Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 19:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
FirePup v0.04.3 released nov12/08
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 15 [217 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
cretsiah

Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 08:19    Post subject: firefox 3
Subject description: what a joke
 

I know you can bash me for this as much as you want BUT....

FireFox 3 is FRELLING CRAP ON WINODWS LET ALONE ON LINUX SYSTEMS..
I use IE 6 over FireFox 3 thats how much FireFox 3 sucks

I wish ttuuxxx could rebuild FireFox 1.5 for windows...
AND that part Im not joking about...
I use Opera 9.64 on linux and windows systems if I need to use something other than Opera then I use IE6(on windows) not firefox3 or seamonkey or Knoquorer on linux..

ttuuxxx if people need something a little better than AbiWord then although it would be a big job to compile you might look into Open office BUT compile it without the java component that should increase spead, keep compatability, maybe put a flip switch(?) or plug-in for java requirements that can be turned off..

90% of the slow down now in browsers and in office apps is due to the heavy reliance on JAVA.. version 2+ of Open Office could be compiled without the java component.. I dont know about the 3+ versions(memory requirement 128megs of ram for OOv3+ only).

I would do it myself except i am compiler incompitent...but removing the java component may or may not reduce the size of open office by upto 25% in size and increase speed dramatically
another idea might be to use OOv2.5 but add file associations from the newer versions so its still microsoft compatible...

I wont kid you its a big ask and a frelling big job...But ttuuxxx you have the uncanny ability to modify and retrofit things that just (most would say shouldnt be possible lol)

Mind you so does Mikeb lol find out mikeb can make grub4dos dance lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 488
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 08:39    Post subject:  

Have you tried sinply turning Java off?
TOOLS>OPTIONS; expand "OpenOffice.org," click on Java and uncheck "Use a Java runtime environment."

There is a "light" version of OO 1.1 for Puppy, idk about OO 2 or 3.

Browsers in Windows - try FF 3.5 beta and then just wait a couple weeks for the final. Safari for Windows got a good review for its speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 09:06    Post subject:  

For windows I would say google chrome 2, its just been released and its way faster than opera or ff3, with speed test its nuts, but it doesn't have all the plugins etc, but if you want a fast windows browser I would check that out first, next there are other windows browsers that use IE backends,

My choice would be
chrome 2
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Internet/Browsers/Google-Chrome.shtml
Advant (ie based)
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Internet/Browsers/Avant-Browser.shtml
Seamonkey2
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Internet/Browsers/SeaMonkey.shtml
K-Meleon
http://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABLE-SOFTWARE/Internet/Browsers/Windows-Portable-Applications-Pocket-K-Meleon.shtml
Enigma
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Internet/Browsers/Enigma-Browser.shtml

as for Open office without Java, well you could use the cutdown versions from series 2, they are really small and Java free around 60MB pets around 1/3 of todays versions, also in the forums software section there's koffice is which is a bit smaller.
If I ever get some free time, I'll look at open office, I did rip it apart once just to see how much I could remove and keep writer working, due tothe fact I have no use for the other applications that come bundled, I even went as far as contacting Open Office and asked them to make a package with just writer included, they said the package was too deeply mixed. I also informed them they should make a browser plugin for firefox, really if they can make a wysiwyg plugin for firefox, why couldn't they make a 500kb wordprocessor plugin and reuse the rest of firefox, like built in spellcheck etc. Really would be a no brainer for a skilled FF coder.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8232

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 09:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
Have you tried sinply turning Java off?
TOOLS>OPTIONS; expand "OpenOffice.org," click on Java and uncheck "Use a Java runtime environment."

ooo I always thought OO was a java applet rather than used for certain functions...Yer live and learn...I might try it now...java brings me out in an itchy rash.

@Cretsiah..I am well versed in the art of bodge and tart.

Ok back on topic.....
I had a mysterious crash saving files using firefox 1.5 and 2 when flash 9 is installed...only on older puppies. A revelation made me realise that it was the gtk2 file dialog causing the fit.....Firefox comes with its own file browser dialog....and when I switched to that the crash vanished..I did a small native celebration dance.

Now the built in dialog is also far less gloopy (1000 times faster apparently) and straightforward compared to the gtk thing...firefox 2 set ui.allow_platform_file_picker to false...done.
Firefox 1.5 needed this cludge but it works....
Quote:
You can change it back to the built-in filepicker by modifying the following in
nsFilePicker.js which is located in the app's components directory. After
making the change you have to re-register the components which is easily
accomplished by disabling then re-enabling an extension and then restarting.
Installing or un-installing an extension will also force a component
registration. #(sic or updating)
code:
compMgr.registerFactoryLocation(FILEPICKER_CID,
"FilePicker JS Component",
//@line 278 *snip*
"",
//@line 280 *snip*
fileSpec,
location,
type);

TO

Code:
compMgr.registerFactoryLocation(FILEPICKER_CID,
"FilePicker JS Component",
//@line 278 *snip*
FILEPICKER_CONTRACTID,
//@line 280 *snip*
fileSpec,
location,
type);


Now perhaps firepup could included this desirable option...(unless it has already then just point and laugh) This also applies to seamonkey and thunderbird

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maggotspawn

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 355
Location: Los Angeles, CA.

