(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Sep 2020, 17:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Opera 11.11 pet +portable +WebM +locales +flash-adblock
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 17 [245 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 00:16    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
Nooblet0218 wrote:
anyone having problem with input to plugins? using the same plugins (the exact same files), work completely find in firefox... any flash application pretty much just accepts the first click and then stops responding to clicks (still responds to mouseovers though) and keystrokes. i've had the exact same problem in ubuntu with opera, has anyone seen any possible solution to this?

the solution i used to fix this last time was to start opera using this:
Code:
 GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1 opera &

however this doesn't seem to be working anymore


switch tabs then switch back again.works for when the keyboard stops responding too.
from inside the directory:
Code:
 GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1 ./opera &
will start opera. not sure whether it fixes anything


yeah if i switch tabs i can get another click in, but then i have to switch again to get another click lol

seems like an opera bug to me, strange though because i don't get the same problem on my ubuntu computer.

i don't really use flash so i'll just wait for the next version,

it's strange because i stumbled across a flash app today that didn't do it... but most seem to do it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 16:16    Post subject:  

final opera 10.60-6386 cannot do java?
if it does i cant see where to switch it on
menu>settings >preferences>advanced>content
give image below
java.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.64 KB
 Viewed   2260 Time(s)

java.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 17:46    Post subject:  

with coolpups directions,

from http://puppylinux.org/wikka/JavaRuntimeEnvironment
Quote:
Opera
Go to: Tools > Preferences > Advanced > Content; Tick Enable plug-ins; click Plug-in options
Opera automatically recognizes a properly installed Java.
Plug-in path: /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

if using http://puppeee.com/files/sfs/java_jre1.6.sfs
add path
/opt/jre1.6.0_21/lib/i386/
in the "change path" button (from above Plug-in Options screen)

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4878
Location: Blue Springs, MO

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 19:48    Post subject:  

the script that runs opera has a bunch of probable java paths - maybe it can be added there?
_________________
Check out my github repositories. I may eventually get around to updating my blogspot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1470
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 22:54    Post subject:  

What gstreamer files does Opera 10.60 rely on. I know there's a pet package for later Puppy's but what if you want to run opera in the Puppy 2 series.
_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 08:08    Post subject:  

john biles wrote:
What gstreamer files does Opera 10.60 rely on.


Gstreamer
few plugins from Gstreamer-good-plugins
and even fewer from Gstreamer-bad-plugins

If you untar the pet you'll find inside those that are needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1470
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 10:41    Post subject:  

Hello Michalis,
Thanks for the info Very Happy

_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
xman


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 15:57    Post subject:  

Opera RC1 10.61.6415_i386.deb is finally out (http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/), after many fixes to 10.60 (and to 10.70.6396, I think). Oracle probes that Java is working: http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp?jre_version=1.6.0_21&vendor=Sun+Microsystems+Inc.&os=Linux&os_version2.6.27.47.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xman


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Tue 03 Aug 2010, 14:53    Post subject:  

http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/: "...we are testing the 10.61 release, and 10.70 in parallel, which may cause some confusion if you look at build numbers. The most recent 10.61 build may have a higher build number than the latest 10.70 build, but that is simply the number assigned to them by the build system. Opera "10.70" is still the main development branch, while 10.61 is only intended to be a smaller security/bug fix release."

This is interesting and somewhat confusing, I think? Confused So, there is opera_10.70.6416_i386.deb and RC2 opera_10.61.6422_i386.deb to choose. 10.60 stable has a kind of beta feel. So, I think, 10.61 RC2 is DoubleBeta, maybe? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 12 Aug 2010, 11:58    Post subject:  

Quote:
Opera 10.61 released

By olli. Thursday, 12. August 2010, 08:04:33


http://get3.opera.com/pub/opera/linux/1061/opera-10.61-6430.i386.linux.tar.gz
also available in pet from
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Opera

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 01:17    Post subject:  

Nooblet0218 wrote:
aarf wrote:
Nooblet0218 wrote:
anyone having problem with input to plugins? using the same plugins (the exact same files), work completely find in firefox... any flash application pretty much just accepts the first click and then stops responding to clicks (still responds to mouseovers though) and keystrokes. i've had the exact same problem in ubuntu with opera, has anyone seen any possible solution to this?

