Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 21:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
open office installation
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
nathaniel


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 17:26    Post subject:  open office installation  

i am having problem to install open office 2.0version with my puppy linux 1.5version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 17:37    Post subject:  

Could you please describe what you tried?

Go here:
http://grafpup.com

Click on "Packages".
Download OO.
Extract it.

Copy it (usr_more.sfs) to /mnt/home
If that is a WindowsXP NTFS-Drive, you must do that in Windows.
Reboot puppy.

In ROX-filer, drag
/usr/local/bin/soffice
to your Desktop, and click on it to start Openoffice.

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nathaniel


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 18:11    Post subject:  

i already install open office but i cannot find the file
/usr/local/bin/soffice.Where can i find it


MU wrote:
Could you please describe what you tried?

Go here:
http://grafpup.com

Click on "Packages".
Download OO.
Extract it.

Copy it (usr_more.sfs) to /mnt/home
If that is a WindowsXP NTFS-Drive, you must do that in Windows.
Reboot puppy.

In ROX-filer, drag
/usr/local/bin/soffice
to your Desktop, and click on it to start Openoffice.

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 18:13    Post subject:  

What message do you get, if you type
which soffice
in the console-window?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 20:38    Post subject:  

can you guide me,i im quit new star office. i can't install it in my puppy linux..tnx


MU wrote:
What message do you get, if you type
which soffice
in the console-window?
Back to top
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 20:49    Post subject:  

We need to find out first, if it installed correctly or not.

On your Desktop, you have an icon "console".
Click on it, and a window opens.
In this window, enter the command "which soffice".

Then you will get an "answer".
The console will say nothing, or it will say "/usr/local/bin/soffice".
If it says "/usr/local/bin/soffice", everything is ok, and I can give you more instructions.

If it says nothing, there is an error with your installation.
So please tell me the result.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nathaniel


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 21:01    Post subject:  

it doesn't say any thing after i type which office
i think i was not able to install it properly
Can you teach me to install open office.
tnx for the great help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 21:17    Post subject:  

Ok, I explained it above.
Maybe you need more details.
You could help me answering, by telling me, what you did to install OO.

I assume you downloaded OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz

Now click on the "home"-icon on your desktop.
Now the ROX-filer will open.
Try to find the downloaded OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz with it.
Maybe it is in the folder currently visible.
Maybe you have to click on the folder "my-documents" or another.

If you have found it, click with the RIGHT mousebutton in the ROX-window.
Now you should see a small context-dialog.
In this dialog, click on "xterm here".
This will open a consolewindow as we had above.
But this now is in the folder with your downloaded file.
Now type this command in it:
tar -xzvf OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz

Then a new file should be visible in the ROX-window called "usr_more.sfs".

Please tell me, if this works for you.
Be as detailed as possible.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trobin

Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 907
Location: BC Canada

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 05:06    Post subject:  

Go here:
http://grafpup.com

Click on "Packages".
Download OO.
Extract it.
----------------------------------------
I downloaded the file from that location more than once.

I extracted it once using guitar.
---------------------------------------
Copy it (usr_more.sfs) to /mnt/home
.
--------------------------------------
Since I'm running a HD install, instead of booting from CDRom,
I placed the file in / as the Usage File said, rebooted the computer.

I typed 'which soffice" into the console and eceived no answer

I reread your instructions, going through the process again.

I extracted it again using tar -xzvf OpenOffice2.0.tar.gz in the console.

I copied the files as indicated and rebooted the computer.

I typed 'which soffice" into the console and eceived no answe

I repeated the procedures sseveral times in both 1.0.4 and 1.0.5. In no case did it work. I finally gave it up as a waste of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 05:16    Post subject:  

Trobin, this is just what I did, and it works Confused
Nearly the same.
I downloaded/extracted it with puppy, copied it to /mnt/hda8 (a Linux-ext3 partition I can acess from Puppy and from XP), and then started XP.
Now I copied it from L:\ (hda8) to c:\ using a ext2-plugin.
(I boot puppy from C: , a NTFS-drive).
Permissions are -rw-------

It will not work in Puppy 1.0.4, as usr_more.sfs just is supported/used from Puppy 1.0.5 and newer.