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 20:46    Post subject:  

Been a way from Puppy for a bit, thought I'd check in.
FirePup rules! Love it, thanks ttuuxxx.
Still have a problem uploading pics to Photobucket with it, but at least it doesn't crash the browser like Seamonkey used to.

_________________
www.agitprop666.com/PuppyLinux.html
www.agitprop666.com/PuppyLinux2.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wosifat

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 104
Location: Madison Heights, VA

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 00:41    Post subject:  

Been away. Still have that Facebook chat problem keeping from using Firepup fulltime. I've tried having the chat in another tab, but everytime I switch away from it, chat logs out.
Is there any way to have two tabs active (visible) simultaneously in Firefox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 01:01    Post subject:  

wosifat wrote:
Been away. Still have that Facebook chat problem keeping from using Firepup fulltime. I've tried having the chat in another tab, but everytime I switch away from it, chat logs out.
Is there any way to have two tabs active (visible) simultaneously in Firefox?

I never came across a situation like that, probably you could read up on making "User profiles" that way you could run 2 user accounts at once.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 378
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 23:29    Post subject: FirePup kills SeaMonkey in Puppy 4.1.2-retro  

Puppy 4.1.2-retro,
FirePup-0.04.3.1 with FirePup Theme

Installation of FirePup killed the SeaMonkey browser and the SeaMonkey Composer html editor, together with the Help menu. I thought this had been fixed in earlier versions of FirePup.

Is this is FirePup bug or a Puppy 4.1.2-retro bug or a SeaMonkey bug?

Is there a fix?

Wasn't this fixed in an earlier release of Firepup?

Will the Seamonkeyfix.pet still fix this problem?

_________________
Don -- Thailand


Last edited by don922 on Fri 29 May 2009, 09:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cretsiah

Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 02:23    Post subject: do i like firepup
Subject description: yup
 

I tried fire-pup today and i like it..

inside a vm though it runs as fast as my opera9.64..
they both beat the pants off sea monkey..

as for the Open Office thing, well given that i dont really use it much and when i do its only to open microsoft files anyway doesnt really bother me,
Just that i had seen people questioning the size/compatibility issues with microsoft.
my only real niggle with OO is that like microsoft office it has become bloated/slow with a normal setup configuration (OS type doesnt make a difference in that regard either)..

@ Subito Piano ... thanx about the turn off java option, im not real versed in all the configurations of OO so ill see what happens when i turn it off see if it runs faster..

For experimental purposes i might try to compile OO with and without the java and see if it makes any dramatic size differences.

Although i still have no idea what the java component is for in these office applications... java scripting? programming?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 378
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 07:43    Post subject:  Unanswered Questions  

The following post was caught between Facebook & Open Office discussions. It has been ignored; even though it is about the topic of the thread FirePup.

I'd like to get the answers................

Thank you in advance.

don922 wrote:
Puppy 4.1.2-retro,
FirePup-0.04.3.1 with FirePup Theme

Installation of FirePup killed the SeaMonkey browser and the SeaMonkey Composer html editor, together with the Help menu. I thought this had been fixed in earlier versions of FirePup.

Is this is FirePup bug or a Puppy 4.1.2-retro bug or a SeaMonkey bug?

Is there a fix?

Wasn't this fixed in an earlier release of Firepup?

Will the Seamonkeyfix.pet still fix this problem?

_________________
Don -- Thailand

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8232

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 08:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
The following post was caught between Facebook & Open Office discussions. It has been ignored; even though it is about the topic of the thread FirePup.

I believe ttuuxxx is doing about 12 things at the moment and trying to have a life as well...a little patience is always appreciated.
As for your problem does seamonkey still run from the command line..?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 378
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 09:11    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
{snip}
I believe ttuuxxx is doing about 12 things at the moment and trying to have a life as well...a little patience is always appreciated.
As for your problem does seamonkey still run from the command line..?

mike


I have been patient! I have been waiting for 5+ days and this thread was on the third page down. I believe that the likelyhood of it getting answered was nil.

If you think that this post is rushing things -- I must strongly disagree!

Seamonkey won't run using
#rxvt -e seamonkey

What command do you suggest?

_________________
Don -- Thailand


Last edited by don922 on Wed 03 Jun 2009, 12:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 09:42    Post subject:  

Just open a console and try mozstart
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 378
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 09:54    Post subject:  

@trapster, thanks for the command

Seamonkey won't start with mozstart

_________________
Don -- Thailand

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jun 2009, 12:28    Post subject:  

any messages in the console when trying mozstart?
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 15 [217 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1004s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]