Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 13 Dec 2018, 22:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Opera 11.11 pet +portable +WebM +locales +flash-adblock
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 17 [245 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 343
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 02:32    Post subject: Re: Opera 10.10 static via menu  

sheldonisaac wrote:
I found that this works.

Then edit ~.jwmrc, to add this line:

<Program label="Opera web browser" icon="PuppyBrowser.png">opera</Program>

Where can I get a different icon for this, other than "PuppyBrowser.png" ?

Thanks,
Sheldon


hei is the menu still appear when you restart jwm ?

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 03:01    Post subject: Re: Opera 10.10 static via menu  

sheldonisaac wrote:
I found that this works.

Make an execuatble script in /usr/local/bin, as follows:

#!/bin/sh
cd /usr/local/apps/Opera-10.10-portable-customized
./opera

I named this little file opera


thanks.
remember to change the permissions of the new file to executable by right-click>properties>tick executable
and when it is in the /usr/bin/ it will drag to the desktop. and clicking there will open opera when it is also outside of the pupsave. mine:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /mnt/home/opera10.10/Opera-10.10-portable-customized/
./opera

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 03:57    Post subject:  

just one last hurdle.
setting the mime type run action to open some-saved-opera.mht files to opera by dragging /usr/bin/opera into the run-action box causes opera-browser to open when the file is clicked but NOT with the clicked file opened in a tab. still need to drag an drop the opera.mht file into the open opera browser.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 04:20    Post subject: Re: Opera 10.10 static via menu  

pri wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:
I found that this works.

Then edit ~.jwmrc, to add this line:

<Program label="Opera web browser" icon="PuppyBrowser.png">opera</Program>

Where can I get a different icon for this, other than "PuppyBrowser.png" ?

Thanks,
Sheldon


hei is the menu still appear when you restart jwm ?

this works for me :
first edit in the right place in /root/.jwmrc
Code:
<Program label="Opera web browser" icon="/mnt/home/opera10.10/Opera-10.10-portable-customized/usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/opera.png">opera</Program>
then menu>shutdown> restart JWM
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 343
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 13:02    Post subject:  

aarf :
yes .. sure..., but try after it instaled any pet who have menu like pidgin or add an sfs. after that. i think your menu will be disappear.

why just you make menu like other in the /usr/share/applications. and it will be generate a new menu for opera automaticaly when jwm restarted.

opera.desktop
Quote:
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
TryExec=opera
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Opera
GenericName=Web browser
Exec=opera
Terminal=false
Categories=WebBrowser
Icon=opera.xpm
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml+xml;application/x-mimearchive;application/xml;application/rss+xml;application/rdf+xml;image/svg+xml;image/gif;image/jpeg;image/png;image/x-bmp;image/x-xbm;application/mime
Comment=Web Browser
Type=Application


i got it from opera 10.10 debian,

sory if i am wrong, i just courious Mr. Green Mr. Green

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 23:30    Post subject:  

pri wrote:
aarf :
yes .. sure..., but try after it instaled any pet who have menu like pidgin or add an sfs. after that. i think your menu will be disappear.

why just you make menu like other in the /usr/share/applications. and it will be generate a new menu for opera automaticaly when jwm restarted.

opera.desktop
Quote:
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
TryExec=opera
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Opera
GenericName=Web browser
Exec=opera
Terminal=false
Categories=WebBrowser
Icon=opera.xpm
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml+xml;application/x-mimearchive;application/xml;application/rss+xml;application/rdf+xml;image/svg+xml;image/gif;image/jpeg;image/png;image/x-bmp;image/x-xbm;application/mime
Comment=Web Browser
Type=Application


i got it from opera 10.10 debian,

sory if i am wrong, i just courious Mr. Green Mr. Green


you maybe right pri and michalis could be interested, however for me i mostly have all my needed links in a launcher and seldom use the menus. it is faster and more convenient from a launcher. however sometimes i have to manually reinstall the launcher too when other install have messed with .jwmrc.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 19:50    Post subject:  

now had a little time to play around with this.
installing pwidgets-2.2.4 in upup457 will erase the manual opera menu entry edited into .jwmc from above, as pointed out by pri.
installing michalis's previouly made Opera-portable-menu.pet will put this file
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Opera 10 internet suite
Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/opera.png
Comment=Opera 10 internet suite
Exec=/usr/bin/opera
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Internet;WebBrowser;
GenericName=Opera 10
.
to /usr/share/applications/opera10.desktop and opera will then be more permanently clickably openable from the menu.
Opera-portable-menu.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Opera-portable-menu.pet 
Filesize  6.25 KB 
Downloaded  446 Time(s) 

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 343
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 23:17    Post subject:  

Very Happy hey... now its better...
_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 776
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 08:52    Post subject: Re: Opera 10.10 pet +portable etc
Subject description: About sharing the profile with Windows Opera
 

(I've snipped most of this)

Michalis wrote:

The portable versions are in a tar.gz form not pet and so you can extract them to anywhere you want outside from the pup save file like other partition or a usb flash drive. Also they can be used from different puppys. Even more if you are using windows you can link the window version to use the profile folder made in the place where you extracted the files and so have the same profile folder. The profile folder is where the user settings are stored.


