Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 07:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 RC2 Deep Thought - Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 20 [300 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 00:14    Post subject:  

OHHHHHHHH could it be the battery monitor???
has anyone tried IceWm on a laptop and see if the battery monitor is working in that locations???????????????
Please try it and report back
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1804
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 00:19    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
also beside the time on the taskbar theres a extra "space" thats using the "space" from the clock, which I don't think I have a space icone being used before the numbers, and if you switch to the 'Citrus' theme you'll see a black box, any ideas? Oh is this one for my new list of things to do ?
ttuuxxx


I think that's battery meter not in use (you're using desktop)

Edit: ooh , you knew

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 00:29    Post subject:  

well I enabled the battery monitor with the last release, because people asked for it, but I'm using a desktop so I don't know for sure if its a battery monitor or some new issue that I have to fix up. If its the battery monitor then well its up to WhoDo if it stays or goes, But if its a new issue then I'll have to work it out I guess.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 00:44    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
- a whole row of icons was moved in icewm to where the pwidgets sits and then gets trashed by pwidgets, That never happened before? Why now?

Beats me! I haven't changed either the PuppyPin or the globicons files for ages, so it's a video mode detection thing, I think. Something in one of Barry's scripts is picking up the icon locations and putting them over that side when it detects a particular resolution. I think I even read it in one of his scripts when I was looking for why Xlock starts top right when I wanted it bottom right.

ttuuxxx wrote:
The xdg menu that I supplied with the last icewm package I provided wasn't used or was ignored, I had changed
prog "Shutdown" shutdown24 /usr/bin/shutdown
to
prog "Shutdown" exit24.png /usr/bin/shutdown
that is a way better look to the icons and matches the Refresh Menus icon perfectly.

I definitely used, and didn't ignore, your xdg menu template as supplied BUT I modified both the jwm and icewm templates to use refresh24 and shutdown24 and then copied the Deep Thought versions of those files to the /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps directory so the first level menu would be consistent from top to bottom. That choice was also made to fit with the icon naming rules being developed for desktop/menu icon themes so that themes will switch properly. No slight intended.

Your icons are not consistent with the Deep Thought set. That said, I don't particularly like the Deep Thought set, but at least they should be consistent. Seeing two entirely different icons at the bottom of an otherwise consistent top level menu sends a bad message about the polish of the whole distro and causes incongruity with the other icon sets when switched. Unfortunately, I missed copying refresh from the Deep Thought set over the top of your refresh24 version so the Refresh Menus icon still stands out differently from the rest of the menu in your snapshot. I will correct that for the next release.

ttuuxxx wrote:
Also the new Seamonkey icon wasn't used, That took hours to improve and its actually3/4 smaller than the default icon.

I definitely didn't change that one! Your new absvolume and launch tray icons are there so why the Seamonkey icon didn't land I've no idea. The menu is still picking up the old 16x Seamonkey icon from /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons which is why the uglier icon is in the menu. I'll go back and have a look to see why the new icon didn't come across.

BTW, the battery monitor works on my laptop - sits next to the clock and pronounces 99p (I presume that's 99%).

Jeff, please don't be offended when I make (minor) decisions about consistency in the interface for what I believe to be the good of the release. I have also changed the Odelite theme to Look=flat, even though I know you prefer the Look=gtk so you get the menu button animations. Again, it's about polish and consistency and not a personal reflection on you, your obvious talent or what you personally think looks best.

BTW2, I also think that if we can find the space your BRDelite theme should revert to the bubble title bar and buttons while ODelite stays with the full width title bar, and I'd like to see your Sand theme with a matching title bar and buttons. These are not criticisms but simply suggestions for what I think will suit our audience.

I've been sitting here working in RC2 for several hours, printing (hooray!) to my Canon ip4600 printer, playing with applications to try and see if I can break anything and zip ... nada ... nothing! Not a single glitch anywhere! It all just works! That's a credit to you and the other devs, your commitment and your persistence. You and they should be rightly proud of what will be the upcoming Final edition, so please don't sweat the small stuff, ok?

Cheers, mate.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 00:58    Post subject:  

ok so now we have the battery monitor workiing out of the box, thats a nice leap forward, and CUps looks like its doing the right thing for once Smile
I would be 100% happy to remove the flat orange icons from the menu and replace them with the regular icons, if you say 'do it, ttuuxxx' I would be more than happy to Smile
hey WhoDo can place a pic of the battery monitor working on icewm please?
thanks
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 01:02    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
If its the battery monitor then well its up to WhoDo if it stays or goes, But if its a new issue then I'll have to work it out I guess.

