Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 10:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 54 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
24%
 24%  [ 8 ]
2.14x
12%
 12%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Other: 2.14x only
33%
 33%  [ 11 ]
Total_votes : 33

Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 10:31    Post_subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
ttuuxxx,
something happened when you worked on the xorg-scripts, in 214X6 xorgwizard is run at every boot, and also if X Server is restarted Confused . Had none of these problems in 214X4

OlddogNewtricks wrote:
MHHP, tried pupshots-v2p03, didn't work for me(save settings that is), also the save button doesn't look very solid.
If you change some setting, say, format png, then tick the "save settings" box, take the shot, is png or jpg default next time Pup-Shots is run? Question

cheers/
MHHP


Hi I don't think its a V6 problem more of maybe you corrupted something, because you just state even when you restart X server the wizard comes up, I've done it about 20 times already searching for errors in /tmp and not once did the wizard startup again,

Has anyone else restarted X-Server and had to deal with the Xorg setup wizard? or does it just go to your desktop like it should???
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 10:56    Post_subject: This version on HDD  

Hi,

Always been a fan of 214R so tried to put this version on HDD.

The universal installer could not find pup_214R.sfs on CD, said it couldn't find pup_214.sfs.

Copied CD files to HDD renamed pup_214R to pup_214.sfs.

Still no luck

Regards Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 11:06    Post_subject: Re: This version on HDD  

tony wrote:
Hi,

Always been a fan of 214R so tried to put this version on HDD.

The universal installer could not find pup_214R.sfs on CD, said it couldn't find pup_214.sfs.

Copied CD files to HDD renamed pup_214R to pup_214.sfs.

Still no luck

Regards Tony


Well I consider that good news Smile, the reason why people were having issues with it and I used the one from 215ce, hmmm I wonder why it wasn't asking for 215, anyways I'll try to fix it Smile and post a update.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 11:15    Post_subject: Re: This version on HDD  

tony wrote:
Hi,

Always been a fan of 214R so tried to put this version on HDD.

The universal installer could not find pup_214R.sfs on CD, said it couldn't find pup_214.sfs.

Copied CD files to HDD renamed pup_214R to pup_214.sfs.

Still no luck

Regards Tony


Hi tony go to /etc/puppyversion
and (right click, open as text) and change that to 214R and it should work. I just tried it and it worked Wink It didn't until I made the change.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 11:38    Post_subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
ttuuxxx,
something happened when you worked on the xorg-scripts, in 214X6 xorgwizard is run at every boot, and also if X Server is restarted Confused . Had none of these problems in 214X4

cheers/
MHHP


could you delete /etc/X11/xorg.conf
and restart xorg wizard and setup again, maybe your xorg.conf was damaged somehow.
once you get back to jwm then restart-X Server again and see if the wizard reappears or if all is fixed?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 853
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 13:48    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
... could you delete /etc/X11/xorg.conf
and restart xorg wizard and setup again, maybe your xorg.conf was damaged somehow.
once you get back to jwm then restart-X Server again and see if the wizard reappears or if all is fixed?
ttuuxxx
To make sure this error does not originate from my own wrong-doings, I burned a CD, disconnected my Puppy HDD, made a new pup_save-file on a HDD on which I've never had any Puppy-files, and the problem persists.

Back on my normal Puppy-HDD (frugal 214X6), I copied xorgwizard from 214X4 and ran it; everything works fine.
Seems like xorgwizard in 214X6 fails to write one important line to xorg.conf:
excerpt from xorg.conf written with xorgwizard in 214X6
Quote:
Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 320 240 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "IBM"
ModelName "IBM 0182 C72"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30-69
VertRefresh 50-85
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
EndSection

excerpt from xorg.conf written with xorgwizard from 214X4
Quote:
Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 320 240 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "IBM"
ModelName "IBM 0182 C72"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30.0-69.0
VertRefresh 50.0-85.0
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option "PreferredMode" "800x600"
EndSection

Having the line marked in red in xorg.conf solves the problem with screen-settings not being remembered with any restart of the X Server, even if changing back to xorgwizard from 214X6 (unless I change the resolution of course Wink ). At least it's a work-around for now Smile .

cheers/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 13:58    Post_subject:  

hmmmm That will have to get fixed, it gives me the preferred mode on 416 also. Thats what I have bootup right now. We can go back to the old one and have all those errors again. Below is the wizard from 416 its the latest one. want to test it and see if that one works?
ttuuxxx
416wizard.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  416wizard.tar.gz 
Filesize  16.7 KB 
Downloaded  270 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 853
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 14:16    Post_subject:    

ttuuxxx wrote:
hmmmm That will have to get fixed, it gives me the preferred mode on 416 also. Thats what I have bootup right now. We can go back to the old one and have all those errors again. Below is the wizard from 416 its the latest one. want to test it and see if that one works?
ttuuxxx
Thanks, that solves my issue Smile Very Happy.

P.S. I did delete all files in /etc/X11 before testing Cool.

cheers/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 14:19    Post_subject:  

Hi MHHP, you're right, pupshots won't save settings unless you take a shot. I was a bit quick of the mark there. Great stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 14:23    Post_subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
hmmmm That will have to get fixed, it gives me the preferred mode on 416 also. Thats what I have bootup right now. We can go back to the old one and have all those errors again. Below is the wizard from 416 its the latest one. want to test it and see if that one works?
ttuuxxx
Thanks, that solves my issue Smile Very Happy.

P.S. I did delete all files in /etc/X11 before testing Cool.

cheers/
MHHP


Noway !! Get out of town, it couldn't be that easy??? What's ever easy doing this stuff, I feel spoiled for once, lol
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2689
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 15:29    Post_subject:  

err, another thing, dunno if it's system issue, but speaker beep doesn't work? when i set gaim or chatzilla or weechat using speaker beep sounds for highlight noticing, no sound?
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 22:29    Post_subject:  

frugal install (copied files from expanded iso and edited menu.lst)
loads kernel
loads pup_214R.sfs
then message saying

init

init is the mother of all processes

md5 checksum matched for download.
burnt cd booted fine.

What am I missing here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
reckrhodes

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 22:55    Post_subject:  

Hi

Be sure that in the menu.lst you have this line root=/dev/ram0 in the kernel.
Example:

title Puppy-Linux 214x6 (by Ttuuxxx)
kernel (hd0,0)/puppy214x6/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0
initrd (hd0,0)/puppy214x6/initrd.gz
boot

Hope this will help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 23:50    Post_subject:  

Thanks. The root=/dev/ram0 worked in the frugal install.
No sound with my invidia chipset Compaq PC though.
Of course I realize that this version when it was first released did not have support for newer hardware.
video is fine though.
and eth0 is using forcedeth driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 00:22    Post_subject:  

I'll see what I can do about sound drivers in a couple of days, maybe try to compile alsa.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 54 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1232s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0371s) ][ GZIP on ]