Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 05:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Printing and Scanning in Upup [Updated]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 12 Apr 2009, 14:53    Post subject:  Printing and Scanning in Upup [Updated]  

Upup 4.66 now has CUPS 1.3.9 working, including Gutenprint dynamic PPDs.

To install an HPIJS printer, go here and download the hpijs-3.9.4-dynppds.pet.

For HPLIP devices, try the following:

1. Go here and install Patriot's hplipfw-p42-3.9.2-i486.

2. Then go here and install the cupsddk-1.2.3-i486.pet.

This procedure has had limited testing, so please report any successes or failures.

As you work with Upup's CUPS, you may encounter some old cached 1.1.23 pages. Go to /root/.TestGtkEmbed, drill down to the Cache folder and clean it out.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Tue 12 May 2009, 12:14; edited 8 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 15:34    Post subject:  

The closest Perl file I was able to locate was perl_5.8.8tiny-1.pet.

Your post says perl_5.5.8.tiny-1.pet.

Is this a typo?

After following your instructions my printer (HP-5610) appears to be installed, but does not print either a test page nor from ABIword.

My folder, /usr/lib/cips/filter is empty after the install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9257
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 16:30    Post subject:  

My mistake - that's a typo. However, your /usr/lib/cups/filter folder should contain a bunch of files from the CUPS 1.3.9 install.

Have you created a pup_save file yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 27 Apr 2009, 22:48    Post subject:  

CUPS works as-is in Upup alpha5.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0403s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]