Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 21:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 Alpha4 Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 08:34    Post_subject:  

I also liked the older version better where you used to see a thumbnail along the right column in series 3
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 08:50    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
hi guys do you really want items removed from the IceWM taskbar and if so which its do you think should be on the chopping block?
on the right side maybe the icewm network and cpuload? Since we have blinky and free memory. You can always see the cpu load via htop
on the left side we have
xterm, default browser, rox, pfind, sound, desktop 1,2
its you, you tell me and I'll remove, and do you want show desktop back?
ttuuxxx


I'd say at least remove all the little icons that duplicate the functions of big desktop icons, and definitely put "Show Desktop" back. (Me, I have only Start, Show Desktop, one desktop, and the clock; almost 85% of the taskbar shows running apps.)

Pfind should have a big desktop icon, not a little taskbar icon; I've got a big desktop icon for it (courtesy of Mandriva, even though there's no Pfind in Mandriva) if you haven't got one handy. Also, I don't think it's an improvement to have the little yellow sticky-pad thingy pop up automatically.

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 08:57    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
jrb wrote:
I have reconfigured the load_sfs.pet for 420. It now puts a link to load_sfs in /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/SendTo/.application_x-squashfs-image making it work in Rox right-clicks.

Ok but I'll hang on to this before implementing. Hairywill may patch the later version of Rox filer or I may revert to the earlier version 2.6.1 which uses OpenWith rather than SendTo.

load_sfs sounds interesting
What will happen if someone inadvertently runs it twice on the same sfs?

I don't know about SendTo vs OpenWith. The action open with makes more sense than send to but it is probably better to use rox as unpatched as possible. Who was it that changed it originally, why?

My ipw2200 wireless still will not load.

Has anyone mentioned that ptray is missing icons until you open the configurator and hit apply?

I find the patched version of gxine irritating as it complains about my lack of optical drive and doesn't go to fullscreen. You might consider the updated jwm patch I released today and unpatched gxine.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 771
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 09:33    Post_subject:  

Hi

Menu/internet/icon for Opera10.sfs works (shows) in IceWm

BUT no icon in JWM (at least not when Opera10.sfs is loaded)
Didn't try Opera10.pet

The Opera browser works very well in both window managers.
As does Seamonkey 1.1.14 - very slick in both WM's.

Especially since I'm using a ram challenged laptop
(91mb ram & 1ghz celeron proc.)

I prefer JWM at present because it has a battery indicator in the tray.
Very usefull when using the EeePc 701SD.

However the tray autohide feature seems to be disabled at present.
Tried usual menu/desktop/JWM conf/ but not working.

Again very useful with EeePC - as was the battery low warning
(both audio & visual) in Raffy's Breeezy.

Very nicely done - alerted one in good time before a total battery
failure. Could we include similar in 4.2ce - That would be brilliant.

As always - very best regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 09:56    Post_subject:  

Ray MK wrote:
Hi

Menu/internet/icon for Opera10.sfs works (shows) in IceWm

BUT no icon in JWM (at least not when Opera10.sfs is loaded)
Didn't try Opera10.pet

The Opera browser works very well in both window managers.
As does Seamonkey 1.1.14 - very slick in both WM's.

Especially since I'm using a ram challenged laptop
(91mb ram & 1ghz celeron proc.)

I prefer JWM at present because it has a battery indicator in the tray.
Very usefull when using the EeePc 701SD.

However the tray autohide feature seems to be disabled at present.
Tried usual menu/desktop/JWM conf/ but not working.

Again very useful with EeePC - as was the battery low warning
(both audio & visual) in Raffy's Breeezy.

Very nicely done - alerted one in good time before a total battery
failure. Could we include similar in 4.2ce - That would be brilliant.

As always - very best regards - Ray


Hey Ray IceWM has a nice battery monitor also but you have to enable it it in the configs, I don't have a laptop that I use to help you out , But others on here have it running and probably could help you set it up.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 10:01    Post_subject:  

Ok guys what I did was bad, LOL I downloaded the puppy wallpaper setter from series 3, it wouldn't work because its a compiled bin and used gtk1 soooooo, 'Heres the bad part' I made system links to new newer gtk2 libs, just 4 of them Smile and named them gtk1 names and it worked, it sets the backgrounds just fine, If we could get the sources for the puppy wallpaper setter from series 3, we could recompile them to use GTK2 files. Since I didn't add any older gtk1 files. here's a pet of it. we could also make it a bit smaller using system links to system images
ttuuxxx
old-background-setter.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  old-background-setter.png 
Filesize  162.76 KB 
Downloaded  439 Time(s) 
puppybackground-2.1.4-1-P4.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  puppybackground-2.1.4-1-P4.pet 
Filesize  57.17 KB 
Downloaded  430 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 10:02    Post_subject:  

4.2 alpha4 multisession DVD failed to save session.

This happened to me last night when I shut my 4.2 alpha4 multisession DVD down for the second time. I haven't had time to do more experimenting.

I had switched from JWM to IceWM and used Puppy that way all day. When I chose Power-off computer from the Shutdown menu, the screen instantly went blank and nothing else happened, when it should have asked if I wanted to save the session, etc.. All my configuring was lost, as I had to shut off the power.

