Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 19:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
DHCP Timeout with Motorola Canopy antenna
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Word Warrior

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2008, 22:11    Post subject:  

I used ifconfig to change the IP and netmask of eth0, but that did not help any. This is what happened when I tried to configure the default gateway:

# route add default gw 66.128.82.225
route: SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable


From the network wizard when trying to connect using a static IP (two error dialog boxes):

1)WARNING: Your netmask does not correspond to your network address class.

2)Your gateway is not on the network. Please try again.


I ran the network wizard again to re-configure DHCP, and I got this output from the shell I ran the wizard in:

Error, eth0: timed out
Error, eth0: lease information file `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth0.info' does not exist
Warning, eth0: using IPV4LL address 169.254.50.31


Is it possible that my network card has a different MAC address in Windows than in Linux? Another interesting thing I noticed is that ipconfig (in Windows) lists two Ethernet connections and randomly lists one or the other as connected (my card does have two Ethernet ports).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2008, 23:48    Post subject:  

Sorry, I gave you some misinformation about obtaining your IP in windows. You are running win98, right? If you are click start, run, then type "winipcfg" (without the " " ) hit enter. Should bring up the IP of your adapter. Now, if all goes well, try these numbers in puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Word Warrior

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun 02 Nov 2008, 17:26    Post subject:  

I tried the winipcfg command, but it just gave the same numbers as the ipconfig command.

One other thing I forgot to mention: After I changed the IP and netmask with ifconfig, the command's output has changed. Running "ifconfig" after I re-enable DHCP does not give either the IP or the netmask anymore. (If I remember correctly, the whole second line of information for eth0 is omitted.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0439s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]