Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 04:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Webserverpuppy LAMP and XAMPP
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 21:46    Post_subject: Re: xampp  

ragou wrote:
Hi everybody.
First I want to apologize - I am not a Linux user or developer. I like puppy linux because it's very fast and reminds me the days when our machines were too slow, with little RAM and with video cards of 1 MB.
The question is - how can I install xampp and how can I run it?
For example - I have xampp in Windows and when I press "xampp_start.exe" I have a server and that's all. It is located on my hard disk at the (for example) E:\xampp\htdocs\ and it's URL is http://localhost/. In my Windows meaning, what have I to do to start the server in puppy environment?
If there are answers ( I hope so), please give them to me in a understandable language. Something like "login as root and su and so on" means nothing to me. Just a simple explanation step by step.
I have been noticed that Linux users are speaking in a language that they only can understand. It is something I can understand, but I use Windows for almost 20 years. Russians for example call drivers "wood", CPU "stone" etc. because they want to show that they are an elite and unique community. I am not. I just want to try Linux. Don't let me be misunderstood - my machine is fast enough to run any OS. I just want to try. But when I am in Puppy, a can't do anything except clicking on icons, but if I am able to setup my own server I will be able to do something. I am C++ an VB programmer (VB 6 is my love), but I wrote my last application 3 years ago, now I want to do something with Linux. It's not for money - I am retired (58 years old).
It became too long and too many words - "Finaldia" and "Heineken" is to blame.
Best regards
http://imaloednovreme.com


This thread is for web designers;
try this one: PupServer-435

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 01 Oct 2010, 19:29    Post_subject:  

@Ragou

If you ftp your way into ibiblio.org, you find the official puppy versions. Me I am stuck in 5.10, as its the only puppy that has wood for my weird modems. If you chose that or the 5.1.1. Install, but do not chose tosave pupfile. Boot from stone and then rebot again, this time choosing to save a Pupsave file to stone. When booted again you can then proceed to download and install this file:

http://www.logicworks.co.nz/puppy/LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet

It contains:
Hiawatha 7.3
MariaDB - (Formerly known as mysql) 5.1.47
PHP 5.3.3 - using the new Fast CGI manager
and PhpMyAdmin 3.3.5

If 5.10 is chosen due to it wood for modems, you must install one webbrowser from the Quickpet or so. There are also other Pup
py versions with Apache server etc, but they are in lack of these modem drivers I need. But they are built on older base system than the above mentioned, so I personally like the newer stuff.

Apart from that i would also recommend TurboPuppy, as showcase for how fast Puppy can get. Download here:
http://www.share2many.com/files/ZBXJGDYK/turbopup_xtreme_v1.iso

That is not a webserver, but if you look around the forum, it can soon become one. Also there is other superlight Linux versions.

Have a look here for 10mb distro:
http://www.tinycorelinux.com/

Then there is a nice 30mb distro with support for 486 here:
www://www.slitaz.org

Still, speaking for my self, i find the 5.10 Lucid (puppy linux) to be the best choice, due to the mobile modem support(3g, CDMA what what what)

My p
ersonal aim is to create a Puppy 5.10 Live CD with a webserver running a preinstalled Joomla 1.5.20 for a project i have in Africa, but i have still not succeeded:-(



But i am very close:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 23 Oct 2010, 17:25    Post_subject: Fix for mysql failed login  

I got this PM from Michael

Hi,

I just installed the latest LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3
and was unable to login...
Error

MySQL said: Documentation
#1045 - Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

After searching for an answer I found it here: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/resetting-permissions.html#resetting-permissions-unix

execute /etc/init.d/rc.mysqld stop
kill any latent processes
kill `cat /usr/local/bin/mysql.pid`

create mysql-init file, add the following three lines
grant all privileges on *.* to root@localhost;
UPDATE mysql.user SET Password=PASSWORD('woofwoof') WHERE User='root';
FLUSH PRIVILEGES;

execute the following command
mysqld_safe --init-file=/root/mysql-init &

remove the mysql-init file !!


