008, 00:34    Post subject:  

No forget about that mistaken advice. But it might be worth trying the .ppd file available here:

http://downloads.sourceforge.net/mp610linux/ppdMP610en-1.1.tar.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2008, 19:30    Post subject:  

Sigh, it didn't work. Have any more ideas?

Whenever I try and print, I note the LCD screen on the printer comes on, so it obviously knows something is coming through, but why it won't print is beyond me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 13:51    Post subject:  

Are you trying to print from an open document in Abiword? If not, try it.
Does your printer show up on the printer selection menu, or do you just get "Generic Postscript Printer"?
If your printer does not show up as a choice, use Petget to install Ted, which is a very basic wordprocessor, but it does print. If Ted prints, then you've got the problem that I've been chasing for more than a year.

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1095
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Oct 2008, 05:01    Post subject:  

Hey Gerry,

Nah, I wasn't trying to print from Abiword, but I have heard it's a whole barrel full of "fun" Rolling Eyes

I tested the printer with OpenOffice, Firefox, and the Cups test page.

I could test with Ted though, there's no harm afterall...

Thanks,
Battleshooter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0854s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]