Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 RC3 Deep Thought - Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 19 [272 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 08:39    Post subject:  

AbiWord v2.6.8 Released
---------------------------------
This release includes the following changes (and more!):

* Fix the auto-save feature to actually work and respect the user-selected time interval
* Properly export table border and cell styles for OpenDocument documents
* Make sure the Office Open XML exporter writes out valid documents
* Fix a great number of memory leaks

Full changelog: http://www.abiword.com/changelogs/2.6.8.phtml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 08:57    Post subject:  

Warren
Do you have xli installed? - If you have, I think that must be wrong. I don't see why it should be there. It is not in 4.12. I think that is the answer to wallpaper issue I reported. REMOVE IT - NOW Very Happy


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 09:03    Post subject:  NOTICE to DEVS!!  

Guys, I'm very happy with the stability of RC4 in private testing. Therefore I will upload it in 8-10 hours unless one of you asks for an extension.

@Zigbert - I think the only way to resolve the clock thing is to upload RC4 so you can play with it yourselves. Setting sleep didn't work. Commenting out the xli line in /root/.xinitrc didn't work either.

@All - the last of the niggling bugs appear to have been squashed
  • Abiword spell checking now works out of the box
  • RemaX seems stable
  • PETget has been localised
  • Pburn has been updated to 2.2
  • PCP Control Panel has been included on usability grounds
  • Alsa has been upgraded to 1.0.19 despite a minor dependency issue
  • ...and many scripts have been tweaked, polished or fixed as necessary
I will give you 48hrs from uploading to break RC4 and report. If there are no breaks of any note then I'll upload Final at the weekend.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 09:06    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Do you have xli installed? - If you have, I think that must be wrong. I don't see why it should be there. It is not in 4.12. I think that is the answer to wallpaper issue I reported. REMOVE IT - NOW Very Happy

I don't believe so, no. It would only be there if it was in the Pwidgets-2.0.4 pack. The line in /root/.xinitrc is a hangover from earlier experiments with Pwidgets and the clock.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 09:44    Post subject:  

How can I experiment with it if it only occur at first boot (or is it at every boot). Pup_420.sfs is read only, and is out of my reach?????


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 09:46    Post subject:  

Whodo

clock issue:

before you upload rc4 could you please try attached xonclock to replace old one in /usr/local/bin/

thanks
xonclock.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xonclock.tar.gz 
Filesize  18.23 KB 
Downloaded  379 Time(s) 

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 09:52    Post subject:  

trio
What is different to this xonclock compared to patriots?


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 10:00    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
trio
What is different to this xonclock compared to patriots?


Sigmund


No it's the same..I just afraid that whodo didn't put the right xonclock --> seems to me he's having the previous xonclock symptoms

Edit: come to think of it again..seems more like patriot's xonclock is getting wrong window-id

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website

Last edited by trio on Thu 19 Mar 2009, 11:59; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 10:05    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:

Hey Who I also compiled alsa, Which file is complaining about missing libs, I could give you the same file. I compiled alsa-firmware, alsalibs, alsa-oss, alsaplugins, alsatools, alsautils. Then only one which wouldn't compile was alsa drivers, That was screwy on my pc. So inform me which file you need and i'll send it to you.
Also don't forget the older but better Claws mail on page2 plus my other updates. Smile
I guess probably no need to update Seamonkey since there doesn't look like anytime left before the final for testing. Oh ya one thing thats bugging me a lot, when i right click on a file, a lot of the time I get "Customise Menu" and it auto starts because I have a sensitive i-rocks mouse, anyways we could have a blank space in the menu located at that same area so the Customise menu doesn't basically autostart around 30 times today also? Like maybe a label using a period, or you could put something like 'puppy menu' who know, just that program needs to be moved up or down by one name Smile

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 10:10    Post subject: Re: NOTICE to DEVS!!  

WhoDo wrote:
Guys, I'm very happy with the stability of RC4 in private testing.

Cheers


I'm more than happy with the stability:)
I updated Glib, Gtk2, Atk, Pixman, Cairo, Pango with all the latest versions and its still working, lol, I can compile etc, no problems Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigbeck

Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 10:41    Post subject:  

I can't connect the wireless on my Asus eee 900A. It loads the driver for ethernet, though. I'm using RC3. When I load the proper driver (atho),It just returns, "no new devices found". This same driver works fine with the Pupeee distro. Any possible solutions?

Thank you,

Don
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 11:21    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
How can I experiment with it if it only occur at first boot (or is it at every boot). Pup_420.sfs is read only, and is out of my reach?????


Sigmund
Find a spot in a Linux partition with 300+ MB of free space and create a directory named rootfs-complete. For this example, I assume /mnt/home/rootfs-complete.

From the same directory where you have a pup_420.sfs file, run these commands:
Code:
mount -o loop pup_420.sfs /mnt/data
cp -a /mnt/data/* /mnt/home/rootfs-complete/
umount /mnt/data

Now you can go into /mnt/home/rootfs-complete/ and change things. When done, go to /mnt/home and run this:
Code:
mksquashfs rootfs-complete pup_420.sfs

That will produce a pup_420.sfs file in /mnt/home. Test it. If it needs more adjustments, go back to /mnt/home/rootfs-complete/ and make more changes.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nilla

Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 11:34    Post subject:  

bigbeck wrote:
I can't connect the wireless on my Asus eee 900A. It loads the driver for ethernet, though. I'm using RC3. When I load the proper driver (atho),It just returns, "no new devices found". This same driver works fine with the Pupeee distro. Any possible solutions?

Thank you,

Don


Try replacing the madwifi pet package with the one on the package repository (madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r3861-k2.6.25.16.pet). Did the trick for my eee 701.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 11:56    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood
Wow, thank you.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 12:26    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:

Find a spot in a Linux partition with 300+ MB of free space and create a directory named rootfs-complete. For this example, I assume /mnt/home/rootfs-complete.

From the same directory where you have a pup_420.sfs file, run these commands:
Code:
mount -o loop pup_420.sfs /mnt/data
cp -a /mnt/data/* /mnt/home/rootfs-complete/
umount /mnt/data

Now you can go into /mnt/home/rootfs-complete/ and change things. When done, go to /mnt/home and run this:
Code:
mksquashfs rootfs-complete pup_420.sfs

That will produce a pup_420.sfs file in /mnt/home. Test it. If it needs more adjustments, go back to /mnt/home/rootfs-complete/ and make more changes.

Thanks thats a better way of changing system files and building a test model Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 19 [272 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0805s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]