Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 04:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
MediaPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 06:00    Post_subject:  

enhu your grub entry should read

# Other bootable partition config begins
title mediapup Frugal-ext3 (on /dev/sda3)
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,2)/media/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda3 psubdir=media
initrd (hd0,2)/media/initrd.gz
# Other bootable partition config ends

sda3 = hd0,2

And yes, it's just those 3 files you need to copy. The pupsave file will be generated by you upon shutdown or reboot once you are at the mediapup desktop for the first time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 07:19    Post_subject:  

thanks.

it now works when booting but after loading the kernel and accessing the drives..but it once again prompt an error saying pup_412.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console

i tried renaming pup_412rMedia10a.sfs to pup_412.sfs but still it didn't work.
is there something else i should do?

Code:

#/bin/sh:
#

i end up with the terminal. please tell me what to write in the commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 07:56    Post_subject:  

This is getting complicated Laughing

Okay, let's try this. From 431 go to menu.lst and add to the kernel line behind psubdir=media

a space and then this

SFSFILE=ext3,sda3,/media/exactnameofyourpupinmedia.sfs

To explain:

ext3 stands for the file system on your sda3. If that is not ext3, then change it to the one you have.

exactnameofyourpupinmedia stands for the exact file name of the sfs file in the subdirectory media. Be it
pup_412rMedia10a.sfs
or be it
pup_412.sfs

It must be exactly the same at both places.

Hope this gets you rolling.
Remember, once you start mediapup for the first time, it requires you to go through the xorgwizard procedure. But just that once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1488
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 11:10    Post_subject:  

Hi

Hope you don't mind me butting in.

wuwei wrote:
enhu your grub entry should read

# Other bootable partition config begins
title mediapup Frugal-ext3 (on /dev/sda3)
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,2)/media/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda3 psubdir=media
initrd (hd0,2)/media/initrd.gz
# Other bootable partition config ends


Not quite,
Here is a snippet from the first post of this thread:
vtpup wrote:

Please make sure you can run Puppy 412retro on your computer before trying this MediaPup alpha.

The operative word there being retro

So i reckon the grub entry should be something like thus:
Code:

# Other bootable partition config begins
  title mediapup Frugal-ext3 (on /dev/sda3)
  rootnoverify (hd0,2)
  kernel (hd0,2)/media/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=hda3 psubdir=media
  initrd (hd0,2)/media/initrd.gz
# Other bootable partition config ends

Notice the hda3 instead of sda3
i did not change the sda3 in the title line as it does not affect booting (you could change it if you like though)

Hope this helps
CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 12:16    Post_subject:  

i've tried your solution catdude and still the error
Code:
pup_412.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console
appear and discontinue the boot.

ican't find where to download the puppy421retro. i'm thiking maybe i should try it first.

Code:

# Linux bootable partition config begins
  title Linux (on /dev/sda2)
  root (hd0,1)
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro vga=normal
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Other bootable partition config begins
  title mediapup Frugal-ext3 (on /dev/sda3)
  rootnoverify (hd0,2)
  kernel (hd0,2)/media/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda3 SFSFILE=ext3,sda3,/media/pup_412rMedia10a.sfs psubdir=media
  initrd (hd0,2)/media/initrd.gz
# Other bootable partition config ends
this code also give the same error pup_412.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console

thanks for helping out. what else can i try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1488
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 15:15    Post_subject:  

Hello enhu

I just downloaded: MediaPup1-0a.iso
md5sum: 34584d1dc22c610db645e2a8139cc927

Clicked on the ISO to get the files: initrd.gz, pup_412rMedia10a.sfs and vmlinuz
which i copied into the directory: /media on partition hda7 ( see image files-in-media-directory.png )

I then add the following to my menu.lst
Code:

# Linux bootable partition config begins
  title Mediapup  (Frugal) at hda7
  rootnoverify (hd0,6)
  kernel /media/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd acpi=force vga=normal pdev1=hda7 psubdir=media
  initrd /media/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends

You probably do not need to use the acpi=force, i do so that Puppy shuts down correctly.

