Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 00:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2Beta Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 18 [261 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 09:01    Post subject:  

Hey Who here's a new cups package
I fixed the guten print 5.0 -->5.2
And add the user name and password to the add printer screen
and added the usb1 plugin
and removed some dev files
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/puppy420/beta1/default/cups-1.4b2-i386-v3.pet
I think I'm going to have to spend more time with cups on B2
ttuuxxx

Plus these older ones, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=15045 <------Make Sure These Are IN !!!
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=15044 <------Make Sure These Are IN !!!
Don't use Barry's ones they don't work right
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/alphatesting/foomatic-filters-4.0.0-1.pet
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/alphatesting/ghostscript-8.64-i386.pet
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/programs/documents/gutenprint-5.2.3-i386-no-ppd.pet

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 09:09    Post subject:  

Did you get the messages / pets in time?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 09:22    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Did you get the messages / pets in time?

Sort of. I haven't uploaded yet, and at this hour I'm not going to now. I'll upload in the morning when I'm fresh and I've tested your most recent additions.

With CUPS, is the only file you've altered the cups-1.4b2-i386-v3.pet ?

I already had the other stuff in unless you've just changed something.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 09:29    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
Did you get the messages / pets in time?

Sort of. I haven't uploaded yet, and at this hour I'm not going to now. I'll upload in the morning when I'm fresh and I've tested your most recent additions.

With CUPS, is the only file you've altered the cups-1.4b2-i386-v3.pet ?

I already had the other stuff in unless you've just changed something.

Cheers


I'll stay up and load up the last alpha without cups installed and test all the packages and make sure they work, its really the only way of testing them all, If it works on the alpha then it should work on the default Smile
Is the icewm the way you wanted it, ? Did you look at the screenshot I posted on the other page? The showdesktop button, I placed a cropped picture of the desktop, looks pretty cool but if you find a better one that fits nicer just replace it. The location where it goes is
/usr/share/icewm/taskbar/desktop.xpm <--- thats the image file that changes all the 'show desktop' on the taskbar.
ttuuxxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 12:44    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
If they [i.e., package lists] appear in the Unleashed tree as a part of the Remaster Express package, then they would be fine? They wouldn't need to reference themselves because, presumably, RemaX is the only application you wouldn't want removed before remastering, am I right?


Well, let's see. The initial version of Remaster Express is designed for users who want to create custom puplets without any danger of deleting something essential, so it doesn't include all the package lists; it includes only about 120 or so lists for packages selected from among the "on" packages in the official packages.txt file. It should be easy, though, to modify the script to provide for an "expert" version that could access all the package lists.

In fact--thinking off the top of my head here--maybe the best thing would be to allow a configuration variable (say, "expert") to be set at either 1 or 0 in a file in some subdirectory of /root that would not go into a remastered CD by default. The default setting of the variable, initialized from the script and not from the configuration file, would be 0. Remaster Express could then allow the "experts" to access all the package lists referenced in packages.txt--but, by default, it would show users only a list of those packages specified in the smaller slimpacks-xxx.txt file. Then there would be no need for a separate /root/.slimpacks-xxx subdirectory.

The drawback of including all the package lists from 0pkgs_db in the standard "RemaX" package, of course, would be that it would increase the size of pup_xxx.sfs by (I think) 1 MB or more. Even /root/.slimpacks-411 weighs in at about 250 KB compressed. I wonder if the best way to handle this would be to have all the package lists in an "extras" directory on the live-CD, where there should be plenty of room for them. The instruction to insert the live-CD could be moved to the beginning of the process, and the presence of the live-CD could be checked before "Remaster Slimmer" can appear. Users would then get to designate an additional "extras" directory, with a different name, when remastering.

Quote:
We'll see if one of our other scripters picks up the challenge, eh? Smile


I do think the "expert" configuration of Remaster Express (when it exists, which it will very soon, I hope) should be useful for creating and testing proposed new versions of Puppy. If that counts as picking up the challenge, good!

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 13:01    Post subject:  

Hey WhoDo hows it going?
Ok enough with the small talk, I was just being nice, LOL
4:00 AM getting a bit tired, anyways I installed all the package on 4.2Alpha4 and it worked, So I'm thinking maybe one of your packages is messed up or you forgot one, I know you left out the libgnomecups and libgnomeprint last time in beta1, but even when I installed them on beta 1 it still didn't work, So I figured I would upload all 6 packages in one place and give you the md5 for each to check, So basically download the packages, check the md5 and away we gooooooooo.
Well in theory anyways Wink you can get them at
http://www.puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/puppy420/CupsLatest/
the md5's are

cups cedfcf489de56de85dda289bf29971a3

foomatic e1b42d2b4c48db41437157f6c18487c8

ghostscript 9bba11f1df6a2196b1db39a4a34628be

gutenprint 6c41a1ed2110fa6ecf656de14827b3db

libgnomecups d80038ee944a95d4bec4b61f84a21bf4

libgnomeprint c57a7cedf68f142a9061e94062ed6853

Boy I like the gtkhash program just drag and drop and copy and paste Smile

make sure you get rid of Barry's libgnomecups and libgnomeprint and use the ones from above Smile

Anyways my job is done for now, Going to work on Xfburn with gstreamer
ttuuxxx

Ps when I tested it, I printed from abiword,geany,leafpad, Seamonkey.

