What database software can we use in Puppy?

Business software, financial software, etc.
Message
Author
charleshdw
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 02:44

What database software can we use in Puppy?

#1 Post by charleshdw »

Me and my friend want to make accounting software in puppy linux base, but we doesn't know what database we can use and how to combine it with C++.
thank's for your help.

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#2 Post by DaveS »

You can use Open Office Base, which is a very competent app. I built my own accounts program using it, which I use to run my business, but it is big and complex to learn, and is 'end user' rather than compiled. It needs Java installed.
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

#3 Post by WhoDo »

...OR ... you can use Portabase or install the Koffice sfs and use Kexi.

Hope that helps
[i]Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't![/i]
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com

loganz
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu 13 Nov 2008, 22:38

#4 Post by loganz »

Hi,
I noticed the other day that puppy has sqlite installed in it.

If you go to a terminal and type:

sqlite3 mydatabase.db

it creates a new database and you can type any normal sql statements in and it will happly create tables, insert values, update values, run selects.

I believe that sqlite has loads of bindings for all kinds of languages.

I hope this helps.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#5 Post by Lobster »

Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#6 Post by hillside »

sqlite is actually quite powerful. It has c/c++ bindings. It can also work with php or tcl/tk, although I don't know if the version in Puppy is the complete version. It's definitely not the most up to date version, but it's current enough to be very useful.

http://www.sqlite.org/

muggins
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 10:44
Location: hobart

#7 Post by muggins »

The newest release of the sqlite frontend, tkqlite-0.5.7, was released on 17/11/2008. The linked binary is standalone, and doesn't require any additional tcl/tk libraries.

jamesanderson
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 15:25

What database software we can use.

#8 Post by jamesanderson »

he organization shown above suggests that each character instance image is storage in a separate file. In fact, the physical organization of the database is quite different. Typical database queries at CEDAR, such as a classifier training job, rapidly access a large number of characters. Were each character stored in a separate file, the retrieval overhead would be impractically high. Instead, all images for a particular JIS code are stored in a single file. Software simulates the logical organization shown above.http://www.virtualizationteam.com/virtu ... sx-40.html

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#9 Post by Flash »

OpenOffice includes a database program, called Base if I remember right. I tried tinkering with it several years ago but, never having used a database program before, couldn't figure it out so I gave up. It wasn't exactly intuitive. :lol:

muggins
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 10:44
Location: hobart

#10 Post by muggins »

A new release of sqlitestudio is available.

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#11 Post by ttuuxxx »

muggins wrote:A new release of sqlitestudio is available.
Just run the bin file, first right click it, then select permissions, and select a+x (Make executable/searchable) click, Quiet then ok and thats it, it will run. any problems with that, I'll make a package or maybe muggins for you. :)
http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/free/s ... -1.1.0.bin
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#12 Post by hillside »

Let me start off by saying I'm not any kind of database guru, but I have worked at least some with Access, Open Office Base, Sequel, and a few others, so I have a smattering of fairly shallow experience.

After only the most basic testing -- Sqlitestudio is great.
1. It helps me build tables very quickly.
2. Entering data is easy, although I wish the tab key would move me to the next field instead of entering an actual tab.
3. The only problem I have run into so far, is that the sql results won't export. I get a big list of errors that I haven't dissected yet. I'd like to get my results to a comma delimited list to merge with my documents, but so far no dice.

I'll keep working as time permits.

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#13 Post by ttuuxxx »

hillside wrote:Let me start off by saying I'm not any kind of database guru, but I have worked at least some with Access, Open Office Base, Sequel, and a few others, so I have a smattering of fairly shallow experience.

After only the most basic testing -- Sqlitestudio is great.
1. It helps me build tables very quickly.
2. Entering data is easy, although I wish the tab key would move me to the next field instead of entering an actual tab.
3. The only problem I have run into so far, is that the sql results won't export. I get a big list of errors that I haven't dissected yet. I'd like to get my results to a comma delimited list to merge with my documents, but so far no dice.

I'll keep working as time permits.
maybe next time post the errors here? And we'll see if we can help you out some :)
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#14 Post by hillside »

maybe next time post the errors here? And we'll see if we can help you out some
Well, I guess if you insist. :)

I was going to spend some more time on this myself before posting anything detailed here, but more eyes, and brains, are usually better.

I was able to build a table, enter data, and run a simple SQL query successfully. Everything seems to work about as expected. The query returns exactly the data that I had expected it to. But, when I try to export the results of my query, I get errors. Usually the file that the exported info is to go into is created, but it's empty.

The table and SQL are extremely basic. I was only doing this as an initial test. I don't think I have any problems with how they are created. Plus, they seem to work very well until I try to export.

