Page 1 of 1

iNES 3.0 emulator

Posted: Mon 08 Dec 2008, 07:07
by dejan555
Very fast and lightweight NES emulator here:

EDIT: Scroll down for download

Posted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 13:30
by dejan555
Any feedback:?: If you can't download it try right click -> Save link as...
Rom files can be in .nes format or gziped. Zips are not supported, so if you can't run a game try extracting it.

Posted: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 11:27
by dejan555
Due to reported problems downloading from my site, here's an attachment:

Posted: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 13:46
by _MegadetH_
i've installed it, but games run very slow compared to another emulator i tried fce. Another problem is it seems impossible to remove ines from petget manager. :(

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 10:16
by Ren
I am new to linux and this is the first NES emulator I have tried. It does seem to be a little slow, but I am only on a 500mHz computer. When I resize the window and make it a little smaller, it doesn't seem to be all that bad. I do get to play some of the ols NES games though.

Thanks man.

Posted: Sat 17 Jan 2009, 13:17
by dejan555
Try running it from command line e.g.

Code: Select all

ines "/path/to/rom/name of the rom.gz"
It ran too fast on my system, so I configured command line options to slow it down. Also do you have opengl, DRI package installed?
DRI package for puppy 4
It's the fastest NES emulator I've tried.
Noticed that petget doesn't erase menu icon, but DOES remove the program.

Posted: Sat 17 Jan 2009, 17:36
by ttuuxxx
You also might want to try to compile http://jturner.tapetrade.net/sharpnes/
it uses sdl and Gtk only
That would be great if it worked, GL on puppy 4.0 is a pain and SDL is far more easier and lighter.
If it wasn't so late (4:37am) I would give it a shot, maybe tomorrow, unless someone beats me to it:)
ttuuxxx

Posted: Sun 18 Jan 2009, 12:48
by dejan555
I'll try, thanks, but I think ines doesn't need neither of those, I even ran it on QEMU test distro that only has minimal stuff for X

Posted: Mon 19 Jan 2009, 20:24
by dejan555
You also might want to try to compile http://jturner.tapetrade.net/sharpnes/
Sorry, it's out of my knowledge, theres no config file, and I still don't know how to make one myself, I'd like to try it too. I'll try finding some i386 precompiled packages.

Posted: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 02:54
by Ren
dejan555 wrote:Try running it from command line e.g.

Code: Select all

ines "/path/to/rom/name of the rom.gz"
It ran too fast on my system, so I configured command line options to slow it down. Also do you have opengl, DRI package installed?
DRI package for puppy 4
It's the fastest NES emulator I've tried.
Noticed that petget doesn't erase menu icon, but DOES remove the program.
I tried it on my faster computer and it runs much better. It is better then any windows based emulators I have tried.

Do you know what key is for the select button? I have the rest figured out but I haven't figured that one out yet.

Posted: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 06:19
by dejan555

Posted: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 10:49
by _MegadetH_
dejan555 wrote:Try running it from command line e.g.

Code: Select all

ines "/path/to/rom/name of the rom.gz"
It ran too fast on my system, so I configured command line options to slow it down. Also do you have opengl, DRI package installed?
DRI package for puppy 4
It's the fastest NES emulator I've tried.
Noticed that petget doesn't erase menu icon, but DOES remove the program.
yes I'd DRI installed. I haven't tried that command, because I deleted Ines before your answer and I installed FCE emulator which runs well on my old computer. I had some problem removing Ines with petget manager so I'd to remove manually. thanks for reply.

Posted: Sun 01 Feb 2009, 22:10
by dejan555
Repackaged, now it should uninstall from petget and ines is now in executable path so u can run it from terminal

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 02:20
by KentC
Im using Puppy Linux 4.3.1 and it runs very fast in a small window. What are the command line options?

I'd like to slow it down so I can play it. I can only resize the window to drag it's speed some.





Kent C.

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 08:04
by dejan555
I wouldn't know from the top of my head now since I haven't used it much but I remember when ran from menu that I added script to choose rom and added some options for resizing window and slowing down.

Do try typing "ines --help" in terminal and see yourself

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 08:49
by Makoto
Actually, you posted the link to the documentation back in 2009 (above). :D

http://fms.komkon.org/iNES/iNES.html#LABH
It lists both the key commands and the command-line switches.

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 12:46
by dejan555
Riiiiight, thanks!

Posted: Sat 30 Nov 2013, 16:46
by KentC
Just to confirm, when you type

ines --help in terminal just flashes screen and tries to load .nes file

ines -help worked though.

I'm still having issues doing the frames so it plays right, any suggestions?

Thank you for the help file and support!

EDIT:

I was able to use the help file from terminal to see possible keys, I tinkered alot and got it usable. I want o know if this will work with controller for pc? Also, I don't have any sound and the frames are only playable when pc is slow haha. I have sound on the overall machine but none on emulator.

Just wanted to put that info out there.

Kent C.

Posted: Wed 07 Oct 2015, 22:31
by wert
Piece of nonesense! It doesn't work. You load a nes game in terminal and the screen is black. What a waste of time. The following pile of stool is what it shows:

Code: Select all

Allocating 64kB for CPU address space...OK
Allocating 16kB for Video address space...OK
Opening /Games/nes roms/1.nes...OK
  32x16kB ROM pages...OK
  32x8kB VROM pages...OK
  Vertical Mirroring
  Memory Mapper #90
Initializing Hardware and CPU:
  114 CPU cycles per HBlank
  29829 CPU cycles per VBlank
  262 scanlines
  NTSC Video
RUNNING ROM CODE...

Posted: Fri 09 Oct 2015, 20:08
by wert
wert wrote:Piece of nonesense! It doesn't work. You load a nes game in terminal and the screen is black. What a waste of time. The following pile of stool is what it shows:

Code: Select all

Allocating 64kB for CPU address space...OK
Allocating 16kB for Video address space...OK
Opening /Games/nes roms/1.nes...OK
  32x16kB ROM pages...OK
  32x8kB VROM pages...OK
  Vertical Mirroring
  Memory Mapper #90
Initializing Hardware and CPU:
  114 CPU cycles per HBlank
  29829 CPU cycles per VBlank
  262 scanlines
  NTSC Video
RUNNING ROM CODE...
Problem was the nes game that I was trying to play. I downloaded a different nes game and it worked. Only problem is it doesn't play fullscreen. Thanks