Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 20:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFS Install 0.1.2 [updated 16.10.2009.]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 03:06    Post subject:  

Wow, thanks Dejan. You dont hang around. I will get it downloaded.
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 10:57    Post subject:  

does this pet work on puppy431?
i'm very careful installing software as i don't want to get this mess up again and again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 11:50    Post subject:  

Yes, as long as you use sfs version 4, sfs 3 needs to be converted first.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
unclejack3

Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 08:45    Post subject: amarok install
Subject description: amarok
 

hi,all

i followed this instruction to install amarok
---http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40779

pressed right button to install,,as it did ..then rebooted ,,,,found it in multimedia,,,,but when i open it ,,,,it flickers quickly on the screen and disappears ....


its amarok 430sfs4

any ideas...

Last edited by unclejack3 on Thu 04 Mar 2010, 09:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 08:49    Post subject:  

Can't find how to open amarok?
Did you refresh menus? It should show in Multimedia menu.
Also try to run it from terminal: type: amarok and hit enter

To refresh menus in jwm:
Code:
fixmenus && jwm -restart

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
unclejack3

Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 18:00    Post subject: amarock
Subject description: cant run
 

hi,

its in the multimedia menu....i ran fix menus and rebooted,,,i also downloaded version 4.10 and converted it,,,,but it still flickers quickly on the screen then nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 18:11    Post subject:  

Then it probably misses some lib, what puppy version do you use? puppy 4.3.1 also needs libpcre did you install that?

Run amarok in terminal it will tell you if it misses deps.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 20 Mar 2010, 21:45    Post subject:  

Just had an opportunity to do a free install on a system, dejan, and needed the devx for it...your sfs installer worked great! Thanks! Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Wed 14 Apr 2010, 02:20    Post subject:
Subject description: updating openoffice
 

Hi Dejan,

I'm now trying to update OO to OO3.2 on the DT4.2.1 full install. I have d/l the sfs, and tried to install it. As far as I know, it may have done, but I didn't do anything about the original OO3.0 sfs install.

So, can these sfs files be uninstalled (you say 'no' in your first post, and I wish I'd read that earlier).

Can I just delete /opt/openoffice.org/basis3.0 and leave the basis3.2 file?

Or is this completely irrelevant to this thread?

Thanks for your ongoing support to strugglers like me,

Bones01

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 14 Apr 2010, 02:32    Post subject:  

Well, there is no option in sfs installer to uninstall but you can manually remove files, so since openoffice 3.0 is all in one directory deleting that dir would completely remove it.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Thu 15 Apr 2010, 01:50    Post subject:  

Thanks again Dejan. It worked beautifully and now I have OO3.2 running happily.

Appreciate your help.

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jfh

Joined: 23 Feb 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 01:26    Post subject: It works with Quriky 142
Subject description: Thank you
 

If you are still around.
It works with Quriky 142 Thank you Thank you Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 03:18    Post subject:  

You're welcome Smile
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 03:30    Post subject:  

Dejan don't get me wrong now. If this one don't uninstall then it is okay for full install they get sfs this way.

But for us with frugal install the way Shinobar or Seaside does sfs has the feature to uninstall them easily. Okay Seaside does not do all the error checking as Shinobar's does but instead Seaside's is very fast compared and it does uninstall.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2011, 03:34    Post subject:  

Yes, there are several other sfs installers that do uninstall, I think trio also had one.
I'm not adding that feature though.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0746s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]