Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How to make my modem pulse dial?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Bill Adam

Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 11:06    Post_subject:  How to make my modem pulse dial?
Sub_title: Doesn't follow orders
 

I have installed Puppy 4 in a Pentium 2. It has recognized a USR internal modem.
Puppy insists on dialing tone. I manually edit the configuration file: /etc/wvdial.config
by entering: ATDP instead of the default ATDT. Even though I save the changes
the file DOES NOT REMEMBER WHAT I HAVE DONE !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sky king

Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 06:24    Post_subject:  

Do you mean the file does not actually save, or even though the file is saved, the modem doesn't dial out with pulse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bill Adam

Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 09:57    Post_subject:  

The changes I have made to the file are not remembered. It reverts back to ATDT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Aug 2009, 11:25    Post_subject:  

Bill Adam,
Thank you for reporting this. I have been working with PupDial to support various modems. I will add this to my to-do list.

In the meantime, here is a workaround fix:

1. Open /usr/sbin/pupdial as a text file.

2. Find the following section of code, which starts at line 474 in puppy 4.1.2:
Code:
DIALSTR="ATDT"
[ "$CHECKDT" = "true" -a "$CHECKBC" = "true" ] && DIALSTR="ATDT"
[ "$CHECKDT" = "false" -a "$CHECKBC" = "true" ] && DIALSTR="ATX3DT"
[ "$CHECKDT" = "false" -a "$CHECKBC" = "false" ] && DIALSTR="ATX1DT"
[ "$CHECKDT" = "true" -a "$CHECKBC" = "false" ] && DIALSTR="ATX2DT"

3. Following that, insert the line:
Code:
DIALSTR="`echo "$DIALSTR" | rev | cut -b 2- | rev`P"

Tha actual fix will be messier than that.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Aug 2009, 19:21    Post_subject:  

Bill Adam,
Instead of the above workaround, you can now install my "patch2" from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=329575#329575
Just edit the wvdial.conf file as you have been doing, and it should remain until you change it to anything other than "DP", which will result in its being set to "DT".

How common do you think the need for pulse dialing is? Are there parts of the world where that is all that is available? If so, I could add it as a PupDial check-box for each account.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0379s) ][ GZIP on ]