Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 19:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 Alpha3 Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 17 [243 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 06:38    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
How about Alpha4 is simply built without CUPS? Then those who want it or need it can install the package as necessary. When it's all fixed it can then be added back in.


Would it be impossible to revert to the exact same CUPS setup that works well for, e.g., me in Puppy 4.1.1, and only leave out the innovations until they work right? I'm not thrilled by the thought of a final alpha release with no printing!

David McClamrock

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 07:03    Post subject:  

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
WhoDo wrote:
How about Alpha4 is simply built without CUPS? Then those who want it or need it can install the package as necessary. When it's all fixed it can then be added back in.


Would it be impossible to revert to the exact same CUPS setup that works well for, e.g., me in Puppy 4.1.1, and only leave out the innovations until they work right? I'm not thrilled by the thought of a final alpha release with no printing!

David McClamrock


Its a alpha release things are supose to not work ! How can we revert back to a 4.1.1 release when we weren't there when it worked, ? also that package is truely dated and needs to fixed, the main problem we were having is that, The older cups wasn't working out of the box, its been patched on top of patches, on top of patches, Its old and ugly and not so user friendly, The newer one has worked but with issues, and some of the issues is that we were applying the newer version overtop the older version, which it wasn't made to do and patching it along the way and blowing up the package size, we need a clean slate like WhoDo has kindly offered, better late then never, Its not really going to hurt anybody, not to have cups in 1 release. It might take a couple of days of testing, but the end result will be a more stable and smaller package of cups. I'll recompress the images, clean up formating etc and make it small as possible, without removing any functions.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 09:20    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
I would rather Beaver over Leafpad due to the fact that beaver has Syntax Highlighting for C + C++, Html, perl, Java Script, Php, Bash, Java 2, Python. Plus I managed to get the package down to 80kb Smile


yes and no.

yes, it's very nice for it's size!

no, we have already geany with syntax-highlighting and leafpad has language-files.

so for me as a not-native-speaker the vote is on leafpad.

cheers
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 10:21    Post subject:  

aragon wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
I would rather Beaver over Leafpad due to the fact that beaver has Syntax Highlighting for C + C++, Html, perl, Java Script, Php, Bash, Java 2, Python. Plus I managed to get the package down to 80kb Smile


yes and no.

yes, it's very nice for it's size!

no, we have already geany with syntax-highlighting and leafpad has language-files.

so for me as a not-native-speaker the vote is on leafpad.

cheers
aragon


Ya but did you consider the new and very cute Beaver icon???? lol , Its worth it just to have the funny icon on your desktop
ttuuxxx
beaver.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.04 KB
 Viewed   955 Time(s)

beaver.png


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 10:29    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
no wireless networking for me Sad
I will report further when I've had more sleep.
Code:
# modprobe ipw2200
WARNING: Error inserting ieee80211_crypt (/lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt.ko): Invalid module format
WARNING: Error inserting ieee80211 (/lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
FATAL: Error inserting ipw2200 (/lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ipw2200.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
# dmesg | tail -30
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_get_geo
ipw2200: Unknown symbol free_ieee80211
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_is_valid_channel
ipw2200: Unknown symbol alloc_ieee80211
ieee80211_crypt: exports duplicate symbol ieee80211_get_crypto_ops (owned by ieee80211_crypt_rtl)
ieee80211: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_get_crypto_ops
ieee80211: Unknown symbol ieee80211_get_crypto_ops
ieee80211: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_crypt_deinit_entries
ieee80211: Unknown symbol ieee80211_crypt_deinit_entries
ieee80211: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_crypt_delayed_deinit
ieee80211: Unknown symbol ieee80211_crypt_delayed_deinit
ieee80211: Unknown symbol ieee80211_crypt_quiescing
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_wx_get_encodeext
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_wx_set_encode
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_wx_get_encode
ipw2200: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_txb_free
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_txb_free
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_wx_set_encodeext
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_wx_get_scan
ipw2200: Unknown symbol escape_essid
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_freq_to_channel
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_set_geo
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_rx
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_channel_to_index
ipw2200: disagrees about version of symbol ieee80211_rx_mgt
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_rx_mgt
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_get_geo
ipw2200: Unknown symbol free_ieee80211
ipw2200: Unknown symbol ieee80211_is_valid_channel
ipw2200: Unknown symbol alloc_ieee80211

comparing with alpha 2 which works fine:
I've md5d the kernels and they are the same
Code:
# diff -r /mnt/+mnt+home+puppy-4.2-alpha2+pup_420.sfs/lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel  /lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel
Only in /lib/modules/2.6.25.16/kernel/drivers/net/wireless: r8180
that is the only difference in the modules
in alpha2 I have the following modules loaded which are not loaded in alpha3
Code:
arc4                    2048  2
ecb                     3712  2
crypto_blkcipher       19844  1 ecb
ieee80211_crypt_wep     5120  1

ipw2200               139188  0
ieee80211              33992  1 ipw2200
ieee80211_crypt         5632  2 ieee80211_crypt_wep,ieee80211

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 10:45    Post subject:  

Downloaded Alpha3 yesterday, tested only today.

The calendar takes quite a bit to appear, the clock then shows up at the first mouseclick, anywhere on the screen (known issue); seems done on purpose, LOL.

Clicking over the browser icon in the upper tray doesn't start anything, whereas other apps are started clicking over their respective "placeholders" although no icon is present (possibly already known issue too?).

Hope nobody feels offended, but after playing a bit with 4.2Alphas I must say that the pop-in top tray and side tabs, though giving a geeky touch, are not so very useful as they sometimes are rather a nuisance -- guess nobody adds icons or widgets every day, thus the standard entries in the main menu should suffice; and the top tray simply doubles some of the apps in the menu or in the desktop icons. Just one exception: the shutdown button on the top tray, which might easily be replaced by a suitable icon on the desktop.

