Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Jun 2018, 03:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 55 of 346 [5187 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, ..., 344, 345, 346 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
28%
 28%  [ 11 ]
2.14x
10%
 10%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
28%
 28%  [ 11 ]
Other: 2.14x only
31%
 31%  [ 12 ]
Total Votes : 38

Author Message
esmourguit


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 1393
Location: Entre l'ile aux oiseaux.et l'ile de sainte Lucie

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 05:35    Post subject:  

Bonjour à tous,
@ ttuuxxx,
Pburn Gui, one change.
What about something like that? But not sure it works. Hav'nt tested.
Cordialement Wink

_________________
Toutou Linux - Pets francisés
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 06:12    Post subject:  

well its close just missing format disk and burn data:)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6725
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 06:16    Post subject:  

I was having a pretty good night, I installed 4.16 .....no problem.Downloaded Firefox 3.5 ....no problem.

Decided to replace 2.14rX5 with X6.....big problems.I went through all the stuff Tony did, a page or two back.The installer couldn't find the files on the cd, copied the files to the hard drive and changed the names, still no install.

Thought installing over X5 might be the problem, wiped the partition and still wouldn't install.Changed the text in Puppyversion that you mentioned in a post.The installer ran all the way through grub,rebooted and .......no boot.

Checked the partition, hda9 in fact, and it was empty. Nothing had been copied.Next try it installed, and booted but nothing worked right.Wouldn't even detect my network card.FF3.5 wouldn't launch, etc.

Wiped the partition again, fixed grub and think I'll wait for X7.

The live cd is great but something is messed up trying a full install. I'll still test X6, live saving to usb.

Sorry for the rant and I hope we figure out the problem.By the way, posting with FF3.5 from 4.16 and it's working great. Uses a lot more resources than 2.14r though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 06:44    Post subject:  

Had to go away again this weekend but just got back and see not one but two new versions!

1. Tried to download v6 from gposil site but three downloads were "completed" with 74MB, 31MB and 45MB downloads only. Trying now using wget instead. Never had any such problems before so very much doubt it's my system at fault.

2. Interesting post by MHHP about grub boot stanzas. I have always used 214X in a subdirectory containing vmlinuz, initrd.gz, zdrv_214R and pup_214R.sfs plus my pup_save file.

But as I have reported previously the PUI never let me set it up that way, instead putting vmlinuz and initrd in /hdb1/boot/pup214X, and zdrv, pup_214R and save file in /mnt/david ie top level, so I had to manually install that way.

I have been able to use the much simpler grub stanza:

Code:
title        puppy 214X4 frugal on hdb3
rootnoverify  (hd1,2)
kernel   /pup214X/vmlinuz  root=/dev/ram0  PMEDIA=idehd  psubdir=pup214X
initrd     /pup214X/initrd.gz


So my question is what is the purpose of all the extra comments in the stanza that MHHP uses and that vg1 proposed?

Is it so that other 2-series puppies can co-exist on the same partition/drive?

Aha, wget worked and I now have 108MB worth of 214x6 to play with.
Cheers
Dave

Last edited by davesurrey on Mon 13 Jul 2009, 06:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 06:52    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
I was having a pretty good night, I installed 4.16 .....no problem.Downloaded Firefox 3.5 ....no problem.

Decided to replace 2.14rX5 with X6.....big problems.I went through all the stuff Tony did, a page or two back.The installer couldn't find the files on the cd, copied the files to the hard drive and changed the names, still no install.

Thought installing over X5 might be the problem, wiped the partition and still wouldn't install.Changed the text in Puppyversion that you mentioned in a post.The installer ran all the way through grub,rebooted and .......no boot.

Checked the partition, hda9 in fact, and it was empty. Nothing had been copied.Next try it installed, and booted but nothing worked right.Wouldn't even detect my network card.FF3.5 wouldn't launch, etc.

Wiped the partition again, fixed grub and think I'll wait for X7.

The live cd is great but something is messed up trying a full install. I'll still test X6, live saving to usb.

Sorry for the rant and I hope we figure out the problem.By the way, posting with FF3.5 from 4.16 and it's working great. Uses a lot more resources than 2.14r though.


A easy way to install ff3.5 in 4.16 is copy /lib/firefox from 2.14xv5or6 to
/lib/firefox and dbus libs from usr/lib/ from 2.14X and the open lib/firefox folder in 416 and open another /lib/ in 416 folder and system link the .so files to the lib directory, then system the firefox exec to usr/bin or usr/sbin and make a firefox.desktop file, usually just copy the seamonkey one and edit it.
Why would you do this? well the way I have it setup will copy over, all the changes I did in firefox is located in the /lib/firefox folder, so once thats up and running, you'll have the wysiwyg,smpilemail,flashblock,forum links, and all the custom search engines already installed and ready to go. Just like in 2.14X Smile I used to do it in the .root/mozilla/firefox folder but, the newer way is great. If I want to clear 100% of the junk etc, I just delete the whole .mozilla/firefox folder and restart firefox and its all back to the original settings,bookmarks etc. before you would loose all the plugins, flash etc, not the new way Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Last edited by ttuuxxx on Mon 13 Jul 2009, 07:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 06:59    Post subject:  

Hi dave WB Smile Looks like I might take one step back, and go back and visit V5 again and this time change the locales, don't touch the installer, lol change the xorgwizard, add the latest pup-shots, update firefox and add the extras, Probably do that tomorrow. Oh ya guys some of the shells I replaced I kept the original ones, not all but just a couple located in /usr/share/zzz v6 Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 07:25    Post subject:  

ttuxxx wrote:
Quote:
Hi dave WB

WB? Sorry, confused, whatsit mean?

