Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 16:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Pmount stopped working in Puppy 4.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 19:31    Post subject:  

Pmount fixed, see my blog:

http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00512

CatDude, still got your problem, see my previous post.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 07:54    Post subject:  

Hello Barry

I wasn't sure whether the contents of: /etc/eventmanager
would be different at the various stages described in my last post.
So i ran through it again, taking note of the contents of: /etc/eventmanager
at all stages the contents were exactly the same.

Here is the contents of: /etc/eventmanager
Code:

#configuration file for 'events' in Puppy.
#this file is read/written by /usr/sbin/eventmanager.

#this parameter is read by /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d...
#For odd-numbered PUPMODE, periodic save in minutes. 0=no periodic save...
RAMSAVEINTERVAL=

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. major switch to kill pup_event_backend_d...
BACKENDON=

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. major switch to turn off all hotplug desktop icon support...
HOTPLUGON=

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. whether hotplug drive icons on desktop or a single 'drives' icon...
ICONDESK=false

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. only effecive if ICONDESK=true. show individual partitions as icons...
ICONPARTITIONS=false

#read by pup_event_frontend_d and /root/.pup_event/drive_*
#true if want an automatic 'handler' to run if a drive plugged in...
HOTPLUGNOISY=false

#read by /root/.pup_event/drive_*
#true if want 'handler' to auto-run appropriate target application...
AUTOTARGET=true

#if /sys/block/fd0 exists, show 'fd0' icon on desktop. Puppy does not detect insert/remove
#of diskettes, so this icon will just remain on desktop. Read by pup_event_frontend_d.
FD0ICON=true



BarryK wrote:

CatDude, still got your problem, see my previous post.


Like i said in my previous post
after installing the gtk2-engines_2.12.2.pet
Pmount was once again working OK

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 05 Dec 2008, 17:26    Post subject:  

CatDude,
That's your problem, RAMSAVEINTERVAL has no value. Ok, I can put in a workaround for that.

When you ran the Event manager you must have deleted the default entry for RAMSAVEINTERVAL.

I'm puzzled how you got BACKENDON and HOTPLUGON set to nothing. They are radio buttons in the Event manager and are either true or false.

EDIT:
Fixes applied, see my blog.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 06 Dec 2008, 10:59    Post subject:  

Hello Barry

BarryK wrote:
CatDude,
That's your problem, RAMSAVEINTERVAL has no value. Ok, I can put in a workaround for that.

I do not know how that happened.
BarryK wrote:

When you ran the Event manager you must have deleted the default entry for RAMSAVEINTERVAL.

The only thing i did,
was to Right click on one of the desktop drive icons (i was trying to get rid of them)
and selected: Run Desktop Drive Icon Manager
then selected: Show full Event Manager
i then unticked all of the boxes,

2 on the Activate tab
3 on the Desktop Icons tab
2 on the Icon Handler tab
1 on the Legacy tab

that was it.
Pmount was still working OK after doing this,
but there is still one icon (drives) that will not go away.

BarryK wrote:

I'm puzzled how you got BACKENDON and HOTPLUGON set to nothing. They are radio buttons in the Event manager and are either true or false.

You and me both mate.



Anyways, i decided to create a Fresh Frugal Install.
I did exactly as i did previously (with regard to unticking boxes)
then i had a look at: /etc/eventmanager

here is the contents:
Code:

#configuration file for 'events' in Puppy.
#this file is read/written by /usr/sbin/eventmanager.

#this parameter is read by /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d...
#For odd-numbered PUPMODE, periodic save in minutes. 0=no periodic save...
RAMSAVEINTERVAL=30

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. major switch to kill pup_event_backend_d...
BACKENDON=false

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. major switch to turn off all hotplug desktop icon support...
HOTPLUGON=false

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. whether hotplug drive icons on desktop or a single 'drives' icon...
ICONDESK=false

#read by pup_event_frontend_d. only effecive if ICONDESK=true. show individual partitions as icons...
ICONPARTITIONS=false

#read by pup_event_frontend_d and /root/.pup_event/drive_*
#true if want an automatic 'handler' to run if a drive plugged in...
HOTPLUGNOISY=false

#read by /root/.pup_event/drive_*
#true if want 'handler' to auto-run appropriate target application...
AUTOTARGET=false

#if /sys/block/fd0 exists, show 'fd0' icon on desktop. Puppy does not detect insert/remove
#of diskettes, so this icon will just remain on desktop. Read by pup_event_frontend_d.
FD0ICON=false

So i have no idea what happened in the last install i did.