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 13:29    Post subject: ? Cups  

ttuuxxx:

Do you want me to download all the newest cups and run a test on Beta?

Do I need to clean out anything or reset anything first? Please give details if so.

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 13:34    Post subject: Re: ? Cups  

Minnesota wrote:
ttuuxxx:

Do you want me to download all the newest cups and run a test on Beta?

Do I need to clean out anything or reset anything first? Please give details if so.

Greg


Naa because some of the packages haven't been updated, some have, parts from Barrys libgnomecups is around,
If you wanted to try it on alpha 4 thats ok just remove the folder. /usr/lib/libgnomeprint
then install all 6 packages, do the cups setup, set your print as default on the server, and try your printing Smile
If we can get it working on the alpha theres no reason why it wouldn't work on the beta. Thanks for your help Smile

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 14:08    Post subject:  Cups  

OK with install and running everything.... then decided to test changing specs of the printer....well... not so good.. it hangs... unless I did not wait long enough. Not sure of old or new issue. Printing works...Smile)).
Greg
Update to the printer hands.png
 Description   
 Filesize   17 KB
 Viewed   1257 Time(s)

Update to the printer hands.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 14:28    Post subject: Re: Cups  

Minnesota wrote:
OK with install and running everything.... then decided to test changing specs of the printer....well... not so good.. it hangs... unless I did not wait long enough. Not sure of old or new issue. Printing works...Smile)).
Greg


excellent to Read Smile

How about trying this tiny front end to cups, it will give you lots of options and its real easy to, Just what the doctor ordered Smile

WhoDo This is one of those got to Have applications you were talking about Smile 119kb pet, even has kill printing etc. We need this big time, it makes life a lot easier for everyone, plus since we are still in beta a few test on it would be good, its just a 2 bin files so it couldn't hurt anything Smile

ttuuxxx
gtklp-1.2.5-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  gtklp-1.2.5-i386.pet 
Filesize  118.22 KB 
Downloaded  764 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 16:08    Post subject: Gtklp  

Gtklp looks good, lots of goodies to help change options for the printer... I did not notice if you can add a printer.. used cups install first...

By the way menu's might want to be adjusted...as System has manage printers and Setup both menu and on the desktop icon have Cups Printing Wizard.. which all get you to the same place.

When running gthlp... I hit the printer button to see what it would do and received "error Don't know what to print."

Lost part of my note but think in one of the two.. received client-error-bad request in the bottom message box?

I am a bit confused... since you can modify the printer with the new wizards, is Gtklpq to substitute for the Cups original set up?

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 17:47    Post subject:  

Hi

Just a small comment - regarding loss of sound, mentioned a page or
two back.

I am running 4.2beta (hot) - ie - just booted and setup LAN etc.
(no save_file) (equivalent of pfix=ram)
and I got the woof-woof as usual at startup (ie when intro page closed)
However I am using Xvesa not Xorg.
Mostly 'cos its quicker to set-up and go from scratch.

Seem to remember that when I did use Xorg - no sound as stated.

Hope that helps in some small way.

Best regards to all - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 17:57    Post subject: Re: Cups  

ttuuxxx wrote:
WhoDo This is one of those got to Have applications you were talking about Smile 119kb pet, even has kill printing etc. We need this big time, it makes life a lot easier for everyone, plus since we are still in beta a few test on it would be good, its just a 2 bin files so it couldn't hurt anything Smile

There was a version in the early Alphas and I took it out when I took CUPS out for Alpha4. I'll add it back in for Beta2 uploading today.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 17:58    Post subject:
Subject description: yep
 

Xvesa was much quicker on re-X for me (will likely return on b2 to that). creative soundcard fine (emu-10k1), but as ever it needs unmuting with alsamixer before anything audible.

Good to hear that the ~/my-apps/bin size issue is being considered (p4.11), it might have had some impact on the size of the datetime savedirs (how I usually do Puppy) but not so evident on the 5th one in - strange seeing 20mb chunks here and there when 'not much' was being done other than (for me) the xorg dri+gl pkg, Opera and wbar (and blackbox wm) and fiddling with it all. Plug-in icon themes seem a good idea if the switcher works with them (differentiating between default types and specific apps can get odd).

Yeah, fg/bg/text/base can be an exercise in eyestrain in gtk also with medium to dark themes (it should work but sometimes :-/ .. too bad, since I suffer from too much light almost as much as too little - personal judgement call for anyone on optimizing those last few steps of the display interface at any given moment. Blink and tell me what you see Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 18:48    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
trapster wrote:
FWIW...I always change mine to 4 desktops.
1 - internet browsing
2 - email / irc
3 - shell / scripting
4 - vnc to my music / file server


Not any more, LOL WhoDO is the boss, hey WhoDO I warned you about the riots, I just changed it to 0 desktops, I'll give you 5 mins then I'll upload with no desktops. like the image below
ttuuxxx


You're taking out the option for me to change the number of desktops?
Razz

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 18 [261 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1087s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]