vlc-0.8.6i (Lite - no gui)

Audio editors, music players, video players, burning software, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
mikeb
Posts: 11297
Joined: Thu 23 Nov 2006, 13:56

#16 Post by mikeb »

no mp4a support when viewing shoutcast tv stream.
anyone else experienced this?

mike

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#17 Post by abushcrafter »

Please can you recompile this with Theora video support and can I have the flags you used please?

Code: Select all

--enable-theora
Did you also use these ones btw?

Code: Select all

--enable-faad --enable-real --enable-realrtsp --enable-tremor  --enable-tarkin --enable-dirac

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#18 Post by technosaurus »

I'll have to check and see if the flags are still in the config.log

I basically disabled everything that was not included in default puppy so that it would compile without adding a bunch of extra libs. As for the codecs I don't recall 100%, but most likely they are automatically enabled if present, so if you have the libs and DEV files it should automatically be enabled (except for patented codecs) unless specifically disabled.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#19 Post by abushcrafter »

The reason I asked is all those codecs are disable by default.

Could I have a list of everything is not included in default puppy please?

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#20 Post by technosaurus »

I looked for my config.log and no luck, but the process was basically to enable everything (unless you know for sure that you don't want it), let the configure script do its checks and disable as necessary. If the configure script misses something and the build fails you may need to disable the offending feature then do make clean and make again.

since there are so many this snippet may help (should give you a file called enable flags that you can edit & cut/paste)

Code: Select all

./configure --help |grep enable |cut -s -d " " -f 1 |tr "\n" " " >enableflags
You can do the same thing for "with" and add it to the file

Code: Select all

./configure --help |grep with|cut -s -d " " -f 1 |tr "\n" " " >>enableflags
as far as the other optimization flags go - they are in pet packaging 101
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#21 Post by dejan555 »

Hey, thought I'd mention I made a no-gui package for dpup (vlc 1.0.5) and since dpup already had many libraries inside it's lightweight (pet is about 2.5 MB) but still supports many formats, see here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 312#403312
I had to add few devel deb packages for some libs to get recognized and then compiled with whatever I could enable. Since it has no gui I made a tiny gtk launcher.
Does anyone know if there are any lightweight GTK frontends for it? You can also create rox right clicks.

BTW, here's a pic of my lousy frontend:

Image
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#22 Post by technosaurus »

the only remaining (bad) gtk gui is --enable-pda otherwise you could make one using xdotool and gtkdialog (I still haven't had a chance to become proficient with xdotool)

xdotool is needed for sending keyevents although it may be possible using some advanced gtkdialog techniques

the gtkdialog tips thread has some other useful tips like finding the pid etc...
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#23 Post by abushcrafter »

dejan555 wrote:Hey, thought I'd mention I made a no-gui package for dpup (vlc 1.0.5) and since dpup already had many libraries inside it's lightweight (pet is about 2.5 MB) but still supports many formats, see here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 312#403312
I had to add few devel deb packages for some libs to get recognized and then compiled with whatever I could enable. Since it has no gui I made a tiny gtk launcher.
Does anyone know if there are any lightweight GTK frontends for it? You can also create rox right clicks.

BTW, here's a pic of my lousy frontend:

Image
I quite like it.

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#24 Post by abushcrafter »

technosaurus wrote:the only remaining (bad) gtk gui is --enable-pda
Wrong, it's very very bad :shock:.

User avatar
abushcrafter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 16:57
Location: England
Contact:

#25 Post by abushcrafter »

technosaurus wrote: since there are so many this snippet may help (should give you a file called enable flags that you can edit & cut/paste)

Code: Select all

./configure --help |grep enable |cut -s -d " " -f 1 |tr "\n" " " >enableflags
You can do the same thing for "with" and add it to the file

Code: Select all

./configure --help |grep with|cut -s -d " " -f 1 |tr "\n" " " >>enableflags
I don't get this? (Need to lean bash!) Thanks for the info though.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#26 Post by technosaurus »