Well before I saw your post I deleted 214x4 off my PC and tried to do a frugal install of 214x6. The installer wouldn't recognise files on the CD even if I forced the mount, so copied files off the CD manually but now get kernel panic.

So yes may be a good idea to revert to v5.
Cheers
Dave

WB=welcome back ???

Last edited by davesurrey on Mon 13 Jul 2009, 11:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 09:19    Post subject:  

I've just installed X6 to a new ext3 partition(IDE(ATA) on the menu). The installer looks for pup_214.sfs while we're using pup_214R.sfs so using the CD is a no go. I created a new directory & copied all the files from the CD then renamed the pup_214R.sfs to pup_214.sfs(I think ttuuxxx mentioned this). When the installer asks for the necessary files I point it to the directory, be sure to select a file in the directory or it won't work. When it comes to installing grub I just cancelled everything, prefering to edit menu.lst myself. Boots up o.k but theres no sound, no network cards, etc. as though no drivers have been installed. Manual frugal install for me every time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 11:07    Post subject:  

Okay so I've managed to do a manual frugal install of 214X6.

As I said before the downloads from the gposil site seem to fail (for v5 and v6) part way through so I needed to use wget.

Agree with others that the PUI won't work as it doesn't pick up the CD files.

Agree with MHHP that xorgwiz is invoked after a boot or restart of xserver.

I know this is not a very objective statement but the whole X6 seems not as stable as previous versions. eg I had it freeze twice in MUT after 30 minutes use. Never had this happen with any previous version before.

As I expect you'll be working on this and issuing a new version soon I'll hold off any other comments.

Thanks as always
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3425
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 11:27    Post subject:  

214V6
I have got it to boot frugal, but so far, no sound support for me.
Also, although setting up a printer looks easy with it, my USB parallel adapter connected printer retains it's settings in the setup
but AbiWord only shows myprinter (wrong port and does not retain changes)
My printer (xerox) is never listed as a printer to print to.
I have tried a port setting of /dev/usb/lp0 and the printing system keeps insisting it wants to print to LPR which seems to default to 'my printer' and try to print to /dev/lp0.
I am about to give up on that printer interface package and just to back to CUPS!
And yes, I did tell the setup to set the printer as Default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 614
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 11:44    Post subject:  

Hi, Sorry for not recent comments but I´m very busy this month...

I´ll add a very small contribution: the Updated Changelog file for Pup214X6, some changes between X5 y X6 were not added because they were bugs introduced between releases, and other small fixes are just in test phase. I also find X5 very unstable and shall wait for a more stable release to test, maybe X7.

There are no reports about Search Monkey crashes, Shocked I don´t know if just me but it crashes anytime I make a file search. I´ll prefer Pfind.
release-2.14rX6.html.zip
Description  Updated Changelo file for X6
zip

 Download 
Filename  release-2.14rX6.html.zip 
Filesize  1.18 KB 
Downloaded  310 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 12:10    Post subject:  

clarf wrote:
Quote:
There are no reports about Search Monkey crashes,

FWIW,
I have v6 frugal and for me searchmonkey works as usual.
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 13:00    Post subject:  

dave WB=welcome back Smile
yes guys v6 is stable on my system, but those new errors with the installers just don't cut it with me, I'm just working on some icons for 4.16 and then I'll be back on 2.14X series, maybe in about another 12hrs or so I'll switch back.

8-Bit Questions about printing abiword, have you tried the new package yet 8-bit?http://www.ttuuxxx.gposil.com/2.14X/documents/abiword-2.7.6-214X.pet
I'm not going to install it by default until the package is well and truly tested, abiword is well known not to like puppy much. The abiword in 2,14X is probably from around 2006 so printing might not be as good as in the latest version. I have a feeling when we get close to final, we might spend a few releases on printing, lol man I wish they would come up with a ndiswrapper type app for printing and we could just toss Cups out the door. ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3425
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 15:55    Post subject:  

Ok, I gave it the benefit of trying the version of AbiWord and I got the same results as far as printer selection.
Print to LPR only.
Also, even when you select 'set as default printer' in setting up a printer, the Printer installation program stubbornly refuses to set it.
I manually went into the file to change the default printer to mine.
I also corrected the port settings.
But printing quality is very poor and I got better quality with CUPS as well as being able to select a specific printer in AbiWord.
When I run MicroXP in virtualbox, I get really good quality. So, is it the printer interface, or the driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4270
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jul 2009, 08:31    Post subject:  

Frugal a no go.
I tried different times last night.
Before I saw some of the posts above I actually copied
them into a different directory.
No cigar. Absolutely denied there were files.

Song player:
Stops and starts...ttuuxxx...Thank you.
Although this also needs the run action mp4 andavi??
I didn't try mpeg, wmv etc.

Burnt ISO to cdr/rw...just for a change.
Boots fine...would not eject.
Tried Xorg....yes it ejects....weird.

Overall ttuuxxx....pretty good effort.
Not criticism. I think I last tried v3??
I even like the Vdub.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 55 of 346 [5187 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, ..., 344, 345, 346 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0975s ][ Queries: 16 (0.0354s) ][ GZIP on ]