Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 03:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Dial-up connection with Dell Inspiron 2650
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Oct 2008, 18:54    Post_subject:  Dial-up connection with Dell Inspiron 2650
Sub_title: winmodem in Dell Inspiron 2650
 

Has anyone gotten the dial-up Winmodem in the Dell Inspiron 2650 to run under Puppy -- or for that matter, any other Linux system?

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1519
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 18:57    Post_subject:  

ravensrest,
I don't have an Inspiron, but have messed around with Puppy's modem support, so maybe can help you determine whether it is usable with Puppy or Linux in general. But I need more information.

1. What happens when you boot into Puppy 4.1 and click on the "Connect" icon? If it doesn't say "no modem detected" (or equivalent), then there's your answer. But I assume you have done that and see no modem identified.

2. To be thorough, click on the "dialup modem" button in the Connect window. Then click on the "Probe" button, then on the second "Probe" button that appears. I assume that will not find anything, but am open to surprises.

3. We need to know the chipset powering the modem. The simplest way to find that is to use Windows Device Manager to find the identifying details of the modem. Some do not work at all with linux: USR, Motorola, and others. In one of the tabs for the device, there should be a vendor ID and product ID, which would help, too.

I think that is a good start toward determining whether to pursue it further.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Oct 2008, 10:42    Post_subject: re: Dial-up connection with Dell Inspiron 2650
Sub_title: winodem in Dell Inspiron 2650
 

I no longer have Puppy installed on the Inspiron; I reinstalled Win XP so I could access the net via the dial-up connection, which is all that is available to me hereabouts.

When it was installed, I did various tests, and if memory serves, Puppy thought there was a modem but could do nothing with it.

The actual modem that Dell uses is an Actiontek MD560RD V92MDC Modem on Com3.

As an aside, one of the problems with using Puppy, or any Linux to some extent, is that they just don't have the wide support that Windows products do. While I value the positive aspects of Linux and Puppy, I sometimes get discouraged in finding out that almost everything I wish to do other than run the basic computer turns into a research project. Like the old saying, "When you're up to your ass in alligators, it's hard to remember the original objective was to drain the swamp". My swamp was simply to be able to send email via Puppy on a reasonably popular laptop.

BS


rerwin wrote:
ravensrest,
I don't have an Inspiron, but have messed around with Puppy's modem support, so maybe can help you determine whether it is usable with Puppy or Linux in general. But I need more information.

1. What happens when you boot into Puppy 4.1 and click on the "Connect" icon? If it doesn't say "no modem detected" (or equivalent), then there's your answer. But I assume you have done that and see no modem identified.

2. To be thorough, click on the "dialup modem" button in the Connect window. Then click on the "Probe" button, then on the second "Probe" button that appears. I assume that will not find anything, but am open to surprises.

3. We need to know the chipset powering the modem. The simplest way to find that is to use Windows Device Manager to find the identifying details of the modem. Some do not work at all with linux: USR, Motorola, and others. In one of the tabs for the device, there should be a vendor ID and product ID, which would help, too.

I think that is a good start toward determining whether to pursue it further.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0527s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]