In the long run, Barry's more spartan choices (simple, fast, secure) are always Puppy's strongest points...

As for Whodo's proposal of a CUPS-less Alpha4, that's OK with me if that means an overall cleaner and updated printing system in the future. And seeing how much work has already been done, I refrain from asking Ttuuxxx to recompile mhWaveEdit in order to have the same result we can get by simply adding some 20 bytes of text... (Re. my previous post: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=270130#270130 and Whodo's reply: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=270162#270162)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 10:59    Post subject:  

Testing Version, Works on Ext3, Use with Caution on 'Windows Partitions '


Ok guys here's the thing for about 2 months I've been using a 12GB Pup_save file, its worked perfect, never let me down once, and you know how much compiling I've been doing. Also Lately I've been using a 15GB Pup_save file, So today I updated the script, Made it easier to understand with about 50% less words, makes it much less confusing. Plus I changed the menu icon to the silver puppy logo, so it would be easier to find in the menu, Plus its called 'Pup_Save' well here's a screenshot and a package.
ttuuxxx
pupsave.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   67.86 KB
 Viewed   952 Time(s)

pupsave.jpg

Pupsave.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Pupsave.pet 
Filesize  2.56 KB 
Downloaded  436 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Last edited by ttuuxxx on Wed 04 Feb 2009, 18:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 11:13    Post subject:  

ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
My understanding was that you rolled back to a fresh copy of your default pup_save quite regularly. What is the longest that you have used the same pup_save without reverting?
How full have you got it?

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 11:20    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
My understanding was that you rolled back to a fresh copy of your default pup_save quite regularly. What is the longest that you have used the same pup_save without reverting?
How full have you got it?


Well with my 12GB I was using I usually would bring it down to about 3GB and then I would delete it, and replace it with my backup 12GB, right now I have two 15GB pup_save files, That I just started up a few hours back, because before I had icewm+parcellite etc a few apps that at the time weren't included with puppy, but are now, so I started over from scratch.
The longest I used a Large Pupsave file is about 2.5 weeks without any fault what so ever.
All I did to increase the pup_save script is followed the example before me and increased it, then I tested each new setting, It all works for my pc.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Last edited by ttuuxxx on Wed 04 Feb 2009, 11:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 11:25    Post subject:  

added gadmin-rsync 0.1.1 to

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=271518#271518

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 11:29    Post subject:  

Regarding CUPS:

At the very least, you should release a version that has authentication turned OFF. This should just be a matter of modifying the appropriate directives in cupsd.conf.

Are the developers also working on BarryK's cups_shell front end? I have two quibbles with it.

1. It uses a basic HTML viewer from the mozilla package to open the CUPS web interface instead of the user's default browser. This viewer has no Back or Forward buttons, so the only way to make a change is by starting the session over.

2. For some reason, cups_shell creates all the Gutenprint PPD files at the start of the session and deletes them at the end. This forces the user to go through the wizard, with its confusing pause, instead of launching the web interface directly. I can't see any good reason for this, other than possibly to reduce space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 11:37    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Regarding CUPS:

At the very least, you should release a version that has authentication turned OFF. This should just be a matter of modifying the appropriate directives in cupsd.conf.

Are the developers also working on BarryK's cups_shell front end? I have two quibbles with it.

1. It uses a basic HTML viewer from the mozilla package to open the CUPS web interface instead of the user's default browser. This viewer has no Back or Forward buttons, so the only way to make a change is by starting the session over.

2. For some reason, cups_shell creates all the Gutenprint PPD files at the start of the session and deletes them at the end. This forces the user to go through the wizard, with its confusing pause, instead of launching the web interface directly. I can't see any good reason for this, other than possibly to reduce space.


#1 The last couple of release I made of cups used 'defaultbrowser' so that you could use the back and forward button, which I also found handy.

#2 When I start building the next version very shortly after WhoDo releases the next alpha, First I'm going to try to get it going by the package defaults, then I'll see what scripts are needed if need be and consult the forum on the outcomes, maybe make 2 or 3 packages. My main goal is to get it as small and stable as possible. Plus make it user friendly somewhat. Plus I hope to have some of the developers join in if scripts need to made. Smile and make it a group project.

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 12:00    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
How many people do you think will benefit from the change?

I suspect that there may be problems with filesystems that do not support files as big as the dialog allows to resize to. I am also concerned about performance issues when trying to do a large resize on ntfs. Also image trying to do a 15GB resize with p133 processor, the user needs to be made aware that the next boot may take many minutes while the resize is done. I haven't tested it but a p133 might take an hour to do a 15GB resize. This has the potential to cause problems for more people than it helps.

Every change introduces a risk of breaking something. We need to be aware of and manage/mitigate that risk where it is justified. It would be nice to fix the problems we have already before introducing new ones.

One of the differences between the trunk puppy version and puplets is that the trunk version needs to ensure that it is feeding its improvements back into the base packages that it is constructed from. This means it is important to know which original package to patch.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 12:26    Post subject:  

HairyWill

When I make a 15 gig pupsave at boot it takes around 5mins or less on a sata2, its much quicker than say moving a 15 gig partition on a hard drive.
I could add a caution on the script, That sounds about right?
what do you think?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 12:36    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
How many people do you think will benefit from the change?
ttuuxxx
I can't force you to answer my questions, but if you want to have a discussion then you should.
You probably need to check the code in init as well to see exactly how it handles this for every case.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 17 [243 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1139s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]