Everything is working great now!


Michael
P.S. I don't have an account on the Puppy Linux Forum,
and thought someone else may be having the same login problem. After searching for hours I found the above website
and it had the instructions to fix the login problem. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
c7jaff

Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 17:00    Post_subject: Seeking info on LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet  

Has anyone else used the pet from here http://www.logicworks.co.nz/puppy/LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet that contains these apps?:

Hiawatha 7.3
MariaDB 5.1.47
PHP 5.3.3
PhpMyAdmin 3.3.5

I see it mentioned in the 2 pages below but I have not been able to find much info on how well it works and what type of config/troubleshooting I should be aware of. I have Puppy 5.1.1. I'm somewhat of a noobie and have successfully installed servers one at a time spread out over several months in the past but not all at once.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=43285&start=45
--and here--
http://www.weberp.org/PuppyLinux

Is this .pet referred in any other way besides "LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet"? Is the LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet what is referred to as webERP? I haven't quite acquired a good understanding of what: webERP, Joomlah, and LAMP and XAMPP are yet.

Based on what I've found out so far, LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet looks most appealing to me. That's direction I'd like to go when installing a DB. Any answers and comments on your experiences appreciated. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 23:56    Post_subject:  

I created it ... works well for me every day!

Happy to answer any queries or issues you may have with it.
It is called LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet

LHMP because:
- Linux
- Hiawatha - in most such bundles this component is Apache - hence LAMP
- Maria Mysql
- PHP

7.3 because uses Hiawatha 7.3
5.1.47 because uses Maria Mysql 5.1.47
5.3.3 because uses PHP 5.3.3

It does need a machine with a little more horsepower - than some puppy environments may have though - there is a report of timeout issues on one such humble puppy machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
c7jaff

Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue 08 Feb 2011, 03:44    Post_subject: Nice. Works.  

I broke the MySQL component when making it more secure but then fixed it after reading your Sat 23 Oct 2010, 17:25 post. At first I didn't think I could get this going in one night but I did and it works. I did notice 3 minor things in case you want to know about them:

I got this minor error message but it doesn't seem to matter:
# /etc/init.d/rc.httpd start
Error binding 0.0.0.0:80

I also thought I didn't have to start MySQL just after installing (I know I don't after a reboot) but maybe I missed something:
# /etc/init.d/rc.mysqld start
sh-3.00# 110207 17:22:25 mysqld_safe Logging to '/usr/local/var/puppypc.err'.
110207 17:22:25 mysqld_safe A mysqld process already exists

I had to reinstall "LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet" to take a screen pic of the installation splash screen because it didn't stay up long enough for me to take notes on it the first time.

Anyway, now I also understand LAMP vs LHMP and I'm glad this is running. Thanks for all and great work growler!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rolf

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 12:23    Post_subject:  

As I'm trying to set up a webserver on an Igel thin client, 300MHz Geode processor, 256M ram,

my first try is with the pup-431-small iso, guessing it might have advantages for the server's limited resources, not too sure it's the best choice, see below. This makes LHMP-7.3-5.1.47-5.3.3.pet not work, needed a library compiled with a newer gcc, afaict. Phil has sent me an older LAMP-6.16-5.1.35-5.29.pet that works but is giving me errors.

Referring to Growler's weberp page and throwing google hit suggestions at it, plus employing Michael's workaround from above, I've run mysql_install_db, successfully, but keep getting a socket connection error.
Quote:
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp' (111)


Since it is excruciating to troubleshoot this on 300MHz/256M, I've booted to this CF on my desktop, posting from that, and get some interesting new results, starting with an oldie but goodie:

Code:
# /usr/local/bin/mysql_secure_installation

NOTE: RUNNING ALL PARTS OF THIS SCRIPT IS RECOMMENDED FOR ALL MySQL
      SERVERS IN PRODUCTION USE!  PLEASE READ EACH STEP CAREFULLY!