Nope, it's the battery monitor all right. I've noticed a couple of times that in Icewm you get a blank box if the docked feature isn't working for some reason. It also happens with blinky when you are in Icewm and haven't connected to the network; obviously it happens with the battery monitor too if you aren't using a laptop. I think that's an Icewm issue rather than anything your or we might have done.

We can probably do without the battery monitor for now but let laptop users know how to enable that if they want. We can't do without blinky IMHO. Don't repackage the whole kit and kaboodle. Just tell me what line number in preferences or prefoverride and I'll fix it in Unleashed.

We really need a configuration tool for Icewm. It may be difficult but it ought to be possible to parse the preferences file to adjust things like batter monitor on/off, cpu display on/off, net traffic display on/off, etc. A simple string search would do it, wouldn't it?

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 01:09    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
hey WhoDo can place a pic of the battery monitor working on icewm please?

Sure. Here you go.



I'm flying "blind" (broke my glasses today) so I hope it turns out ok.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 01:13    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
hey WhoDo can place a pic of the battery monitor working on icewm please?

Sure. Here you go.



I'm flying "blind" (broke my glasses today) so I hope it turns out ok.

Cheers


Wow that looks greattttttttttt!!!!!
excellent, I'm certainly happy for the Laptop users Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 01:38    Post subject:  

Hey WhoDo How about this, I'll set the xdg menus up for a non flat orange theme, and reuse as much as i can with the current icons and see how it looks.? I would rather the menu icons not change if they look proper.
Really come to think of it, JWM has been Zigberts, and Icewm has been mine, So maybe let me have a shot at the menu and you tell me what you think when its done?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3433
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 02:17    Post subject:  

WhoDo :

Your glasses...I sent you a PM.

Also often enough $2 store magnifying glasses get you by.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 02:20    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
I'll set the xdg menus up for a non flat orange theme, and reuse as much as i can with the current icons and see how it looks.? I would rather the menu icons not change if they look proper.

This is the theme I would LIKE to use, but I don't want to tread on Sigmund's toes by not using Deep Thought. Have a play with it and see what you think. I believe it is polished, professional, sharp and would look great in Puppy. Let me know what you think.
orange.tar.gz
Description  Orange GPL theme for Dingo
gz

 Download 
Filename  orange.tar.gz 
Filesize  237.92 KB 
Downloaded  476 Time(s) 

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 02:29    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Your glasses...I sent you a PM.

Also often enough $2 store magnifying glasses get you by.

Got it, thanks Chris. You'd think that a $AUD500.00 set of Titanium rims would be enough to ensure this stuff doesn't happen, but as with so many things in our world, a $AUD0.0025c metal screw let me down! Shocked

I went back to an old pair until my wife could sticky-tape the rims back together temporarily, but all they did was stop me from bumping into large pieces of furniture. Surprised

On Monday I'll get them repaired properly. I just can't believe how blind I am without them, and I just don't believe I'm enough of a dork to wear glasses taped together at the corners. Embarassed Might be time to invest in laser surgery! Rolling Eyes

Thanks for the links, Chris.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 04:01    Post subject:  

Still using RC1, but Whodo suggested that I post this here where it will be seen.

Tried to set up my printer attached to a Windows machine. Works fine in previous 4-series Puppies. But now CUPS gives me a message that there is something wrong with smb.conf, run Parmtest to check for syntax errors.

But we can't do that, can we?

smb.conf is the same file that's always been used in Puppy- what's new is CUPS 1.4.

I plan to hook the smb.conf out of Debian Lenny later today- it is quite different. I'll report on that, but any ideas, developers?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 04:19    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Still using RC1, but Whodo suggested that I post this here where it will be seen.

Tried to set up my printer attached to a Windows machine. Works fine in previous 4-series Puppies. But now CUPS gives me a message that there is something wrong with smb.conf, run Parmtest to check for syntax errors.

But we can't do that, can we?

smb.conf is the same file that's always been used in Puppy- what's new is CUPS 1.4.

I plan to hook the smb.conf out of Debian Lenny later today- it is quite different. I'll report on that, but any ideas, developers?

Gerry


Whats new with the cups?
I added patriots fix and didn't include the one I was providing earlier because people figured it wasn't needed, maybe it is?
also in Bbarry's script I removed the purple how to, since really it was no longer needed and made it go to the printer setup which wouldn't effect anything, so really the only differences is that my earlier patch wasn't included, I'll try to dig it up and let you try it and see if that helps:)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 04:22    Post subject:  

Whodo wrote:
This is the theme I would LIKE to use, but I don't want to tread on Sigmund's toes by not using Deep Thought.
Don't worry, Warren, you have already crushed both my feet by including tcl, icewm, clockskins, ....... Laughing

You should do what you think is best for Puppy, not for me, ttuuxxx, or anyone else Exclamation

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 20 [300 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1070s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]