Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 12:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
serial port inop
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
johng143
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2005, 01:42    Post_subject:  serial port inop  

I cannot open /dev/ttyS0 using cutecom. Some utilities say
/dev/ttyS0 isin't even there. ls says it is..

I know my hardware is good, because I have mandrake 10 on
the HD and running under that everything with the serial
ports is ok.

anyone got any ideas?

thanks

jg
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2005, 08:22    Post_subject:  

Does lsmod show the 8250 module loaded?
If not, try:

# modprobe 8250
# modprobe 8250_pci

For Pup 1.0.3 I will probably compile the kernel with serial support built-in not as modules, so this problem will go away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
johng143
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2005, 18:58    Post_subject: that's it  

Before I saw the reply here, I found that the 8250_pci module
loads at the beginning of the modem wizard, not with the rc.local,
or other system rc's.

Run the modem wizard, then ttyS0 comes alive. I put :

modprobe 8250_pci

in rc.local

Will that cause trouble later? I communicate with a set of measurement
instruments (data loggers) via serial and terminal applications...
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 10:04    Post_subject:  

No, it won't cause any trouble later, it will just be redundant with 1.0.3. and it will give an error msg than there is no 8250_pci module.

You can remove it when you upgrade to 1.0.3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0385s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]