Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 08:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Picasa 3.0 Beta
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 25 Apr 2009, 22:31    Post subject:  

jackieflorida wrote:
Quote:
The ultimate one (sfs) for me would be a Power Point Viewer. So far I have held back from installing all of the Pet packages to have one.


Do a search for Openoffice 3. It has a presentation program that can view power point slides and there are several good sfs files that work fine.

Good luck,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 27 Apr 2009, 06:19    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
When I run Picasa on Puppy 4.2 Full installation it really gives the CPU a hammering. Most of the time it is running at 100%. It works OK, although a bit slow.


it may be depending on your ram. another 'problem' might be, that it is no native linux-app, it is using wine to work in linux.

my experience over the years:

1. P III Laptop 256 mb ram (picasa with XP): snore...
2. P III Laptop 384 mb ram (picasa with XP/picasa with puppy): works ok, mass manipulation ...snore...
3. Dualcore 2 GB ram (picasa with XP/picasa with puppy): everything fine

Overall, it's a nice app but you only have fun with a recent machine. I'm using it as i share my laptop with my wife and she is using XP.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 00:06    Post subject:  

Hi Aragon

I tried the beta picassa SFS with Puppy 4.2.1RC
It did something unforgivable.
It made the Seamonkey browser inoperable Rolling Eyes
Downloaded Firefox - No run
Skipstone? - no run

What could have gone wrong? Crying or Very sad

I had to remove the numbering at the end of the sfs
(so it just said picassa.sfs) before I could load with boot manager
It may have been your server site
which was one of the most intrusive (for added pop ups)
that I have come across

So is Picassa worth it?
Not for me. I found it unintuitive, slow and bloated.
Fotoxx is smaller, simpler and works IMHO Smile

Sorry to bring such bad news Crying or Very sad

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 04:24    Post subject:  

hi lobster,

sorry to hear that.

mediafire may be bad but all of them are s*** in my eyes. but i can't host these large packages so there is actually no solution.

Your 4.2.1-problem: Shocked
the sfs is older than 4.2 and i've not tested it so far on it, but before there have not been any problems. i will give it a try later.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 05:55    Post subject:  

ok, short test:

1. 4.12 works ok
2. 4.20 didn't work. it did not crash anything for me, but it just don't work.

i will update first post.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 06:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
i will give it a try later.


Thanks aragon,

As you can imagine I am a little troubled by any SFS that can block a browser. Never experienced anything like that. How might it be doing that? Does Picassa connect to the web - it probably does? If you find out let us know.

I always thought of SFS as self contained
but I must admit I do not fully understand what they potentially might do Smile

Contact Eric (Caneri) - one of our back room supporters
http://www.puppylinux.ca/
or Raffy about hosting at Puppy powered sites Smile

I appreciate the ease of use of these upload sites
but they tried to turn me into a gambler (rob you blind pop ups)
Hey I have sufficient vices - thank you Rolling Eyes

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 06:21    Post subject:  

"but they tried to turn me into a gambler (rob you blind pop ups) "

Adblock for Firefox works well.

WINE is marvellous if there are no alternatives for a Windows application, but in this case there are many Linux applications that do basically the same.

I am not sure if packaging software that needs WINE as a back end as a .pet or .sfs is a good idea. Such software should be sourced and installed using WINE IMHO.

Having WINE itself as a .pet is a good idea, but any application that uses WINE should not. WINE has it's own community, it's own forums; People wishing to use WINE compatible software would be best served by them I believe.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 12:43    Post subject:  

Ran it in 4.2 after changing the name to *420.sfs. Loaded and ran OK, except no menu entry and no desktop icon. Also issued a warning at startup that my timezone in Puppy (minus eight) might result in problems with non-english text?

I have a bunch of memory, so that was not a problem. Also my Seamonkey files are stored on a separate partition, so there was no danger of wiping them out.

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2009, 05:54    Post subject:  

@ ravensrest
thanks for the info. tried it on my work-pc with 512 mb. will test it at home with 2gb.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
firak

Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri 25 Sep 2009, 13:58    Post subject: thaks
Subject description: great!
 

thaks aragn - it works great - also on my eepc701 wt puppy 4.1 on it.
simpply amazing how fast is puppy and how fast puppy devolopers make sfs s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 05:33    Post subject:  

I'm running picasa3.sfs Beta on Lupu 5.1 and I must say it works well and very fast on my PC. See signature for specs.

I am running a frugal install which I prefer and although picasa is installed as a SFS in boot manager it places all of the thumbnails inside the lupusave file.

Is there some way to place the DB3 directory with all the thumbnail data outside the lupusave file?

I have a lot of photos and the DB3 directory is about 1.1G.

I could solve the problem by doing a full install but that is not my preference.

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 17:51    Post subject:  

Surely someone else has this same issue.

I have 56G of photos and the thumbnails now total 1.5G.

Would it be possible to place the DB3 directory outside of the save file and do a relative link to it?

If so how?

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 05:42    Post subject: Picasa3
Subject description: Thumbnail problem fixed
 

To solve the problem with the picasa thumbnails using up all of my save file (frugal install) this is what I did:

Copy the DB3 directory and contents to /mnt/home
Do a relative link from /mnt/home/DB3 back to where the original DB3 folder came from.

This just gave me back 2G in my save file.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0621s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]