Thanks a lot.

Now I have both this static Opera 10.10 under Puppy 4.31, and also the Windows version running in Windows XP.

I don't understand how to
Quote:
link the window version to use the profile folder made in the place where you extracted the files and so have the same profile folder.


Both the Linux Opera directory and the Windows Opera folder are seen (from here, MS-Windows) as being within the same higher directory on a FAT32 partition:
D:\MyProgs\Comm\Opera
and
D:\MyProgs\Comm\Opera-10.10-portable-customized
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 03:37    Post subject:  

Opera 10.50 is still a bit shaky I think ,it keeps crashing at critical times. I am looking forward to it when it becomes stable. I have been running 10.10 for a while and it is OK but nowhere near as quick as 10.50.
Back to Chrome until 10.50 settles, the speed of chrome is addictive.
Keep up the good work.I would rather use Opera.
Regards Dennis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 12:30    Post subject:  

Opera 10.50 updated to version 6242.
It's much better and almost stable.


@sheldonisaac @aarf @pri and @mikeslr
Thank you all very much for the feedback and your suggestions. Unfortunately I'm very busy lately and don't have much time to get involve with the packages I provide. I'll put yours solution in the first post.
Thanks again.


sheldonisaac wrote:
Now I have both this static Opera 10.10 under Puppy 4.31, and also the Windows version running in Windows XP.

I don't understand how to
Quote:
link the window version to use the profile folder made in the place where you extracted the files and so have the same profile folder.


It's a bit complicated because linux and windows link files in a different way. You can achieve that by linking in the linux profile folder the folder of the windows version. That means that the real folder is the one which creates the windows version. My mistake, I should have made it more clear.
By the way I just had checked it and I'm not using it any more, it's easier to use the "opera link". The only file someone has to manually copy is the "wand.dat" which contains the passwords.


@dalderton
True version 10.50 isn't mature enough and isn't for everyday use. But try the latest version which I uploaded and I believe you'll find it much improved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 09:26    Post subject:  

Michalis wrote:
Opera 10.50 updated to version 6242.
It's much better and almost stable. . . But try the latest version which I uploaded and I believe you'll find it much improved.
had quick look at 10.50 customized portable in a virgin 431 with no pupsave. On clicking the opera file a browser didn't open but opera was evident in the running processes list.

md5sum: c689dd4452f58e0bb9d749a149ca0d43 Opera-10.50-portable-customized.tar.gz
on sda2 at /initrd/mnt/dev_ro2/home/user/Opera-10.50-portable-customized/
Code:
# ./opera
X request error - BadAtom (invalid Atom parameter):
        Major opcode: 20, Minor opcode: 0
        Resource ID: 0


at /mnt/sdb1/Opera-10.50-portable-customized/
Code:
# ./opera
#

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 12 Mar 2010, 10:52    Post subject:  

md5sum: dab7900799041a5c71a67ba3077de3a0 Opera-10..50-portable.tar.gz

/mnt/sdc1/Opera-10.50-portable/

Code:
# ./opera
X request error - BadAtom (invalid Atom parameter):
        Major opcode: 20, Minor opcode: 0
        Resource ID: 0


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri 12 Mar 2010, 11:12    Post subject:  

aarf Because I don't have time now to look at it, I will check it tonight and will report back. In my case they worked without any problem and it's a bit strange because it is a static build. Anyway I'll report you tonight and if you have seen any other problems let me know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4844
Location: Blue Springs, MO

PostPosted: Fri 12 Mar 2010, 13:34    Post subject:  

I don't think that it is a "static" build - just that they have switched to gtk2 support so that now you do not need to download qt. A static linked opera would require that the rest of opera be compatible with the licenses involved ... run ldd to verify, but I am pretty sure that is the case.
_________________
Check out my github repositories. I may eventually get around to updating my blogspot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 17 [245 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1921s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0308s) ][ GZIP on ]