I'm sorry, I have no further idea at moment.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Sun 06 Nov 2005, 03:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 05:23    Post subject: do things in packets of manageable frustration  

Quote:
I finally gave it up as a waste of time.


Do not give up easily Trobin - I know you have made great efforts and I know how frustrating installing can be. My first experience with Linux I finally managed to get Linux up and running and then there was the new hurdle of installing software . . . it took me 5 weeks to get a windowed desktop that could run netscape browser in lo-res (however I am notoriously stupid - even the fish laugh at me)

You have to do things in packets of manageable frustration . . . especially if they may be hard . . .

Push yourself a little then go have some fun . . .

In moments of weakness you could always go here . . .
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/VentSpleen

Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 05:26    Post subject:  

did you look in /usr/local/bin. most apps are located there and OO should put soffice, scalc, etc. there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 10:48    Post subject:  

Okay guys, I'm as stumped as all of you. Has anyone else here got a hard drive install that they can test this with? Mine is of Puppy104 so it won't work. I'd really like to know if this is a real problem that needs fixing because I don't like introducing packages that don't work for people.

To those who are having this problem, I'm very sorry and I want to help. There are ways to mount the file manually and take the OpenOffice files out of it, but you'd have to be willing to work a little on the command line. Also, you could go to the website openoffice.org and download the official release from them. The problem is that for OpenOffice2.0 they decided to make the whole thing as easy to install as possible by using rpm files for everything. Unfortunately, not all Linux distributions use rpm for package installation. There is a utility available as a dotpup that can extract the contents of an rpm, which could be used to get a working installation. Again you'd have to be willing to work at it.

Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
menno

Joined: 03 Nov 2005
Posts: 78
Location: Bedum (Nederland)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 12:59    Post subject: OO  

I noticed that you have puppy on HD .
So I put the usr_more.sfs (wich I rename to usr_more_OO.sfs because I have also a usr_more_wine.sfs) somewhere on a drive .
I make a dir /opt which a sudir /OO (and /WINE) .
Code:
# mount -t squashfs /mnt/hdd1/usr_more_OO.sfs /opt/OO -o loop
# mount -t squashfs /mnt/hdd1/usr_more_wine.sfs /opt/WINE -o loop
# mount -t unionfs -o dirs=/usr/local:/opt/OO/local=ro none /usr/local
# mount -t unionfs -o dirs=/usr:/opt/WINE=ro none /usr     

From a rxvt I say soffice , he its run's or wine notepad and it give you notepad .
The OpenOffice compain's that it cann't find the Java Runtime Env. and if you close the applications it says lpc: lpstat: not found .
For this time I didn't look at these error .
To umount say umount /usr/local and umount /usr before you umount the *.sfs .
I running this under Puppy 1.0.5 . I hope this helps , Menno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
moritzes

Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Akron, OH

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2005, 19:34    Post subject: OO2 HD install  

HD install works for me. Per directions, I extracted the .sfs to /.

A couple of caveats?
I have 1.05 Chubby Puppy, and OO1.1 is still on my system. The file at /usr/local/bin/soffice is the 1.1 executable.

BUT OO2 executable is installed at /usr/local/OOo-2.0/program/soffice. Click on that and it runs fine.

So if you're not getting it to work, you might look there.

[As a more general tip for finding files, you should really grab the findutils dotpup and use updatedb and locate. After the database is created by updatedb, finding files with locate is lightning fast!]

Nathan: thanks for packing this thing up into the .sfs. I'm going to try wine later, and thanks for that, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0892s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0209s) ][ GZIP on ]