In order to log into MySQL to secure it, we'll need the current
password for the root user.  If you've just installed MySQL, and
you haven't set the root password yet, the password will be blank,
so you should just press enter here.

Enter current password for root (enter for none):
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp' (111)
Enter current password for root (enter for none):
Aborting!

Cleaning up...
# # mysql -u root -p woofwoof
#
# # mysql -u root -p woofwoof
# ps aux|grep mys
root      8577  0.0  0.0   2228  1180 ?        S    07:56   0:00 /bin/sh /usr/local/bin/mysqld_safe --user=nobody --pid-file=/usr/local/var/mysql.pid
nobody    8848  0.0  0.3  90708 11532 ?        Sl   07:56   0:00 /usr/local/libexec/mysqld --basedir=/usr/local --datadir=/usr/local/var --user=nobody --log-error=/usr/local/var/puppypc.err --pid-file=/usr/local/var/mysql.pid --socket=/tmp/mysql.sock --port=3306
root     14630  0.0  0.0   1656   556 pts/0    R+   08:41   0:00 grep mys
#


Hmmm, I don't understand why the command from the weberp page just returns to prompt, so I try going to http://localhost/phpMyAdmin/index.php and can see the page, with a notice that I'd, also, like help with, please:



Quote:
The configuration file now needs a secret passphrase (blowfish_secret).


I don't know if Seamonkey has saved credentials for this page (I've been able to get here, before; it seems I can browse all the phpmyadmin pages) but I'm going to give it a rest, wait for the wisdom to point my way forward. Smile

Forward-looking statement, I've got GF's website running Joomla but I'm interested in making this simple page (as in Seamonkey Composer simple, e.g. http://home.mindspring.com/~rolfpedersen2/jobs/ Cool ) with my low-skilz unwebmaster abilities.

Thanks,
Rolf
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rolf

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 15:04    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Hmmm, I don't understand why the command from the weberp page just returns to prompt


That would be because I copy/pasted the # prompt Embarassed

Without that, I am prompted for the password and, when I give woofwoof, get an error:
Code:
# mysql -u root -p woofwoof
Enter password:
ERROR 1049 (42000): Unknown database 'woofwoof'
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 15:47    Post_subject: unknown db woofwoof  

Do"nt have a space between the "-p" and "woofwoof"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rolf

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 17:25    Post_subject:  

Ah, that's the ticket. New login works at the phpmyadmin page. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keiffee0521

Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 09:16    Post_subject: the old Webserver puppy
Sub_title: Grub not booting
 

i have used the old webserver puppy.iso and have done for the past 2/3 years, all has been working fine and i have got 2 grate websites that i have made for training kids.

i have installed this on the a HDD, and i think i did a none MBR install. the PC has been stored for about 8 months and not used all was working with it unit i plug it in today to make sure that all is still well now.

I had problems booting up it got so far then hung... couldn't mount the DVD drive... then rebooted and had problems with line 36 in GRUB rebooted then problems with line 37 in GRUB. now i get errors trying to boot GRUB.

Now the power of RTFS tells me that there might be a problem with GRUB. As im not a GRUB person..... (or a GRUBy if you see what i mean). I have taken this HDD and put it in my Ubuntu desktop to see if i can access it this will not mount .. so take it that its cos i have done a none MBR install. so i have done a "scandisk" using Disk Utility and that has shown that i have got 3 sectors errors. i bet this has got to be in the GRUB part of the disk. (just a guess).