the solution i used to fix this last time was to start opera using this:
Code:
 GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1 opera &

however this doesn't seem to be working anymore


switch tabs then switch back again.works for when the keyboard stops responding too.
from inside the directory:
Code:
 GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1 ./opera &
will start opera. not sure whether it fixes anything


yeah if i switch tabs i can get another click in, but then i have to switch again to get another click lol

seems like an opera bug to me, strange though because i don't get the same problem on my ubuntu computer.

i don't really use flash so i'll just wait for the next version,

it's strange because i stumbled across a flash app today that didn't do it... but most seem to do it


just as an update opera 10.61 completely fixed this issue, they stated it in the changelog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 01:17    Post subject:  

oops double post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 10:38    Post subject: Opera updated to version 10.62  

Opera updated to version 10.62
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 11:07    Post subject: Opera updated to version 10.63  

Opera updated to version 10.63

Changes since Opera 10.62


User interface
Improved
Disabled sync protocol support to improve resizing of windows
Added various key UNIX IME improvements

Fixed
Crash when removing custom settings folders
Start Bar being blanked out after opening a background tab
Opera Unite Messenger application not loading
Crash when saving a file while the page redirects
Crash after leaving a page containing Flash with wmode="transparent"
Using Opera Link, bookmarks dragged out of the Opera Mini folder are recreated when sent as added in the Opera Mini folder again
Opera Link freezing on startup
Fallback to a second address being very slow
Importing Firefox bookmarks freezing Opera
Import Firefox bookmarks file filter being broken in KDE
Reloading pages give multiple unclosable download dialogs
Problems launching the default browser in different UNIX desktop environments
Mouse selection not copying to clipboard
Korean IME not working on Ubuntu 10.04
iBus: only the first typed Chinese character being committed
Menus being as high as the screen and nearly empty
Crash when viewing the bookmark menu



Display and scripting
Improved
Handling of Content-Disposition extended parameters

Fixed
Memory corruption when using SVG in an <img> element
Several JavaScript-related issues, including one with Yahoo! Mail Classic
Incorrect compilation to native code leads to wrong arithmetic results
Crash when assigning data or src attribute on a focused and highlighted <input> element with dirty layout
JavaScript alerts opening shortly after a page loads close instantly



Miscellaneous
Improved
Added search suggestions from Baidu

Fixed
External links not being opened from widgets on Linux
100% CPU usage occurring when starting Opera
Crash when opening a file with Content-Disposition: attachment directly in Opera



Network
Fixed
Fallback to a second address in DNS being very slow



Security
Fixes
Fixed an issue that allowed cross-domain checks to be bypassed, allowing limited data theft using CSS, as reported by Isaac Dawson; see our advisory.
Fixed an issue where manipulating the window could be used to spoof the page address; see our advisory.
Fixed an issue with reloads and redirects that could allow spoofing and cross-site scripting; see our advisory.
Fixed an issue that allowed private video streams to be intercepted, as reported by Nirankush Panchbhai of Microsoft Vulnerability Research; see our advisory.
Fixed an issue that caused JavaScript to run in the wrong security context after manual interaction; see our advisory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 865
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Oct 2010, 00:39    Post subject: Java in Opera 10.63
Subject description: How to enable it.
 

It does not seem to be working according to the test at
http://www.javatester.org/version.html

I'm looking at this page from Opera:

http://www.opera.com/support/kb/view/459/

but it does not match what I see at Tools > Preferences > Advanced > Content in Opera 10.63 at all.

I do have Java installed and working in OpenOffice at /usr/lib/jre 1.6.0_18

Opera 10.63 is installed at /mnt/home/opera per http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Opera which sends me here http://puppylinux.org/wikka/JavaRuntimeEnvironment It says:
Not for FAT32 partitions. jre-1.6.0.22.pet

As I said, my Opera is in /mnt/home/, which is fat32, but my jre is inside the pupsave, which is .2fs.

Thanks for any advice. Actually I'm not too sure what java is good for in the browser except that certain sites seem to need it.

Last edited by Henry on Tue 19 Oct 2010, 00:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 17 [245 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2592s ][ Queries: 12 (0.2031s) ][ GZIP on ]