Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 14:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
No sound at all with a Via 82XX south bridge.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Psycho Mike
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 25 Nov 2005, 02:47    Post_subject:  No sound at all with a Via 82XX south bridge.  

I love Puppy to death,but cant use it because my built in sound is from a Via 82xx chipset....odd because I have a similar chipset in my old laptop,and an older version of Puppy worked fine.Is anyone else having this problem,and is there a fix for it?I realy want to use Puppy,so pleeeeeeaaaasssseeee someone help me!!! Thank you!!!!! Very Happy
Back to top
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 25 Nov 2005, 04:13    Post_subject:  

You may just need to manually load the OSS audio module for your chip. Try this -
modprobe via82cxxx_audio
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Psycho Mike
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 25 Nov 2005, 20:21    Post_subject: Do I do that in a terminal?  

Just wondering how to modprobe,as I never heard of it.......Thank You!
Back to top
mayakovski


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 124
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

PostPosted: Fri 25 Nov 2005, 20:44    Post_subject: Re: Do I do that in a terminal?  

Psycho Mike wrote:
Just wondering how to modprobe,as I never heard of it.......Thank You!


I think the following would work.

add
modprobe via82cxxx_audio

to
/etc/rc.d/rc.local0

_________________
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Psycho Mike
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 25 Nov 2005, 21:20    Post_subject: Gotcha,givin' it a try  

Now I know where to put it,get back with the results,Thanks!
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0500s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]