Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 06:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Printing and Scanning in Upup [Updated]
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9160
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 12 Apr 2009, 14:53    Post_subject:  Printing and Scanning in Upup [Updated]  

Upup 4.66 now has CUPS 1.3.9 working, including Gutenprint dynamic PPDs.

To install an HPIJS printer, go here and download the hpijs-3.9.4-dynppds.pet.

For HPLIP devices, try the following:

1. Go here and install Patriot's hplipfw-p42-3.9.2-i486.

2. Then go here and install the cupsddk-1.2.3-i486.pet.

This procedure has had limited testing, so please report any successes or failures.

As you work with Upup's CUPS, you may encounter some old cached 1.1.23 pages. Go to /root/.TestGtkEmbed, drill down to the Cache folder and clean it out.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 15:34    Post_subject:  

The closest Perl file I was able to locate was perl_5.8.8tiny-1.pet.

Your post says perl_5.5.8.tiny-1.pet.

Is this a typo?

After following your instructions my printer (HP-5610) appears to be installed, but does not print either a test page nor from ABIword.

My folder, /usr/lib/cips/filter is empty after the install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9160
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 16:30    Post_subject:  

My mistake - that's a typo. However, your /usr/lib/cups/filter folder should contain a bunch of files from the CUPS 1.3.9 install.

Have you created a pup_save file yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 27 Apr 2009, 22:48    Post_subject:  

CUPS works as-is in Upup alpha5.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0469s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]