Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 17:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 Alpha3 Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 12:44    Post_subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
HairyWill wrote:
HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
How many people do you think will benefit from the change?
ttuuxxx
I can't force you to answer my questions, but if you want to have a discussion then you should.
You probably need to check the code in init as well to see exactly how it handles this for every case.


Sorry I wasn't avoiding your question, It just slipped by,
Well since I've been using the large pup_save files I now install puppy, before I ran live over 1yr, because When I ran live I had more memory then installing, it was almost double, well until I figured out how to alter the pupsave, since then I've been very happy with the frugal install, The strange thing is that I could never get a swap drive working either, could that be a sata2 thing?
Everytime I boot up live or frugal I get swap failed in red, and everytime I try to make one in gparted, it deletes the partition and makes the swap and when it refreshes I get a yellow caution sign. and it doesn't work, Thats why I was forced either to run live or use a very large swap.
So to answer you question yes I think a lot of users might find a real use out of this. Like I have.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 12:52    Post_subject:  

I also would like to see that script redone with gtk dialog and maybe 2 tabs like the first tab a regular 16mb-512mb and the second tab say large file.
The first tab could be the intro, plus the regular dialog and the second tab could have Caution for power users, use at your own risk, etc
Plus it would look so much nicer and fit in better with the rest of the dialogs/scripts. I found that sort of code that its built on very limiting,
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 12:58    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Like I have.
I personally do not find your rather specific example a good justification for the general case.

HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
You still haven't answered these.
It is not my place to determine what goes into the iso. You don't have to justify it to me,however you did ask.
ttuuxxx wrote:
what do you think?
My concerns are not yet satisfied.

If it takes you 5 minutes to create a 15GB pupsave on a sata disk with presumably a processor of at least 1000mHz. Someone with my example old clunker who didn't read the dialog carefully would probably think that the boot process had crashed.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 13:06    Post_subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
Like I have.
I personally do not find your rather specific example a good justification for the general case.

HairyWill wrote:
ttuuxx,
Does it check the underlying filesystem to see if it supports files up to the size you are trying to resize to?
Which filesystems have you tested on?
Which package in the original unleashed build tree supplies this function?
You still haven't answered these.
It is not my place to determine what goes into the iso. You don't have to justify it to me,however you did ask.
ttuuxxx wrote:
what do you think?
My concerns are not yet satisfied.

If it takes you 5 minutes to create a 15GB pupsave on a sata disk with presumably a processor of at least 1000mHz. Someone with my example old clunker who didn't read the dialog carefully would probably think that the boot process had crashed.


Well I've been just running it under all the alpha's and before that I was running it under 4.1, And as for the question which package it goes in the original unleashed, I can have a look tomorrow, I have the unleashed locally, Its late tonight 4am.
ttuuxxx

ext3 is the file system oops Smile

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 13:16    Post_subject:  

super
I think fat and maybe ntfs will cause problems

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 14:17    Post_subject:  

Regarding CUPS:

Patriot wrote:
I know that the default CUPS 1.1.23 works just fine.


ttuuxxx wrote:
The older cups wasn't working out of the box, its been patched on top of patches, on top of patches, Its old and ugly and not so user friendly, The newer one has worked but with issues, and some of the issues is that we were applying the newer version overtop the older version, which it wasn't made to do and patching it along the way and blowing up the package size, we need a clean slate like WhoDo has kindly offered, better late then never, Its not really going to hurt anybody, not to have cups in 1 release. It might take a couple of days of testing, but the end result will be a more stable and smaller package of cups. I'll recompress the images, clean up formating etc and make it small as possible, without removing any functions.


ttuuxxx wrote:
...I have no way of testing cups because the only printer I have is on my wifes pc, my other 2 pc's don't have a printer,


ttuuxxx wrote:
It makes it hard to focus on one task that I can't even fully test,lol


Sigh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 14:46    Post_subject:  

This alpha release really looks good and runs great as a frugal install, haven't tried it otherwise.

A few problems, some of which others have experienced also:
1. There are icons showing for 6 non-existing partitions, one of which is shown mounted. (Using the Desktop drive icons manager, I just unchecked the tick boxes to remove all from the desktop.)
2. P-widgets is a fine addition but the clock doesn't show until you click somewhere on the desktop. Also, how do you change the weather application so that it shows temps in F instead of C?
3. CUPS not working, error message (404 Not Found). EDIT: Installed the cups-s.4b2-i386-v2.pet which appeared to install properly, however got the same error message.
4. Parcellite doesn't work.

Consider adding Gslapt. It works fine with this alpha. If it can't be added, how about including it on the Puppy site as an official pet file so that it will show up in the package manager? Also, we need official pet files on the Puppy web site for the latest versions of other more powerful browsers such as Firefox 3.06 and Opera 9 both of which work great with this alpha.

Thanks to all the developers who have put so much effort into making this super release.

Jim

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dogone


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 202
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 14:49    Post_subject: Super Size It
Sub_title: Larger pup_save files: safe or sorry
 

ttuuxxx, with utmost respect, I share Hairywill's concerns. I too have created an 11GB pup_save on an ext2 partition and found it to work just fine. Creation took less than 10 minutes on a 2GHz Athlon and recent PATA drive.

*However*, the integrity of Puppy's save file is paramount. Unlike the pup_xxx file, if the pup_save file fails, all user data can go with it. A few such occurances and we could find ourselves doing heavy duty damage control in Puppydom.

