Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 16:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
MediaPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Author Message
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Mon 22 Feb 2010, 04:30    Post_subject:  

congratulation enhu

glad you could figure it out.

Grub is a bit different with every Puppy and every PC.

A wonderful end result.

Have a good day
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 278
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb 2010, 17:46    Post_subject:  

Ok, I have been using MediaPup for about a week and I love it. One thing though; Xine plays perfectly in MediaPup but in my Puppy 4.2.1 it plays jerky. I am going to get the newer version for 4.2.1 and I copied the codecs file from MediaPup into 4.2.1. Is there anything else you added to MediaPup that I can add to 4.2.1 to solve my problem?

It occured to me too that maybe the gxine in 4.2.1 is newer?

I'm a sort-of linux noob so my little solution may be ill advised. Let me know. Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 15:07    Post_subject: anyone ever tried installing mediapup in the hard drive?  

i burned the iso and install it but didn't work.
but when trying it frugal install, it work.
has anyone ever tried installing this full in the hard drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 17:42    Post_subject:  

Sorry to take so long to get back here. Also sorry, I wish I had answers to those last two questions, but I've never tried an HD install of puppy.

As far as what was added from a video codec standpoint, a lot of that came from the slackware repositories, rather than the puppy repo because a lot of it wasn't available through puppy at the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Fri 22 Oct 2010, 21:42    Post_subject:  

I've corrected and deleted old obsolete links in the first post to puppylinux.ca, and netsons.

Mediapup can now be found here:

http://puppyisos.org/isos/2010-07-to-12/

(user: puppy, password: linux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1422
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Sat 23 Oct 2010, 06:47    Post_subject:  

other mirror (netsons was an unreliable hosting, so I changed)

http://dokupuppylinux.co.cc/pupplets:mediapup

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 665
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Sat 23 Oct 2010, 08:39    Post_subject: MediaPup mirror  

Hi guys,

It's also still on my server:

http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/mediapup/MediaPup1-0a.iso
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/mediapup/MediaPup1-0a.iso.md5.txt

User: puppy
Pass: linux

Cheers!

_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 23 Oct 2010, 22:52    Post_subject:  

Thanks Dingo, Russoodle. I've added your links to the original post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Lewis

Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 148
Location: Albany West Australia

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 00:25    Post_subject:  

Thanks for posting that rusoodle.
I've been using it for ages to make slideshows with ManDVD. Vtpup did a great job. I didn't save a copy and the CD is pretty chatty now so will be nice to download afresh.

Must say I had some trouble at first with ManDVDbut once I resolved it It became very usable.

As I mentioned in this thread previously I had to alter the script to not use ffmpeg and that solved my problem. Back on page 7 about the 6th post down I think.

Must admit ManDVD is about the only thing on the disk I've used along with avidemux and Kino.

Thanks again to vtpup, dingo and rusoodle.

John Lewis
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 665
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 08:10    Post_subject:  

@ vtpup and John Lewis: you're both welcome, i'm happy to host it Smile
_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Wed 13 Apr 2011, 00:28    Post_subject:  

Been awhile since any response here. Hope the old program is still useful, at least run off the CD for a special project.
_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 665
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Wed 13 Apr 2011, 01:16    Post_subject:  

Funny you should say that, vtpup, as i was using Mediapup just last night! Very Happy

I run it from the live CD on an IBM T42P with 1.8Ghz/1gbRAM/ATI 1600x1200/60gb/DVD-CDRW/Intel Wireless. I guess those specs are pretty good for it, especially when others are running much lower and i haven't encountered any issues so far.

The latest Puppies, ie. Lupu.5.1.1 family, seem to play silly-buggers regarding persistence with my wireless but Mediapup and others around its time behave perfectly.

Thanks for the Pup and cheers!

_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Wed 13 Apr 2011, 12:46    Post_subject:  

Great russoodle, glad to hear it. Like you I'm usually on a TP T43 these days, and also have a T42 I rebuilt for my wife. I don't generally run Mediapup unless like you I have a special video project to do, and then just pop the CD in and start work on it. With a megabyte in ram, even a big puplet like that easily runs in memory, so performance is good.
_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0705s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]