QEMU-Puppy: tips on running Linux in Windows

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
dtopham

QEMU-Puppy: tips on running Linux in Windows

#1 Post by dtopham »

Subject QEMU-Puppy
(see: http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/index.html)

I was intrigued and inspired by Erik Veenstra's work on QEMU-Puppy and have always been in awe of Barry Kauler's work since I discovered EVE many years ago. I like the idea of running Linux within Windows because I work in a lab with only Windows and do not have permission to boot any other system (only the admin can change the boot order!). So now, I can finally experiment with and learn Linux! Thank you. But I had to make a couple of adjustments that required much time to figure out and I would like to share this with you in case you run into a similar need.

I want to use compiling tools (such as g++) that are in the shared file system available from Barry's website: usr_devx.sfs

I had usee puppy.exe to boot Puppy from the USB drive as suggested in QEMU-Puppy, but without the source code I cannot alter it to add the following improvement: (maybe put this in a BAT file?)

D:\allinoneqemu.exe -hda puphda -hdb usr_cram.fs -hdc pup100 -hdd usr_devx.sfs -m 256

But then, this is not enough, I must also mount this shared file system from within puppy. I did it this way (after hours of searching and reading about Puppy's boot sequence):

losetup /dev/loop2 /dev/hdd

mount -r -t squashfs /dev/loop2 mnt/home

Now I can access compiling tools in mnt/home. I wish there was a way to automate this sequence somehow.

-Dave

dtopham

QEMU-Puppy

#2 Post by dtopham »

I forgot to post my eMail in previous post in case anyone has questions:
dtopham@acm.org

MU

#3 Post by MU »

You can run it from a batchfile.
You might add the mount-commands to /etc/rc.d/rc.local0

Mark

MU

#4 Post by MU »

http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Emulators/Puppy-Qemu.zip (Size: 1.3 MB).

It includes Qemu for Windows (also Windows98),