Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 13:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Open Office sfs from Nathan - mirror?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 06:12    Post subject:  Open Office sfs from Nathan - mirror?  

Hi, has/can somone download the new open office sfs from Nathan
(grafpup - package respository - app. 100MB)?

I tries sevaral times and always get ftp server busy...

I would be nice to have a mirror somewhere..

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 06:19    Post subject:  

ftp://anonymous%40grafpup%2Ecom@grafpup.com/packages/OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz

No password

I downloaded it yesterday by clicking that link (on grafpup-homepage), very fast.
I just tried it again, the first megabyte - very fast (then I canceled).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 06:58    Post subject: Error  

Hi. With firefox, IE, flock I get:

ERROR
The requested URL could not be retrieved

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The FTP server was too busy while trying to retrieve the URL: ftp://grafpup.com/packages/OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz

Squid sent the following FTP command:

USER anonymous

and then received this reply
Unable to set up secure anonymous FTP

Your cache administrator is webmaster.


PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 07:02    Post subject:  

Did you try the link I mentioned above?
that works fine for me.

With the link you posted, I also get an error.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 08:27    Post subject: Error still there..  

I used exactly your link... Still getting this error...

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 08:31    Post subject:  

Ok, I will mirror it for 2-3 days.

It will take 1-2 hours to upload.
I will delete it in 2-3 days, as I run out of webspace.
I just ordered another 500 MB, but it will take a week or so until it is activated.

I post again, when the upload is finished.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 09:53    Post subject:  

http://noforum.de/dotpups/OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 10:14    Post subject: broken link  

guys-

I don't know how it happened but the link on my download page got broken on my download page the last time I edited it. It doesn't make sense as I dinn't even touch that part.

Anyway, the actual link is ftp://anonymous%40grafpup%2Ecom@grafpup.com/packages/OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz

PLease let me know right away if anything like that comes up in the future. I know it's working and you should get at least 150KB/sec download times.

Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 10:56    Post subject: Still got error Nathan...  

Hi, this is what I get:

Squid sent the following FTP command:

USER anonymous

and then received this reply

Unable to set up secure anonymous FTP

I can only use a browser, due to ftp not allowed in our company...
So maybe I am the only one with such an error message..?

Will try now Mark's link...

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 11:00    Post subject:  

I just tried nathans link with opera, and it works.
So maybe there is a network-problem for you in your company.
Can you acess other FTP-sites? Maybe Port 21 is blocked?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 11:12    Post subject:  

I will setup an http transfer for those having trouble with the ftp site. Give it some time as I'm pretty busy with other things right now.

Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 11:52    Post subject: Thanks!  

Hi Mark, got oo2 file - thanks a lot!!

Hi Nathan, just tested oo2 briefly - just great! Edited a file, export to pdf..
no problem whatsoever...

Really a big plus for Puppy (the plus also counts for size...)

Thanks a lot both of you!

PS

I still got not an answer to my question, what if you want to have more
than one usr_more.sfs (ex. oo2 + kde)..? Can Puppy handle that for ex.
for file in usr_????.sfs
do
<mount it>
done

??

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 12:11    Post subject:  

As far as I know, it isn't possible right now. You could make one file containsing both, however. Everything in usr_more.sfs ends up in the top level directory .usr_more, so you could boot up with one, take all of .usr_more and copy it to a temporary directory such as mnt/home/tmp/.usr, reboot with the other squashfs and repeat. You would then have all of the files for both KDE and OpenOffice in one place. In order to turn that into a squashfs you just need to open a terminal in /mnt/home/tmp and type
Code:
mksquashfs .usr usr_more.sfs

Of course that would be a horrendously large file, probably well over 200MB, and very well could slow down your computer substantially.

If you don't want to try it the other option is to just boot up with one at a time and keep one renamed to something like usr_more.sfs-KDE.

The whole process works very similarly to Slax modules. If you run Slax I know you can have quite a few different modules mounted all at once and they can be turned on or off at will, so these things are theoretically possible. Puppy just isn't set up to do it right now and doesn't have enough loop devices by default.

Here's a link describing what I'm talking about:
http://slax.linux-live.org/doc_modules.php#useonfly

It's good to hear you're enjoying OpenOffice. I just clocked it and Writer opened in six seconds on my laptop, which has to be a record for OpenOffice.

Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 14:44    Post subject: nstall Office 2  

Using MU's link I was able to download, install OpenOffice 2, create a database, save the Galaxy (in another dimension) and makes some bread . . . (OK I used a timed machine to make the bread)


I installed on Chubby Puppy 1.0.5

* Bring your Puppy size up (pup001) start / utlilities / resize file system - I would suggest 256 meg
* Go to link and save file
* Use Utilities / GuiTAR - locate file, select all and untar
* now read the usage file which will tell you to move a file to /mnt/home

You now have a file which is saved on your HD and therefore should be available in Puppy 106 if you are booting from CD

Such a little Puppy. Such a big Office Suite . . .

Laughing

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 15:15    Post subject: find soffice  

Yup. And after reboot with usr_more.sfs in the right place (/mnt/home),
you can open with rox /usr/local/oo2* and find there soffice.
Drag that to the desktop and on you go..

Will investigate the code the mounts usr_more.sfs...
See if it would allow to mount multiple usr_xxxx.sfs files Smile

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0712s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]