Next i rebooted and selected to boot hda7
Note:
I added pfix=ram onto the end of the kernel line above (as i have a shed load of pup_save files on my drives)
the GRUB that i use allows me to just type this onto the end, you may find it easier to just add it to your menu.lst
just remember to remove it after successfully booting into Mediapup and before rebooting into it.

Using that entry in the menu.lst i had no trouble booting Mediapup.
Please note that the drive is seen as hda and NOT sda,
we are dealing with a retro puppy here.

Hope this helps
CatDude
.
files-in-media-directory.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.99 KB
 Viewed   1460 Time(s)

files-in-media-directory.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 01:17    Post_subject:  

still no progress catdude.

i probably need acpi config as i'm receiving error such as : /bin/sh: Can’t access tty; job control turned off.

this is the whole error:
Code:

pup_412.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console
: /bin/sh: Can’t access tty; job control turned off.


i've tried following this solution i found yet no result.
Quote:
1. Boot your computer so that GRUB is displayed.
2. Press the "e" key to go into edit mode.
3. Press "o" to add a new line to the script.
4. Type the following: acpi=off irqpoll
5. Press the Escape key.

In the event that acpi=off doesn't work try replacing the entry above with one of the following:

* acpi=force irqpoll
* nacpitimer irqpoll


does this have anything to do with my specs?
this is an old computer anyway, Pentium III , 512ram, 800MHz etc Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1488
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 07:45    Post_subject:  

Hello enhu

If you want to try with a copy of 412retro
you can get a copy here:
puppy-4.1.2retro-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso
puppy-4.1.2retro-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso.md5.txt

If you would be so kind, could you please give a bit more information about your hard drive, partitions (sizes and format)
we are dealing with an internal hard drive here, aren't we ?

I also noticed that in this post of yours further up this page
you are still using sda and not hda on the kernel line in your grub menu.lst entry Rolling Eyes
it has got to be hda Laughing

CatDude
.

EDIT:
To understand why it needs to be hda take a look at the attached image,
it is a screenshot of my drives as seen by pmount in Mediapup. Wink

Also, if i change the hda7 on the kernel line of the menu.lst entry i posted 2 posts up
to sda7, then i get the exact same error you are getting.
mediapup.png
 Description   
 Filesize   103.84 KB
 Viewed   1409 Time(s)

mediapup.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 12:23    Post_subject:  

CatDude,

you are right about hda vs. sda. I just copied from my system, but enhu's is much older. And that seems to be the entire problem.

There is a post here to a similar problem...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22255

So if I take that and enhu's setup into consideration, you (enhu) need to move the three files out of the subdirectory media to root of partition hda3. There is nothing else on hda3 then the mediapup files, right? Your 431 is on hda2, correct?

Then change menu.lst to read...

Code:
# Other bootable partition config begins
title mediapup  (on /dev/hda3)
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,2) vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd
initrd (hd0,2) initrd.gz
# Other bootable partition config ends


If I am not mistaken (again Embarassed ) that should work.

BTW CatDude...you've got one impressive setup there, wow!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 14:24    Post_subject:  

I am not sure how to write this. My english fail to find the proper nice and friendly tone so don't get me wrong. This is no criticism at all.

Just what I did experience and not judgement at all.

I had hoped this to be an out of the box puppy.

But it fail to run the mp4 file. that other distros does play.

Streaming videos from svt.se that puppy startdust play this mediapup does not play.

it does not play this one either
http://www.apple.com/trailers/fox/avatar/trailersmall.html

Remember this is not criticism, just what did happen.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 278
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 15:53    Post_subject:  

I just tried this puppy out and mine does play MP4's in Mplayer and Xine. They wouldn't import into several of the other programs though.

I like Mediapup so far.

If I wanted to add Icewm, which one should I use?

Also, I want to change the background of Rox filer windows but i can't seem to find the right place. I have easily changed it in other puppies. Is it even possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb 2010, 05:39    Post_subject:  

i tried every possible combination but still didn't work. Very Happy

here's my cpuinfo

Code:

processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 8
model name   : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping   : 6
cpu MHz      : 797.408
cache size   : 256 KB
fdiv_bug   : no
hlt_bug      : no
f00f_bug   : no
coma_bug   : no
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 2
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 mmx fxsr sse up
bogomips   : 1594.81
clflush size   : 32
power management:


attached is my drives.
any suggestions please. Very Happy
snap.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.09 KB
 Viewed   1334 Time(s)

snap.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb 2010, 10:50    Post_subject:  

enhu

at this point there are so many variables, that it is very hard to analyse them from here.

