Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 05:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Personal Database
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [109 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 21:21    Post subject: Programmers aren't real people  

Greg said

Quote:
Help.. cursor in top section... had two original records in old data base... put cursor I think in second field to see if I could modify.. at the top section... hit random keys.. and blew out the two records.. record count stayed... but current record indicator went to negative number... so something blew big time. Prior, next, first.. nothing will show old records.


Shows you the difference between programmers and real people...hitting random keys(from Previous post)...who'd have thought... Laughing
It's great you're testing it Greg and the feed back speeds up ironing out bugs. The random keys effect has to do with key combinations equaling delete record (Ctrl+d etc)...the simple fix will be rollback, coming in 0.5b

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 22:27    Post subject:  

Very Happy

finally personal databases for pc...

one more feature needed --- > birthday record and option to auto remind it, perhaps link it with pschedule, at command or crontab... ?

interesting, I haven't seen anything like this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 23:50    Post subject:  

Master_wrong said

Quote:
one more feature needed --- > birthday record and option to auto remind it, perhaps link it with pschedule, at command or crontab... ?


Yes birthday record and pschedule link will be in upcoming version.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 07:28    Post subject: File Location
Subject description: Preferences
 

Is it possible/can it be done to set the default path of the database?

I use ChoicePup and have 3 savefiles.... one for day to day use, one for web development and one for testing. Rather than install the program and data in each of the versions, I would like to have it on my usb drive.

I've tested it, works fine on /mnt/home I'd like to tell the program to always look on /mnt/home/ppdb for the data files. Not only will it save space in the save files, but I can access the database(s) from windows when not running ChoicePup.

Thanks

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 08:28    Post subject: radom keys
Subject description: Just for the record
 

Quote:

Shows you the difference between programmers and real people...hitting random keys(from Previous post)...who'd have thought... Laughing
It's great you're testing it Greg and the feed back speeds up ironing out bugs. The random keys effect has to do with key combinations equaling delete record (Ctrl+d etc)...the simple fix will be rollback, coming in 0.5b
_


Just for the record.... keys I am certain I hit.. were fasdfasfasfasf.... possibly one row lower...as That is the set I use for entering random data into fields for many years...very fast to put in... Will check again.... Been writing user oriented programs since 1968 Smile). Operators will do almost anything, trust me!

Keep up the good work..
it is not easy making a program with complete error checking and all the features. It takes time to figure out what can go wrong, what can't go wrong and what WILL STILL GO WRONG! ERROR checking is one half of a program.

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 08:53    Post subject:  

tlchost said
Quote:
Is it possible/can it be done to set the default path of the database?


Yes, version 0.6(not released yet) already has the setting available in Options/Preferences menu.

Minnesota said
Quote:
what can't go wrong and what WILL STILL GO WRONG! ERROR checking is one half of a program.


Hit the nail on the head...maybe it's 75% of development time... Smile

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 10:23    Post subject: screen shots of fdadfasfasf
Subject description: screens
 

attached base test data base with two records.

second screen... entered afsdfasfasf or fafsfasdf into the name field... and you can see the record count and missing data... oh well....

Smile))
Entered top with fasfasfasf 5 26 09.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.49 KB
 Viewed   658 Time(s)

Entered top with fasfasfasf 5 26 09.jpg

test db wtih two records.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  test db wtih two records.jpg 
Filesize  52.74 KB 
Downloaded  267 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 18:04    Post subject:  

Minnesota, I have tried to duplicate the problem you're having but can't, could you give me a blow by blow so I can see what's happening.

Thanks

Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 19:12    Post subject: blow by blow
Subject description: seq
 

Brought up old database
It needs to have data.. I first used the original test db yesterday.

Today for the pictures I sent, I used test I had built with ver .4 Blue highlighted box is where I entered the random field data. Might blow on any data? I simply tried entering anything in the field....Just to see if I could still update the top pane. That is all I tried....

Move the cursor to the name field at the TOP window...

Hit a bunch of the home keys... sdfasfasfasfas or asfasfafasfasf or fsdffsafaas.... and it all blew up....Home keys with left hand.

If you still can not duplicate this.... I will try building again from scratch and give it another shot... sending the pieces...

OK?

Just guessing.... Key field.. first field is locked at the top.... second - name field was not... Did not try first address field.. as data was gone... Can build other test DB.. to test other fields if you need me to do so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 02:17    Post subject: Update  

Version 0.5b uploaded...

Major additions and changes:

1.) Grid is now read only
2.) Right click context menu in grid ( See Screenshot)
3.) Ability to see deleted records(in red) or not
4.) Undelete facility(provided you haven't packed the database)
5.) Sort database view on key field (last Name)
6.) Addition of calculator and calendar tools
7.) Preferences now active with default database location etc
8.) Context menu choices for email or WWW on selected record.

Freeform database creation will not be included till version 0.6. Also, for the time being the database view grid will be read only, as a glitch has turned up that cannot be addressed with Puppy's current version of Gtk2+.(This will be addressed, but I see it as no great inconvenience for the time being)

Please keep suggestions coming...

NB. Please uninstall all previous versions prior to install of 0.5b as number of changes will conflict with older versions.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 06:35    Post subject: similar problem
Subject description: Upper grid still open....
 

Sorry to report.. .but upper gird still open and same problem exists.

See attached.

Questions.

I attempted to Unload the old versions.. I had 0.4 and 0.5 loaded to Puppy 4.10 on a stick... was apparently able to unload .5 but 0.4 would not do a thing... so simply loaded .5b...and tried test. Blew up... so took new CD of 4.2.1 final.. - clean start. as you can see... same issue.

Now of course I can show deleted records... so for some reason top gird is 1) still unlocked... and 2) entering data to the name filed will blow out the db... which is quite interesting actually...

Is there a special method to uninstall a pet.. I have never tried it before.

Also learning more about how to use paint for capture Smile)) with text.

Will test other features. This problem can be fixed later.

Keep with it.
pb 5b 52709 b.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.1 KB
 Viewed   588 Time(s)

pb 5b 52709 b.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 06:55    Post subject:  

To remove pet go to Puppy Package Manager in Setup menu and remove from there.

The only thing I came up with is that the 'd' key is a shortcut to delete record in the grid...I can remove that...but that's it at this stage...remember database records are only really deleted from a table when the database is packed and re-indexed, otherwise they are just hidden in normal view...hence the toggle for show deleted or not.

Keep up the good work...it helps a great deal. Smile

PS. Fixed that keying problem...grid now recognizes no key strokes...will upload fix tomorrow.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 09:45    Post subject: Thank you
Subject description: Thank you
 

Thank you Sir:

Will keep playing this end Smile.

Any possibility of validity checking the fields.. at least for Alpha verses Numeric? Unless phone numbers have alpha still some locations in the world? Humm... forgot about that... as I think Canada has Alpha in zip?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 09:58    Post subject:  

Minnesota said
Quote:
Any possibility of validity checking the fields.. at least for Alpha verses Numeric? Unless phone numbers have alpha still some locations in the world? Humm... forgot about that... as I think Canada has Alpha in zip?


Yes the validity checking is somewhat problematic...UK also has alpha in zip and a number of country's numerical zips differ in length...The phone numbers are a real problem, the US format just doesn't match anywhere else but I am working on some validity checking...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 10:02    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:

Yes the validity checking is somewhat problematic.


One could call a rule for postal code and phone after the country is selected.

Of course the rule set could live in a seperate database.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [109 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0887s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]