Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 03:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
home print server and hp officejet 5510
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
showdownmetal

Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 01:21    Post subject:  home print server and hp officejet 5510  

im curious if anyone is using a print server on they're lan with linux and if so could someone help me get CUPS up and running? it would be much appreciated. the print server is a belkin something or another. im not really sure where to begin with this but it shouldnt be too hard to set up. thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10822
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 03:47    Post subject: Re: home print server and hp officejet 5510  

showdownmetal wrote:
im curious if anyone is using a print server on they're lan with linux and if so could someone help me get CUPS up and running? it would be much appreciated. the print server is a belkin something or another. im not really sure where to begin with this but it shouldnt be too hard to set up. thanks in advance!


when your setting up cups, theres a box to share the printer, you need to check that, and then once the printer is installed you need to click on administration, and make it default server.
then the rest of the pc's on your home network should see that printer and be able to use, you'll have to setup up cups on each of the pc's. Thats off the top of mt head. But should be close.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Mar 2009, 08:43    Post subject:  

There are two steps to getting this working.

First, you need to find the correct driver for your HP5510. It will probably be easier to do this if you temporarily connect the printer directly to your Puppy machine and install it as a local printer.

It looks like this printer is supported by the HPIJS driver. You can get it as a PET package. Go to the Setup menu and run the Puppy Package Manager. Click the System button and select the hpijs_2.8.2_static-1 package. Then run the CUPS setup wizard.

Once you have the printer working, transfer it back to the print server. Your Belkin unit probably uses "socket" printing which requires you to know its IP address. Read here.

Run the CUPS setup wizard again.
Under Device, select: AppSocket/JetDirect.
Under Device URI, enter something like: socket://192.168.2.1:9100
Then select your HP printer.

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
showdownmetal

Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 10 Mar 2009, 02:26    Post subject:  

im gonna try this, quick question tho, will this be effected by a WEP key? my internet at my house has a 25 random digit wep key...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
showdownmetal

Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 10 Mar 2009, 11:42    Post subject:  

close but no cigar... it just says processing and connecting to whatever socket thing i put in...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Mar 2009, 14:49    Post subject:  

Did the printer work when you connected it locally?

Did you determine the correct IP address of the print server?

Have a look at the printer settings in Windows. Are you using the same values in CUPS?

Reply back and show exactly what you typed in for the URI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0485s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]