I believe this great new feature needs LOTS of wors-tcase testing on all subject file systems and a range of hardware with no, light and heavy encryption. Note too that, like it or not, we must consider Vista and Windows 7 FS abberations as well. Lots of permutations and no room for error.

Forgive, but I suggest you revise your post to indicate that testing of your new script has "begun" and that it's yet unproved (potentially dangerous). It might be wise the rename the script accordingly. Some careful testing by you, me, Harrywill and others, should only take a week or two. I suggest then bouncing the idea off Barry. That done, it should be safe to move forward.

Sorry to come across like a bad day with Mum. I just don't want to see Puppy pee the carpet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 15:13    Post_subject:  

capoverde wrote:
And seeing how much work has already been done, I refrain from asking Ttuuxxx to recompile mhWaveEdit in order to have the same result we can get by simply adding some 20 bytes of text... (Re. my previous post: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=270130#270130 and Whodo's reply: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=270162#270162)


i haven't seen this before, otherwise i've included a solution for my actual build. possible solutions:

1. symlink xmixer to sgmixer => tested works
2. /root/mhwaveedit/config with 'mixerUtility = sgmixer' => tested works
3. recompile with patch

1. is an easy winner.
2. I don't like to include config-files (if the user has already one...)
3. most work, but mhwaveedit is easy. if so, i would like to recompile with support for libsamplerate, as this will increase the possibilities of mhwaveedit. Plinejs Libsamplerate-package from here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=25372 has always worked for me and is only 104 kb.

@whodo
please choose and post and i will repack/recompile it.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 16:10    Post_subject:  

aragon
I don't know how sensible a suggestion this is what do you think.

The config file could be upgraded by pinstall.sh.

I presume that these are not run when an iso is built from unleashed so how about dropping a patch script into /root/Startup that fixes the config file and then deletes itself.

It seems a bit of a cludge but it could work.

I wonder if it would be possible to extend the pet packaging specification to include lists of files that should not be overwitten on install or maybe upgrade. Seems quite an involved problem.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dogone


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 202
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 16:37    Post_subject: Re: Super Size It
Sub_title: Larger pup_save files: safe or sorry
 

I performed some quick tests just to confirm the obvious, ttuuxxx. That is of course, that the pup_save re-size script must prevent users from exceeding 4GB on FAT32 partitions. Larger files are quietly truncated to 4096MB (by the FS?). Data beyond that point is (I expect) lost. Indeed, Barry's original script permits users to cross the 4GB barrier, but for reasons I don't understand, the file is either not enlarged or enlarged and immediately truncated. Neither case is a good one.

So you can immediately improve upon Barry's script by imposing this FAT32 limit and advising the user... We need then to thoroughly test pup_save files <4GB under FAT32 and "sky's the limit" pup_saves under EXT.

That's all the past 30 minutes have revealed to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 16:45    Post_subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
The config file could be upgraded by pinstall.sh.

I presume that these are not run when an iso is built from unleashed so how about dropping a patch script into /root/Startup that fixes the config file and then deletes itself.

It seems a bit of a cludge but it could work.

I wonder if it would be possible to extend the pet packaging specification to include lists of files that should not be overwitten on install or maybe upgrade. Seems quite an involved problem.

@HairyWill - pinstall.sh files in the packages directory of Unleashed are aggregated and run when rootfs-complete directory is built, so it is possible for one config to overwrite another.

@aragon - I'd prefer the recompile option

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 17:38    Post_subject:  

Regarding huge pup_save files:

The beauty of the pup_save concept is that users can easily backup their current environment and restore it if disaster strikes. That is doable if the pup_save file is small. But once we suggest to new users that a 10 GB pup_save is standard procedure, that advantage is lost.

I am sure that most experienced Puppy users are keeping their pup_save at a reasonable size and are storing additional data in the Puppy partition outside of it.

Anyone who needs a huge pup_save can do it manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 18:16    Post_subject: Printer tests
Sub_title: Moving forward
 

Decided to retest Alpha 3 with printers.

Went back and ran the latest pet for cusp...it worked fine with Alpha 2, and I was able to print. On Alpha 3 it took a very long time and I did not realize it contained the gutenprint data.

Anyway..first image is in Alpha two.. it sees the printer, so adding is fine.

Second image is Alpha 3, it does not see the printer on USB. I attempted to add the path from alpha 2... /dev/usb/lp0, but either did not find the right place to enter that data or it just did not recognize my string.

So moving forward Smile).[/img]

Sorry reverse the images....blog flipped order
Alpha 3 does not see printer automaticly.png
 Description   
 Filesize   6.9 KB
 Viewed   818 Time(s)

Alpha 3 does not see printer automaticly.png

Alpha 2 finds printer 2 4 09.png
 Description   
 Filesize   8.99 KB
 Viewed   785 Time(s)

Alpha 2 finds printer 2 4 09.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 18:45    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Regarding CUPS:

ttuuxxx wrote:
...I have no way of testing cups because the only printer I have is on my wifes pc, my other 2 pc's don't have a printer,

Sigh.


I'll use my wifes pc or ripoff her printer, to get it going, When Alpha 4 comes out, This printing issue is far to important. Worst case I'll go out and buy a new $30 printer, just to test it, ok
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1144s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]