OOps - I forgot about the 2 spaces at the beginning

./configure --help |grep enable |cut -s -d " " -f 3 |tr "\n" " " >enableflags

#configure with the help parameter and pipe the output to...
#grep each line and return only those containing "enable" to pipe into
#cut the line into pieces with the cuts at each " " and return the 3rd piece to pipe into
#tr occurences of new line characters with spaces (turns a column to a line)
#output to file "enableflags" overwriting any existing of the same name
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

VLC-GTK 1.0

#27 Post by sc0ttman »

VLC-GTK - a frontend for vlc_nogui is here
Last edited by sc0ttman on Fri 23 Apr 2010, 19:35, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#28 Post by dejan555 »

Wow man, that's cool! 8)

Thanks for this will test it, it's much more complex then mine, dunno how it's related :P I just put few action buttons you added whole lotta tabbed options for managing favorites and saving settings and bring up console interface :)

BTW, should ticking "Enable fullscreen" start video in fullscreen immidietly?
That's one thing I noticed so far that didn't work for me.
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#29 Post by sc0ttman »

dejan555 wrote:Wow man, that's cool! 8)
Thanks, glad you like it..
dejan555 wrote:BTW, should ticking "Enable fullscreen" start video in fullscreen immediately?
Yes, it works for me on 4.2, using technosaurus' vlc 0.8.6..
My GUI simply adds the '--fullscreen' option when vlc is executed..

Maybe open up /usr/bin/vlc-gtk and try changing the option on line 94 to '-f'...

Are you using the dpup version you posted (not 0.8.6.)?
Does your version play DVDs/Audio CDs? I couldn't get 0.8.6 to play them at all :(

Also, I can't get subtitles to work, either through my GUI or the terminal..

Also, my .rm and .rmvb files have no sound.. Does it need a re-compile for this?

I'm using 4.2 (TurboPup/Puppy Arcade) - and I wanna get RealMedia, DVDs and subtitles working!!

Help anyone?? I love this little player! :D
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#30 Post by dejan555 »

I'm using 1.0.5 on dpup 484 beta.

cd/dvd work and subtitles too

Subtitles: I use --sub-file /path/to/file
it complained about not loading ttf font in terminal first time for subtitles so I symlinked to existant one

For cd/dvd: is it recognized as /dev/dvd or /dev/cdrom I think it takes those as default, you can also try to pass --dvd-device /dev/sr0

(Actually here's what 1.0.5 version help says for devices:
--dvd <string> DVD device
--vcd <string> VCD device
--cd-audio <string> Audio CD device
--key-audiodevice-cycle <integer>
but i think 0.8.6 had same command --dvd-device as mplayer)

EDIT: It also plays .rm files here on dpup, compiled with support for it, I couldn't imagine it will play so much formats when I compiled it, I wanted it mainly for DVDs :lol:
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#31 Post by sc0ttman »

Thanks for the info... Check out my post above.. I updated to 0.7, this should fix your fullscreen problem..

I have to check out dpup - sounds GOOD!
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#32 Post by dejan555 »

Thanks sc0tman, fullscreen now works but fails to start with subtitles choosen:
change --subfile to --sub-file ;)
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#33 Post by sc0ttman »

dejan555 wrote:Thanks sc0tman, fullscreen now works but fails to start with subtitles choosen:
change --subfile to --sub-file ;)
Will do... But I think I made enough version for one day!! I'll post it tomorrow!

EDIT: vlc-gtk moved to its own thread...
Last edited by sc0ttman on Sat 24 Apr 2010, 08:25, edited 1 time in total.
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#34 Post by sc0ttman »

Following dejan555s advice, I got subtitles and DVD/VCD playback working great..

The only problems remaining (that I care about) with 0.8.6 are the following:

1. No Audio CD playback.. I get

Code: Select all

[00000249] main input error: no suitable access module for `cdda://'
I get this on all my CDs, even when I specify the drive..

2. No audio on realmedia files such as .rm and .rmvb

I'm using 4.2 (TurboPup)... Any help people? I'm all out of ideas!
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

flexxx
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed 24 Jun 2009, 17:46

outdated vlc version

#35 Post by flexxx »

hi,

any specific reason you get stuck to vlc 0.8, while version 1 and beyond
has been released a good while ago!?

thxs
alex

Post Reply