Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 12:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
1.0.6 to hd problem: won't install GRUB
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 14:20    Post_subject:  1.0.6 to hd problem: won't install GRUB  

Tried to put Puppy 1.0.6 to hard drive. Everything went fine until Grub was to install itself on the MBR. It seemed to go out to do the install, but never came back and did not effect the MBR. Nothing serious happened and Puppy continued to work fine from the cd boot, but Grub was never installed on the MBR. Tried this process several times with same result.
Is this a bug or just a problem I have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 17:08    Post_subject:  

Has anyone done a hd install of 1.0.6 with grub on the mbr?
Any problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 18:07    Post_subject:  

EarlSmith wrote:
Has anyone done a hd install of 1.0.6 with grub on the mbr?
Any problems?


I always installed to mbr, no problems.
...only did it a couple of versions back though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
brad_chuck

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Appalachian Mountains

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 00:28    Post_subject: This could help?  

I think this is a bug but I don't know?

Anyway this is how I work around it..

When I install GRUB on my computer it tells me that it is installing to the MBR of hda but it really installs to hdb. This causes GRUB to fail.

What I do it when it asks if there are any other hard drives to install and tells me that it is already installed in /dev/hda I go ahead at tell it /dev/hda anyway and it fixes the problem.

Hope this helped?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0445s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0027s) ][ GZIP on ]