This multisession DVD was burned from 4.2 alpha3 using Burniso2cd. The first shutdown, which created a multisession DVD, was done with the newly burned 4.2 alpha4 DVD in the drive, but 4.2 alpha3 running. That shutdown did what it was supposed to do, namely, save the settings from 4.2 alpha3 running in RAM to the first session of the 4.2 alpha4 DVD in the drive. Everything I'd added to 4.2 alpha3 was there as it should have been when the 4.2 alpha4 DVD was next booted.

_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tom Raft

Joined: 03 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 10:26    Post_subject: wallpaper setter  

If I'm right, pwidgets needs the wallpaper setter from mu.

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 10:31    Post_subject:  

Flash
I confess to having had some shutdown issues with earlier alphas after changing windowmanager. I haven't done enough to tie the problem down properly, it may be nothing to do with the WM switch.

Tom, you are correct
Currently the wallpaper switcher is set to call fixwidgets. TTuuxxx have you tried it with pwidgets running.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 10:45    Post_subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
Flash
I confess to having had some shutdown issues with earlier alphas after changing windowmanager. I haven't done enough to tie the problem down properly, it may be nothing to do with the WM switch.

Tom, you are correct
Currently the wallpaper switcher is set to call fixwidgets. TTuuxxx have you tried it with pwidgets running.


Hi HairyWill

The older series 3 runs with those links I made up, Its by no means a fix for a wallpaper preview, we need the original source file for the bin, but it does do one thing, it shows it will work with GTK2, That older wall paper setter had nicer features and worked well, I've been looking around for a replacement wallpaper setter and tried around 30 of them tonight, they all need extra libs etc and would be bloated, I'm afraid if we want a preview, which we should have anyways, guessing what a picture looks like is a bit strange like the current model, that we either have to upgrade the current model, that nathan made or revert back to the older model and recompile it.

As for pwidgets, thats a strange one, when I installed the older wallpaper setter and set a wallpaper, the screen blinked like it does when change a background then the clock came up and nothing else, I'm sure pwidgets would have to have a small modification to use the older wallpaper setter, but its doable because of the clock showing up.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
esmourguit


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Sur l'ile aux oiseaux.

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 10:55    Post_subject:  

Bonjour,

About new Rox-Filer. No localization possible : No available languages.
Can't connect with Auto DHCP. Obliged to go through setup static IP. First time since 2 years on the same PC.

Cordialement Wink

_________________
Toutou Linux - Pets francisés
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 11:05    Post_subject:  

background setter
Sometime the simplest solutions are the best. The existing background setter requires the full path to defaultimageviewer or any other image viewer that it does not offer to you. If you use the filer browse button and navigate to select the correct program it works fine. It does have a function where it is supposed to offer you a choice of programs that you have. Probably needs a minor bug fix and a bump to 0.5.2. I will do this inside the next couple of days unless someone else picks it up

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 11:18    Post_subject:  

first testing-result:

- wallpapersetter does not work. to fix change defaulimageviewer to gpicview AND delete /root/.config/wallpaper
- fpm2 is the old version new: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=271518#271518
- gadmin-rsync is the old version new: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=271518#271518
- ldconfig is missing (and entry /usr/local/lib in /etc/ld.so.conf)
- geany-deskicon is 'wrong' it's not a sticky-app
- show-desktop should be in the lower tray of jwm
- mhwaveedit is not the fixed version. fixed one is here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=271518#271518
- mime-type audio_mpeg should be opened with defaultmusicplayer
- on bootup the line where you add your boot-parameters (live-cd) is hard to read (dark blue)
- rox menu-icon is missing
- shouldn't the rxvt scrollbar be at the right side?
- mtpaint-snapshot: better use dejans advanced version: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38165
- /root/my-applications has to be cleaned up
- do we need pplog?
- do we need gfontsel and xfontsel?
- do we need prename and gfrename?

- a script that cleans up the drive-icons on shutdown would be helpful if you use puppy as a portable os. it would also prevent issues on remastering... I think there is one in this thread

Pmount
-----------
ttuuxxx is not the only, who has problems.
- rox menu-icon is missing. pmount itself uses the same icon to open a mounted drive.
- i can't mount my usb-drive. crash, no console output to specify why.
- i can't umount a usb-thumbdrive i was able to mount. crash, no console output to specify why.

Some scrying on the cause: Rox

@ WhoDo
one question on the feature-freeze: do you accept updated packages of included apps/libs? (e.g mtr is at 0.72 while we actually have 0.75.)

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 11:33    Post_subject:  

Puppybackgroundsetter should include:
/usr/local/Puppybackground/resource/source.tgz
Extract it.
Edit source/list-source/compile-gtk2 like this:
Code:
gcc -Wall -g list.c -o list `pkg-config --cflags gtk+-2.0` `pkg-config --libs gtk+-2.0` -lm
strip list
cp -ax list ../../
rm -f list


Then compile it:
./compile-gtk2

I attach source with the modified compilescript, but without binary, as I'm currently in Newyearspup with more dependencies.
I think that should do it, if not, I can try it on my own in Puppy 4.12.
Mark
source.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  source.tar.gz 
Filesize  21.19 KB 
Downloaded  418 Time(s) 

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
droope


Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Posts: 814
Location: Uruguay, Mercedes

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 11:43    Post_subject:  

Could the localizations be added to 4.2?

Here I have connection wizard, the rest of the network setup ing, is still to come.

Remember, that for it to work, you must place the mo file in the locales directory.
connectwizard.tar.gz
Description  Connection wizard
gz

 Download 
Filename  connectwizard.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.55 KB 
Downloaded  426 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1088s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]