With regard to the fix you posted on your blog,
i did as described and Pmount continued to work OK even after i installed the icewm pet. Very Happy

I still have one question though, how do i get rid of that icon ? Twisted Evil
i do not like desktop icons, if i want shortcuts, i put them on wbar.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Dec 2008, 07:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
I still have one question though, how do i get rid of that icon ? Twisted Evil
i do not like desktop icons, if i want shortcuts, i put them on wbar.


Good question.
Um, I think if you untick everything that has to do with hotplug support, then delete that icon, hopefully it won't come back next time X is started.

That needs to be tidied up though, for those like yourself who want a cleaner desktop. Another checkbox maybe in the Event Manager, to choose not to display any drive icons at all.

...that would have to be for 4.2, as 4.1.2 is in it's final day of testing.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 Dec 2008, 09:32    Post subject:  

Hello again Barry

BarryK wrote:

Good question.
Um, I think if you untick everything that has to do with hotplug support, then delete that icon, hopefully it won't come back next time X is started.

I tried that, it doesn't work, the icon re-appears again.
I guess i will have to wait for 4.2, although i mainly use version 400 so it is not urgent.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
3wsparky

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 21:30    Post subject: same as that  

I am experiencing the same issue

anyone sust this one out yet ?

i renamed pmount to tmount to see if it was that creating the link but it wasn't some other script is placing that icon there.

very anoying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartCyber

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Kenya

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 04:57    Post subject:  

I have the same issue pmount won't load
pmounterr has this
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 293: /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount: cannot execute binary file

_________________
It is only a matterof time before you realize that am smarter than you....
Running on SmartCyber OS 4.1.2 - Full Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 14:24    Post subject:  

try Muppyquickmount,
download see first message here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=32575
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SmartCyber

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Kenya

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 14:59    Post subject:  

SmartCyber wrote:
I have the same issue pmount won't load
pmounterr has this
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 293: /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount: cannot execute binary file


I have made a new full install of puppy in the same machine and it worked OK then I decided to repeat what I did last....

Press and hold poweroff while drive is mounted

I got the same error

It seems power failures or bad shutdown is the cause of this

Let me try try what's suggested above.

SmartCyber
-------------------------

_________________
It is only a matterof time before you realize that am smarter than you....
Running on SmartCyber OS 4.1.2 - Full Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartCyber

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Kenya

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 02:00    Post subject: System Halted - Shutdown through CCLFox
Subject description: PMOUNT Now not working on any of my Client PCs
 

Damn.... what a morning to wake up only to realize 6 of my cybercafe computers PMount is not working...

CCLFox does not shutdown client instead it makes the system halts and the computers would hang there till I manually powerofff...

Now am faced with a very big problem... How will my clients mount their flash drives.... 1 day of running Puppy everyone was impressed by the speed, slickness and performance...

HELP HELP

Regards

SmartCyber

_________________
It is only a matterof time before you realize that am smarter than you....
Running on SmartCyber OS 4.1.2 - Full Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 02:07    Post subject:  

Not certain, but this might be related:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36944

I would do this:
exit to prompt.
type:
Code:
rm -rf /tmp
reboot

Instead of "reboot" you also can hit CTRL-ALT-Del.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SmartCyber

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Kenya

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 14:58    Post subject: Clean Installs  

Well I tried your method and I solved a million probs now here is how I am handling the problems

Did a clean install to all PCs then...

add this to rc.sysinit just after
Code:
ln -s /proc/mounts /etc/mtab


Code:

##############SHUTDOWN RECOVERY################
#If system was not shutdown cleanly, try and recover
if [ -f /RUNNING ];then
 echo -n "(System was not SHUTDOWN Cleanly)" >/dev/console
 rm -f /var/log/X*
 rm -f /RUNNING
 rm -rf /tmp/*
 rm -f /var/lock/LCK*
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid
 rm -rf /root/tmp 2>/dev/null
 rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/* 2>/dev/null
fi


##############Detect Bad Shut###################
#create a file in / that should be deleted on a clean shutdown
if [ ! -f /RUNNING ];then
 echo 'this file is deleted during a clean shutdown' > /RUNNING
fi




add this to rc.shutdown just below the first
Code:
clear
command
Code:

################Delete RUNNING to avoid Clean#################
rm -f /RUNNING
echo "Puppy is deleting RUNNING..." > /dev/console


I'd have used /tmp but something funny I cannot see the file there if I use it anyway thought of doing it outside.... now I can poweroff like 5000 times without worry....

SmartCyber

_________________
It is only a matterof time before you realize that am smarter than you....
Running on SmartCyber OS 4.1.2 - Full Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0979s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]