I found out myself that to install Puppy without CD one needs to be VERY precise.
These posts had been helpful to me:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=262324
http://pupweb.org/wikka/BootParms?show_comments=1
http://www.puppylinux.org/main/index.php?file=Manual-English05.txt
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46107

You need to play with a lot of variables. Your picture snap.png is probably from Puppy 431, hence the sda, sdb. It is most likely that mediapup with kernel 2.6.21 requires hda and hdb. But I am not sure. So try both, successively.
I don't have mediapup installed, but I have a grub entry for muppy008.4, which also has kernel 2.6.21.7. Here it is
Code:
# Linux bootable partition config begins
  #title Muppy 084  Frugal-ext3 (on /dev/hdb6)
  #rootnoverify (hd1,5)/muppy
  #kernel (hd1,5)/muppy/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=hdb6 PUPMODE=12 SFSFILE=ext3,hdb6,/muppy/msy_084.sfs ZDRV=ext3,hdb6,/muppy/zmsy_084.sfs PUPSAVE=ext3,hdb6,/214/msy_save-084.2fs
  #initrd (hd1,5)/muppy/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends


You might be able to play with it and adjust it to your setup. Check if mediapup has a z.....sfs file. It must also be on the partition and in grub. See my code! And all lines but the first and last need to be without #.

Much success.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1488
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb 2010, 12:17    Post_subject:  

Hello enhu

Do not take this the wrong way, but i really do not know why you are having so much trouble.

Did you check the md5sum 34584d1dc22c610db645e2a8139cc927
of the ISO after downloading it ?

I have got a Toshiba Portege 7010CT sitting here, that is considerably lower spec than your machine

    CPU = Pentium II 300 MHz
    RAM = 160 MB

and i have successfully installed Mediapup onto it, without any trouble at all.

In fact both of the following menu.lst entries will successfully boot it up.
Code:

# Linux bootable partition config begins
  title Mediapup Frugal (on /dev/hda5)
  root (hd0,4)
  kernel /media/vmlinuz psubdir=media pdev1=hda5 vga=normal acpi=force
  initrd /media/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends

or
Code:

# Linux bootable partition config begins
  title Mediapup Frugal (on /dev/hda5)
  rootnoverify (hd0,4)
  kernel /media/vmlinuz psubdir=media pdev1=hda5 vga=normal acpi=force
  initrd /media/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends

The latter one is what i would normally use,
the first one was due to me not paying enough attention when editing the menu.lst

The istall was a manual jobby, ie: i just copied the files from the ISO
then edited the menu.lst of an already existing GRUB install.

In the image hda5.jpg you can see what is on hda5 (AKA /mnt/home)
and what Mediapup files are in the directory media

Image Portege+Pmount.jpg is hopefully self explanatory

In case you are wondering,
GRUB was installed to MBR (of hda) and the GRUB files to hda1

Keep at it, as i am sure you could get that machine of yours to boot it up.

Never say die
CatDude
.
hda5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.35 KB
 Viewed   1351 Time(s)

hda5.jpg

Portege+Pmount.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   71.79 KB
 Viewed   1300 Time(s)

Portege+Pmount.jpg


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Sun 21 Feb 2010, 22:07    Post_subject:  

i got it correct this time after all the readings and etc..
thanks for all the help catdude and wuwie

this thread help me alot.
Quote:

There is a post here to a similar problem...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22255
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22255&start=105



here's what i did.

Code:

# Other bootable partition config begins
  title mediapup  (on /dev/sda3)
  rootnoverify (hd0,2)
  kernel (hd0,2)/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3 PMEDIA=idehd vga=normal
  initrd (hd0,2)/initrd.gz
# Other bootable partition config ends


thanks. Very Happy
snapshot.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  snapshot.png 
Filesize  320.63 KB 
Downloaded  412 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1426s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0318s) ][ GZIP on ]