Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 20:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2Beta Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 18 [261 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 01:24    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Quote:
So wouldn't that stop cups from printing?

I imagine so, but:
1) The problem is not just to interrupt a print job. The problem is to cancel a print job. If you restart cups the print job stays in the queue - with Puppy's default setup you need to run a command in the console to cancel a job Sad
2) Killing cups before opening the web interface is a BAD idea. Why are you doing it? Is it needed for some sort of scan for new drivers or something?
There is no reason why users won't want to access the CUPS control panel while a print job is being processed. I've certainly done it a number of times.
If you NEED to kill CUPS for printer setup or something, you either need separate menu entries for setting up a printer and for general printer management, or you need a dialogue giving you the choice. I prefer the first solution, although it would still be good to have a warning that you are about to restart CUPS and interrupt any current print jobs.

With regard to solving the bug (assuming it is still present - I think you might have updated to CUPS 1.4?), there are at least two options:
1) Patch cups to allow cancelling print jobs without logging in.
2) Simply add that one line in my post to cupsd.conf, which will mean you need to log in to control the printers.


Off hand do you know the command line to kill the queue, If so I'll put a s menu item 'Stop Printing Now' with a printer image with a red circle around it with a red line across it Smile

The reason why I restart cups with the new script is that, a new users were having lots of problems setting up printers, They could not add a printer if its already started, you need to stop cups and restart. sure we know how but they don't, most have to reset the pc to get around this, how frustrating. Also if cups hangs, this fixes that problem. tell ya the truth I think it wouldn't stop printing if you restart cups anyways. So all is good then, Just need the command to cancel printing and i'll quickly add it to the printer packages for the next release which is being finished today. If you don't know its ok i'll figure it out, just that i'm once again on a limited time frame with the window of opportunity closing on beta2
Thanks for the help
ttuuxxx

PS WhoDo your giving me a brain cramp with all the links to the icewm packages, lol Its not just Odelite its the ubuntu and xp one also, that have system links coming from it, and that one theme has system links from the ubuntu and xp theme combined, lol what a mess, I've done 4 of them so far. Smile
I'll get it done
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6435
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 01:26    Post subject:  

It's some sort of server issue - I don't think it's "timing out" per se, as you normally get a message telling you if a page times out.
I think the server is essentially serving blank pages when it is overloaded - refreshing repeatedly probably just makes the problem worse, so I just wait a few minutes before trying.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 01:40    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
WhoDo your giving me a brain cramp with all the links to the icewm packages, lol Its not just Odelite its the ubuntu and xp one also, that have system links coming from it, and that one theme has system links from the ubuntu and xp theme combined, lol what a mess, I've done 4 of them so far. Smile
I'll get it done

I think the key will be to create a default theme and put all of the standard window decorations in there. At the moment there is no default theme and you get no buttons, etc. when default is selected. The default used to point to a theme call icedesert IIRC.

An alternative would be to put the titlebar decorations in a directory at the main level called titlebar (there's already one for taskbar) and point your system links there instead of to another theme.

I like the second idea better but the first also has benefits.

5hrs 30mins left, ttuuxxx! Razz

PS. I also need to get the correct code for /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc to call your shutdown dialog from JWM. It's not absolutely necessary but certainly more consistent. We also need to set the Ctrl+Alt+Del keymap assignment in JWM to point to that dialog too.

PPS. Apart from these minor fixes, Beta2 is ready and its 99Mb. I'm starting work on the Desktop Icon Themes to standardise them and set up a template so others can follow suit.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 01:44    Post subject:  

@Flash & disciple - I think you're both right; it's a server issue. I just realised that I'm getting the problem with FirePup as well. Rolling Eyes
_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 01:45    Post subject:  

Thanks for answer guys. Not realised it was only on the forum, now it's mentioned I realise that's so.

I have experienced a lot of problems with forum recently, error 500s, logged out by server whilst replying to message etc etc. Ah well Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 01:57    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
I'm starting work on the Desktop Icon Themes to standardise them and set up a template so others can follow suit.

Hey WhoDo is this the last shot to getting the changing of the icons in the menu/taskbar working or are we reverting back to the default icon switcher from series 4? That only change the desktop icons, I was happy with that one, If so could we have the default rounded orange/ 2d icons from deep thought instead of the flat orange? Pizzasgood also liked them Smile also we might have to reprocess them a bit, the defaults look choppy on icewm when you use a light theme.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6435
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 02:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
Off hand do you know the command line to kill the queue, If so I'll put a s menu item 'Stop Printing Now' with a printer image with a red circle around it with a red line across it

One of the commands was given in the bug thread I linked to. Please call it "Cancel all print jobs", as the distinction between cancelling and stopping is quite important.

Sorry for being out of the loop, but could you please clarify what we're talking about? People having problems with Cups in existing Puppy versions?
People having problems with your updated Cups .pet? People having problems with Cups in 4.2 alphas/betas?
I presume 4.2 does have an updated version of Cups?

