Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 10:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
1.0.6 final bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 18:34    Post subject:  1.0.6 final bugs  

these wrappers use $@ to pass parameters, so if there are spaces in the PATH to the file(s) passed as parameters, it won't work

defaultcalendar
defaultcontact
defaultemail
defaulthtmleditor
defaulttexteditor
defaultwordprocessor

for example, if you click readme.txt in /mnt/home/My Documents, nothing will happen

of course, changing $@ to "$@" fixes the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 19:47    Post subject:  

Thanks, will fix.

...no, I just checked.
they already have quotes around the $@.
This must be an upgrade problem, the new ones not overwriting the old ones.

Last edited by BarryK on Tue 08 Nov 2005, 19:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 19:50    Post subject:  

i could put a bugfix in SP106
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 19:52    Post subject:  

burniso2cd has the same problem, parameters are passed using $@
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 19:58    Post subject:  

Quote:
they already have quotes around the $@.


I take that back. I put quotes in the original files, but not in all cases in the
post-install scripts, pinstall.sh, in each unleashed package.
Okay, I'll go through the packages now, find the culprits, also burniso2cd.

...so, looks like a candidate for the service pack.

Note, some of them, like defaultpaint, should have the quotes, do for me anyway, as they were not overridden by any pinstall.sh script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 20:29    Post subject:  

Pmount shows completely wrong values on my system.
The old one worked ok.

It does not display all drives, and it says every drive is 1984 M in size.

I just wanted to submit a screenshot with MUT (works mostly correct) for comparison, but MUT does not start with the KDE-usr_more.sfs

I will add one later.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 21:56    Post subject:  

http://noforum.de/pics/pmountbug.jpg

Please tell me what you need for additional info.
MUT does not display hda10, but that is since Pupy 104.

Maybe my corrupt partitiontable confuses it, but the old version worked ok.
This is what I get on the commandline:
# pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 36: 11166 Terminated xmessage -bg "#ff00ff" -title "Puppy drive mounter" -center -buttons "" "Please wait for the usb-storage driver to load...

Note: A USB1 interface takes longer to initialise than a USB2 interface,
in the former case up to 25 seconds, in the latter about 4 seconds.
If a plugged-in USB drive does not show up in the next window, click
the REFRESH button to probe the hardware again."
Warning: ignoring extra data in partition table 9
Warning: extra link pointer in partition table 9


Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 01:07    Post subject:  

i put a fix for the default-wrappers-spaces bug in my SP106 package

i uploaded an (experimental) pmount bugfix dotpup-package here
if it seems to work ok, i could add it to SP106

it only fixes the incorrect size information bug ... it does not fix problems with non-standard/corrupt partition tables

i don't think pmount tries to show you every partition you might have on your drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 01:31    Post subject:  

yes, that fixes the size Smile
Thank you, G2 Smile

> i don't think pmount tries to show you every partition you might have on your drive

Hm, but the old version in Puppy 105 did.
So is it intended not to display all, or is it a bug?
i would prefer to see all.
It is not that important, as there is MUT, but I thought I better let you know.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 02:30    Post subject:  

partview does not display the used and free sizes ... it displays 1/2 the values

i don't know if this is a bug or an intentional feature

anyway, i uploaded a hacked version that displays the true values, here

i could put it in SP106 if it actually is a bug, and if my bugfix seems to work ok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noip

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 19:07    Post subject:  

HD Install / MUT bug

MUT
MUT will not recognize /dev/hdb10 (I notice above that it will not recognize /dev/hda10 either). Pmount does.

HD Install
Sadly, I chose to install Puppy to /dev/hdb10. The HD install script will not recognize /dev/hdb10 and fails. HOWEVER, if you use the "install-hd2.sh" script that was introduced as a bug-fix in 1.0.5 then everything is OK.

Rgds

GS

"vp&ftgs"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 20:48    Post subject:  

noip wrote:
HD Install
Sadly, I chose to install Puppy to /dev/hdb10. The HD install script will not recognize /dev/hdb10 and fails. HOWEVER, if you use the "install-hd2.sh" script that was introduced as a bug-fix in 1.0.5 then everything is OK.


You mean, the install-hd2.sh in 1.0.6 is not work, but the bugfix one will?
...hmmm, that's odd. Do you have the bugfix one handy and can post it,
I'll need to compare the two, see what I neglected to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 20:51    Post subject: no go  

I installed puppy to it's own partition with no problems.
_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 03:01    Post subject:  

rpm2cpio is still broken

my unrpm dotpup still works ok

# ldd -d `which rpm2cpio` | grep not

libbz2.so.1.0 => not found
librpm-4.2.so => not found
librpmdb-4.2.so => not found
librpmio-4.2.so => not found

libbz2.so.1.0 just needs to be symlinked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 03:08    Post subject:  

Barry,

Here's the script I'd kept from 1.0.5. I tried the HD install script in 1.0.6 twice, and it failed both times when it couldn't recognize /dev/hdb10. However, trying the script that I'd downloaded for 1.0.5 to allow it to install worked like a charm first time.

Not sure why, since I thought the CD one would work ....

Rgds

GS

vp&ftgs
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0802s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]