Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 23:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Introducing PULP - 125 MB Puplet for older hardware
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 18 [258 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
Liam Murphy

Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 06:22    Post subject:  

DMcCunney wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
DMcCunney wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
Has anyone got any idea please about how this might have happened and how to fix it? At the moment (though the community centre tech's being very understanding about it) I hardly dare mention Linux or Puppy in the centre for fear of the guffaws I'd get.

This sounds like an incomplete installation of some sort. I can't see how running Puppy from a live CD should do this.

Did this persist after a power cycle?

Thanks for answering, Dennis;

Yes it did. There was no installation; I took the CD out of the drive and tried to boot from the hard drive as usual, with this result.

I can't see why it might have happened either, but it did. According to our expert, a couple of pointers went missing from the Windows XP boot loader (NTLDR) and one of them linked to the hard drive. It's worrying me somewhat because I've always used Puppy on public computers on the understanding that it's completely "safe" to run it from a CD-ROM and a savefile on the hard drive, as I did in this case.

Weird. If something trashed the Master Boot Record, I can see something like this occurring. That's not hard to fix, but is a bit tedious.

I'd be very startled if a standard Puppy CD did that. I can't say for sure about a custom Puplet. It might have been coincidence, or it might have been an improperly housebroken Puppy, making a mess where it wasn't supposed to. Give a copy of the CD to the tech at the community center, and ask him to look at it. You want a second opinion to rule out Puppy being at fault.
_______
Dennis


Hi I am new to the forum and to Puppy.

I bought this computer recently because I am a wannabe writer (never published) who needs a machine exclusively for word processing, so I didn't care that the laptop was old. I was appalled, however, at how slow XP Professional was running on it, I formated the HD and I installed Puppy 5.1 on it to speed it up. It worked great and I am very happy with how fast it is Very Happy .

However, when I went to reboot for the first time "NTLDR is missing" error came up so everytime I boot I have to insert the Puppy CD twice, once to get the error, second to boot the system.

I was very happy to see this post and that there was a fix, but I am sorry that it is tedious Crying or Very sad .

Dennis, could you share the fix with me?

Liam
___________

Gateway 9550 Laptop: Pentuim III - 1066MHz with 254MB RAM, 20 GB hard drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3413
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 07:22    Post subject:  

" I formated the HD "

Should have used DBan.
No way that should show after format.
Or do you have 2 partitions??

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Liam Murphy

Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 14:59    Post subject:  

I just have the 1 partition. I don't have a problem with reformatting the drive again, so what is DBan and how do I use it?

Thanks for replying!

Liam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3413
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 17:55    Post subject:  

http://www.dban.org/

5 Minutes would do for your purposes.
Under no circumstances boot this with another drive
which has important data..

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Liam Murphy

Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Aug 2010, 04:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for your advise Chris, after many adventures I was able to get rid of the error message and got Puppy installed again.

Liam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3413
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Aug 2010, 02:10    Post subject:  

Liam:

Good result - thanks 4 posting back.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 13:05    Post subject:  

pulp 0.1 file for rapidshare is no longer there?
good found a link that worked.

i really like the speed of pulp but i would like to go back to rox as the file manager.
Need to edit pmount and is there any other apps. need to mod for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
daxo

Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 15:43    Post subject: download links dead/broken  

EDIT found pulp download at http://flusslinie.wordpress.com/category/pulp/

rapidshare dl not working

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zenfunk

Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Fri 24 Sep 2010, 18:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
i really like the speed of pulp but i would like to go back to rox as the file manager.
Need to edit pmount and is there any other apps. need to mod for that?

Hm, don't think anything else, apart from pmount, calls the file manager. You can open pmount in a text editor and do a search for emelfm and replace it by rox- this schould work. If all fails just copy pmount from another puppy iso.

I'm glad that so me of you like my little project. I found that puppylinux.asia is no more- so sad...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 00:48    Post subject:  

any plans for an new pulp?
seamonkey and rox gtk1.2 ?


if you do:
have rox there for the non-emelfm users.
some of the gtk1.2 themes look better than most gtk2.0 ones.
great work!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dave_B

Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Sep 2010, 00:04    Post subject: Pulp works great on my 1999 laptop  

PIII 512M 750MHz
10G HD
I'm using it right now. Minimalist and FAST.

Thank you

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zenfunk

Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 12:30    Post subject:  

harii4 wrote:
any plans for an new pulp?
seamonkey and rox gtk1.2 ?

Nope, so far pulp does what I want it to do.
It's all free software- so feel free to roll your own. Personally I'd love to see what people can do with GTK 1.2 apps. So far all filemanagers for GTK 1.2 are not ideal (IMHO).
Emelfm is a bit awkward to use for someone who is used to GNOMEs Nautilus, and to be frank I never liked rox very much.
Something more standard - like pcmanfm or nautilus would be great, but they are all gtk 2.0 or gnomish or heavyweight.

Quote:
if you do:
have rox there for the non-emelfm users.
Rox is still there. Just start it via terminal.
Quote:
some of the gtk1.2 themes look better than most gtk2.0 ones.
great work!!!!
Unfortunately the better looking themes are slow as well- it seem as if you can't have yur cake and eat it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2539
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 24 Dec 2010, 03:25    Post subject: Browser wont start
Subject description: browser works ok on pulp 002 but not 003
 

Hi Zenfunk, on my old laptop (Tosh 2180cdt) pulp 002 works well, but I have a problem with pulp003. The browser will not start.

Have you heard anything similar from others?

I've tried lots of live distros but am very much a beginner and don't really know where to start troubleshooting for this problem.

Pulp003 looks nicer so I'm keen to get it going if I can. cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zenfunk

Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 23:16    Post subject:  

Strange problem.
Could you tell me what happens when you type firefox in the shell?

Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zenfunk

Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 23:16    Post subject:  

Strange problem.
Could you tell me what happens when you type firefox in the shell?

Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 18 [258 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1362s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0391s) ][ GZIP on ]