Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 17:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
VisiHex -- GTK hexidecimal/ascii fileviewer in development
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
MikeLockmoore

PostPosted: Tue 02 Dec 2008, 00:24    Post subject:  VisiHex -- GTK hexidecimal/ascii fileviewer in development
Subject description: Help me get this Alpha (no... Beta!) version ready for wider use!

Hello folks. Mike Lockmoore is my forum name. I am a long-time software developer and designer, previously working mostly in Windows and some embedded systems, lately working mostly in embedded Linux. I like to use Puppy at home, and recently I decided to port my Win32 hexadecimal file viewer to GTK so it can be used in Puppy.

This current version is only 35K, but has some neat features like searching through a file for a text or hex data pattern with highlighting. I think it's very fast at file opening and scrolling. The current Alpha version (0.9.4)does have some limitations, like it does not increase the number of visible data lines even if you enlarge the application window, but I plan to add that soon. See the screen shot below to get a basic picture of what it does. It was compiled for Puppy 4.1.0, but an earlier version seemed to run OK on Fedora 7, so I think it should be fairly compatible with many Puppy versions that support GTK 2.x.