How could i fix this if the HDD will not boot? its just that i would love to save the websites i have made on the HDD. (they are written in Pluck so no DB to worry about

_________________
Many thanks for you time.

Keith

Smile

Compaq Evo N410c, P3 1.2Ghz, 1Gb RAM, 80Gb, Wireless / Wired NIC. Puppy Linux 5.01
Ubuntu 10.04 LTSP (5 terminals)
Quote:
Anything can be done its just when do you need it by

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
grimoire


Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 10:37    Post_subject: Re: the old Webserver puppy
Sub_title: Grub not booting
 

Hi! Do you have any youtube tutorials,like how to make a server using
Webserverpuppy LAMP and XAMPP? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keiffee0521

Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 14:12    Post_subject: Webserverpuppy
Sub_title: Where is it now
 

Dose anyone still have this puppy ISO anywhere on there system

Download and information:
http://www.browserpuppy.com/server.html


As we all know that this link is not there anymore. the only good news is that brouserpup is still there and is being updated. good work with that i love it and put it on as meany systems as i can for use in the labs.

OR .....

Is there a puppy that has got a already done / setup and working with the following. ........

- Bluefish web development studio
- Medit text editor
- Apache webserver
- Mysql
- PHP
- phpMyAdmin
- PureFTP or ProFTPD FTP-server
- Seamonkey Web-browser and composer
- gFTP[url]

Its just that most of the hardware we run in the charity is high end P2 right upto low end P4. I know im after a pitbull a learn mean web-surfing PC i know it dont rime, but you get what i mean)

PLEASE HELP US ALL ....

p.s. i dont mind what version of pitbull / puppy i have as i know that it would work on all of the PC/servers we have, also that i would be nice if it looked like the old frontend too nice and easy to setup (click and button here and click and there all done)[/url]

_________________
Many thanks for you time.

Keith

Smile

Compaq Evo N410c, P3 1.2Ghz, 1Gb RAM, 80Gb, Wireless / Wired NIC. Puppy Linux 5.01
Ubuntu 10.04 LTSP (5 terminals)
Quote:
Anything can be done its just when do you need it by

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
rolf

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 20:26    Post_subject: Re: the old Webserver puppy
Sub_title: Grub not booting
 

keiffee0521 wrote:

I had problems booting up it got so far then hung... couldn't mount the DVD drive...


DVD's go stale and, if you were running a live CD/DVD, I'd be thinking of that. However, you say this is a hard disk install, so I don't see how the DVD drive enters into it. If you're not booting from it, you could try disconnecting it.

Quote:

How could i fix this if the HDD will not boot? its just that i would love to save the websites i have made on the HDD. (they are written in Pluck so no DB to worry about


With a working DVD/CD drive, I would suggest booting some livecd, e.g. Puppy, and trying to mount that drive, try to figure out what's wrong. Precise information wrt actual actions taken and the results, including exact messages from the screen, are what is needed for a remote diagnosis.

If nothing was done but shutting down the machine for a long period, then starting it up, it's hard to imagine what is the problem. If something was changed, that is, also, important information.

I would say, if the disk can't be mounted, there's something wrong with the partition table, whether disk failure or inadvertent formatting. (Aside: there has to be support for the filesystem in the kernel in order to mount a partition, e.g. I've got a reiserfs4 partition but have to boot a kernel with that enabled in order to mount and view it.)

I've had some success with photorec and testdisk for retrieving files from a fubar disk: http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Download

Going a little deeper toward mechanically failing and soon to be completely dead drive, there is Spinrite by Gibson: http://www.grc.com/sr/spinrite.htm which is a retail product.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rolf

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 23:16    Post_subject: Update  

To finish this chapter, I've got the Igel thin client serving www.lanlesalon.com and, after
Code:
[rolf@salon ~]$ uptime
 09:09:04 up 94 days, 42 min,  4 users,  load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
on the first server, our website is drawing less than 100W 24/7/365.25 Smile

Currently perched on top of the former, power-sucking mini tower:


Quote:
Marco
29 April 2010, 10:30
SOLVED:
missing line:
ExecuteCGI = yes

after
CGIextension = cgi


That bit of hiawatha.conf from the Hiawatha Forum was the last of many stabs in the dark by this noob to website admin, thanks to google and thanks to you, Phil, for your help. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1531s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0360s) ][ GZIP on ]