The export error info is as follows:

Code: Select all

invalid command name ""
    while executing
"$db eval $query R {
					set cols $R(*)
					set row [list]
					foreach c $R(*) {
						lappend row $R($c)
					}
					lappend data $row
				}"
    ("results" arm line 8)
    invoked from within
"switch -- $type {
			"database" {
				switch -- [$res get format] {
					"SQL" {
						set ret [exportDatabaseAsSQL $db $dbonly [$res get sql:null]]
	..."
    while executing
"error $::errorInfo"
    invoked from within
"if {$catchCode} {
			error $::errorInfo
		}"
    ("uplevel" body line 98)
    invoked from within
"uplevel 2 "
		set catchCode 0
		if {\[catch {
			$body1
		} error]} {
			set catchCode [catch {$body2}]
		}
		$body2
		if {\$catchCode} {
			error \$:..."
    (procedure "_tryfinally" line 2)
    invoked from within
"_tryfinally [lindex $args 0] [lindex $args 2]"
    (procedure "try" line 7)
    invoked from within
"try {
		switch -- $type {
			"database" {
				switch -- [$res get format] {
					"SQL" {
						set ret [exportDatabaseAsSQL $db $dbonly [$res get sql:..."
    (procedure "::MainExport::parseExportDialogResults" body line 16)
    invoked from within
"MainExport::parseExportDialogResults $ret results"
    ("results" arm line 2)
    invoked from within
"switch -- $_type {
		"database" {
			set res [MainExport::parseExportDialogResults $ret database]
		}
		"table" {
			set res [MainExport::parseExportD..."
    (object "::.resultsExportDialog" method "::ExportDialog::okClicked" body line 76)
    invoked from within
"okClicked"
    ("default" arm line 3)
    invoked from within
"switch -- $bt {
		"cancel" {
			set retval [cancelClicked]
		}
		default {
			set okBtn 1
			set retval [okClicked]
		}
	}"
    (object "::.resultsExportDialog" method "::Modal::clicked" body line 3)
    invoked from within
"::.resultsExportDialog clicked ok"
    invoked from within
".resultsExportDialog.f.btn.export invoke "
    invoked from within
".resultsExportDialog.f.btn.export instate {pressed !disabled} { .resultsExportDialog.f.btn.export state !pressed; .resultsExportDialog.f.btn.export in..."
    (command bound to event)

muggins
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 10:44
Location: hobart

#15 Post by muggins »

@Hillside,

unfortunately I know little about sql, so can't help you there. But I wonder whether you've tried exporting your table with either sqlite-manager, which can be used as a firefox/seamonkey plugin, or with tksqlite

User avatar
hillside
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 18:59
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

#16 Post by hillside »

Thanks for the tips, Muggins.

Both of those options look like they will require some serious
upgrading to my old and feeble system, so I may pass on them for
now.

I've been using OObase and don't really need a new database
system, but I feel that database management for the desktop is a
weak area in Linux and was excited to see a new potential solution.
I actually can make it work by doing some cutting and pasting
instead of using the export function, but full functionality is what I'm
hoping for. I can also just use sqlite from the command line, but I
think a more graphical tool is what is really needed.

I think sqlitestudio has a lot of potential and am looking forward to
the next version that comes out. It's close to being a tool for the
masses.

muggins
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 10:44
Location: hobart

#17 Post by muggins »

AFAIK neither should require any upgrade. Tksqlite, while being tcl/tk based, comes in a completely self-contained, ready to run, executable. If it doesn't have the functionality you require, just delete the one file.

Whereas sqlitemanager you can just download the .xpi file, open it with firefox, or seamonkey, and install it as a plugin. Maybe one problem with doing this with seamonkey is that if you don't like the app, it's not as easy to uninstall as with firefox.

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#18 Post by aragon »

@hillside

next version (1.1.1) of sqlitestudio is out.
http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/index.rvt?act=download

cheers
aragon

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#19 Post by googie »

Hi, I'm SQLiteStudio developer.

Please report bugs to to sqlitestudio bug track system ( http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/index.rvt?act=bug ). You don't have to report this bug above, since I've read it here :)

I didn't met this error before, so I didn't fix it in 1.1.1. I'll fix it in version 1.1.2.

Please tell me a detail:
Did you execute SQL query, then disconnect from database file, then tried to export data? I need to know if you closed database before exporting. It might be reason (which I should fix).

googie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 10:01

#20 Post by googie »

Ok, I think I found source of problem and I solved it.
If anybody is interested, please monitor SQLiteStudio homepage for version 1.1.2 (I hope to release it in 2-3 weeks, or something about it) and try out if error described few posts above is really solved or not.

Post Reply