Install WordPerfect for Unix in Puppy?

What features/apps/bugfixes needed in a future Puppy
rgershey

Install WordPerfect for Unix in Puppy?

#1 Post by rgershey »

I am new to Linux and am very impressed with Puppy! On the first day I realized that I could do about 80% of what I need to do with Puppy rather than Windows (YAY!). I would love to include the other 20% as well. A lot of that last 20% involves using a large number of Wordperfect documents (I've totally avoided MS Word for all these many years).

How hard would it be to install one of the existing WordPerfect for Unix packages that seem to available on the Web? I downloaded one, and extracted the files. The installer script creates some directories, but doesn't seem to be able to sort out the files and put them in their proper places.

You are probably laughing right now. As I said I'm new to Unix so I suspect that my naive attempt to run the installer and expect it to work was foolish.

Anyway, would it be possible to install WP/Unix in Puppy or is this a vain hope?

#2 Post by Guest »

It would be possible but you need to know where all the files go and what libraries are required. The libraries are probable old ones and you might have to install them yourself.

You need the source code for the installer to see what is required and there is not guarantee that it will not affect the present setup, unless you really need Word Perfect you would be better off using Abiword or Open Office.

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#3 Post by Flash »

Look here, under Word Processors.

MU

#4 Post by MU »

Open Office 2 imports Wordperect.
Abiword would need an additional plugin.

http://www.abisource.com/twiki/bin/view ... uginMatrix
http://rpmseek.com/rpm/abiword-plugin-w ... 5913:0:0:0
http://www.faqs.org/contrib/wordperfect ... adwp8.html

I don't know if the RPM will work in Puppy.

Getting Wordperect running will not be impossible, but it will be not easy, as this is a quite old binary without source.

Mark