Quote:
The reason why I restart cups with the new script is that, a new users were having lots of problems setting up printers, They could not add a printer if its already started, you need to stop cups and restart. sure we know how but they don't, most have to reset the pc to get around this, how frustrating.

"sure we know how but they don't, most have to reset the pc to get around this, how frustrating"
What do we know? All I know is that Barry's script asked if I wanted to setup a new printer. If I set yes, it set the printer up and restarted cups - I didn't need to do anything. Are you seriously saying you've replaced this with a script that automatically interrupts all current print jobs to restart Cups even if I don't want to install a new printer?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 02:10    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
WhoDo wrote:
I'm starting work on the Desktop Icon Themes to standardise them and set up a template so others can follow suit.

Hey WhoDo is this the last shot to getting the changing of the icons in the menu/taskbar working or are we reverting back to the default icon switcher from series 4?

I'd like to persist with the current icon switcher changing menu, desktop and taskbar icons at the moment. Going the other way is certainly easier, but the full icon theme change isn't that far away provided some simple protocols are observed for icon names, sizes, locations, etc.

ttuuxxx wrote:
If so could we have the default rounded orange/ 2d icons from deep thought instead of the flat orange? Pizzasgood also liked them Smile also we might have to reprocess them a bit, the defaults look choppy on icewm when you use a light theme.

I know what you mean by the flat ones (those in Beta1), but what do you mean by the "rounded orange/2d icons from deep thought"? A picture is worth a thousand words! Wink

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 02:15    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Quote:
Off hand do you know the command line to kill the queue, If so I'll put a s menu item 'Stop Printing Now' with a printer image with a red circle around it with a red line across it

One of the commands was given in the bug thread I linked to. Please call it "Cancel all print jobs", as the distinction between cancelling and stopping is quite important.

Sorry for being out of the loop, but could you please clarify what we're talking about? People having problems with Cups in existing Puppy versions?
People having problems with your updated Cups .pet? People having problems with Cups in 4.2 alphas/betas?
I presume 4.2 does have an updated version of Cups?

Quote:
The reason why I restart cups with the new script is that, a new users were having lots of problems setting up printers, They could not add a printer if its already started, you need to stop cups and restart. sure we know how but they don't, most have to reset the pc to get around this, how frustrating.

"sure we know how but they don't, most have to reset the pc to get around this, how frustrating"
What do we know? All I know is that Barry's script asked if I wanted to setup a new printer. If I set yes, it set the printer up and restarted cups - I didn't need to do anything. Are you seriously saying you've replaced this with a script that automatically interrupts all current print jobs to restart Cups even if I don't want to install a new printer?


Disciple Puppy 4.12 before the alpha.beta had the issues using the old cups, I've since then replace Cups 98%, I still use Barry's script, Plus a bin plus 1 lib file from one of his other packages, because the later model has documentation that with our current glibc you can't convert the very large bin into a small bin+.so lib file. I tried and it was true, so it saved us around 4Mb off the top of my head. The killall cups script only kills and restarts cups in a instant, it does kill printing, or erase anything, it just solve lots of issues testers were having when installing a printer.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 02:27    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:

A picture is worth a thousand words! Wink

Here ya go
oops filesystem also
menu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   38.73 KB
 Viewed   811 Time(s)

menu.png


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 02:41    Post subject:  

with every icewm release i've posted the correct xdg template for icewm, just somehow it gets over written.
if you check the last version you'll see the shutdown+refresh menu
it should look like this, it basically deletes the current shutdown menu item and replaces it as follows.

menu "Fun" games24 {
PUPPYMENU icewm-xdgmenu /etc/xdg/menus/puppy-fun.menu
}

separator


prog "Refresh Menus" refresh /usr/bin/refresh-menus
separator


prog "Shutdown" exit24 /usr/bin/shutdown


ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6435
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 03:14    Post subject:  

FWIW I just realised the configuration fix for that bug stuffs up printing from leafpad, so the patch might be the only option... but no one's confirmed if the bug is in the later CUPS anyway Smile
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6435
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 03:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
The killall cups script only kills and restarts cups in a instant, it does kill printing

I presume you mean doesn't Smile
I think you might be right - I just assumed you were right before when you suggested that it would kill printing Smile

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 03:34    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Quote:
The killall cups script only kills and restarts cups in a instant, it does kill printing

I presume you mean doesn't Smile
I think you might be right - I just assumed you were right before when you suggested that it would kill printing Smile


yes I meant 'doesn't' I'm just multi tasking with the themes right now Smile
Plus the wife and kids are on a rampage in the background. Just about finished the themes again Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 04:52    Post subject:  

Hey WhoDO whats up with 4.2 and sounblaster-32 pci soundcard it doesn't work, Just tried it, then I put in a puppy 3.0.2 cd and it works out of the box, you hear the woof woof at the start, but not on 4.2, I ran the alsa wizard and tried all the settings and nothing in 4.2?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 18 [261 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1053s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]